Chevron Left
Voltar para Databases and SQL for Data Science

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Databases and SQL for Data Science da instituição IBM

4.7
5,989 classificações
561 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Melhores avaliações

TP

Oct 25, 2018

Practice lab assignments were excellent in reinforcing my learning, they were just the right kind of challenging. This course has been the best one in the Data Science Professional series by far.

JM

Feb 28, 2019

Clear, thorough, well-designed. Labs give useful practice, assignments and quizzes test the actual instructional content. This course is by far the best in the IBM Data Science specialization.

Filtrar por:

426 — 450 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Databases and SQL for Data Science

por Thiago S d C

Feb 19, 2019

Teaches pretty well for people like me that had none previous knowledge in SQL.

I think that could tell a little bit more about SQL outside the IBM platform.

por Matheus L T A

Mar 07, 2019

Great course!, just a bit fast paced for beginners.

por Adnan I

Mar 15, 2019

this course is much more about basics so i highly recommend it to people who want to start

por Юра Б

Mar 07, 2019

Not bad, but for me, again, is to many online tools. From my point of view, some Docker Compose with the prepared container(for bd, for notebook) will be more suitable.

por Sandip C

Mar 19, 2019

Well organized for introduction.

por Claude D D

Dec 15, 2018

I am not quite cool with the guide to grade peers. The exact answers were not cited.

por Alberto R

Jan 14, 2019

The course provides an introduction to SQL but some arguments - such as basic syntax - are only presented and not explained in-depth.

On the other hand, the second part of this course features very interesting labs.

por Freddy A M S

Dec 29, 2018

Muy buen curso!. Muy recomendado.

por SELEMANI S J

Aug 09, 2018

Apart from errors in the open source tools for the hands on labs, this course is fantastic and well crafted to introduce Databases and SQL. the optional sections are useful for those without good grasp of knowledge about databases and their types. make sure to take them. The labs are good, but always there is connection problems. If they will fix this, it will be one of the best introduction courses out there.

por JR S

Aug 23, 2018

Week 4 was a bit intense and I think the topics could have been decompressed over one more week.

por David A

Sep 09, 2018

This course is good for anyone who is a complete beginner, new to, or looking to refresh their knowledge of Structured Query Languages (SQL). Ideally would have liked to have a lesson on optimizing SQL queries since many queries become inefficient for data tables with very large row counts, but I understand this didn't make sense since the free IBM DB2 database they have you set up has a size limit of 100 MB. No need for optimization with data this small, but it's still something they should have at least mentioned in the course as an optional lesson. Overall, nice course for learning or refreshing SQL and database concepts.

por Muhammad A R

Oct 12, 2018

Covers all basics of SQL and methods of accessing of SQL with Python.

por Asad A

Oct 11, 2018

A great course about SQL and Databases but the final assignment should have been about writing python code to access database and analyze data, as shown in one of the videos where a pandas dataframe was created. Instead, the assignment made us write SQL code inside Jupyter Notebook. That was not needed at least as far as I am concerned. If we had to write SQL, we could have just done it on IBM Db2 Cloud.

por Gerardo R

Oct 03, 2018

na

por asher b

Nov 02, 2018

Covers the basics, but might be a little difficult for a complete beginner. Manageable, but difficult. Needs more help using SQL within a Jupyter Notebook which should be in the earlier labs.

por Lauren J

May 02, 2019

As someone with zero experience with SQL, this was a solid introductory course. At the end of the course I understood many core SQL concepts and was even able to do some coding without any help. The only negative aspect I experienced was that the course used some functions that only exist in the IBM cloud that the course uses, but this shouldn't persuade someone to not take this course.

por Achintha J

May 02, 2019

gets hard really fast from week 3

por PARAMDEEP S

Apr 23, 2019

NICE

por vaibhav m

Apr 24, 2019

need to to updated. details regarding IBM cloud is messy and outdated. take to long to connect the cloud. videos slides are of bad resolution. instructor voice not clear

por Rohit S P

Apr 14, 2019

Can do better.

por Phenil B

Apr 10, 2019

Feels like lectures are being give by an AI instead of an actual teacher. Also some things get repeated in several videos.

por SACHIN V N

Mar 30, 2019

Good course for beginners and very good practice content.

por TATENDA Y G

Apr 11, 2019

Um, equips students with the top range basic knowledge

por Tessa H

May 13, 2019

The materials are good but it is difficult to get help if needed.

por Hector R R S R

May 26, 2019

He tenido problemas con la herramienta Labs