Chevron Left
Voltar para Esportes e Sociedade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Esportes e Sociedade da instituição Universidade Duke

4.8
estrelas
842 classificações
220 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

Melhores avaliações

MM

Nov 12, 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

LK

Jan 07, 2020

One of the best courses that mixed interesting facts with theories. I study sports management, it's really intriguing to see how sports social values entwined with each other in history!

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 217 Avaliações para o Esportes e Sociedade

por Tim H

Sep 13, 2019

Great course that brought to light something we watch and do everyday but without knowing the history of it. Look forward to further courses.

por ADITYA S

May 27, 2018

The course covers every aspect on which the modern sports foundation have been laid. Many thanks to Mr. Orin for sharing his knowledge to us.

por Pietro R

Jan 12, 2017

The teacher is quite engaging, the man has showmanship! Add that the content is really interesting and you get a 5 stars course. Recommended!

por Annigje F

Jan 21, 2016

Great course! Basic info on how sports were, and are, looked at from a society point of view. Broad information about many various subjects.

por Carlos A M P

Jul 04, 2017

This is a great journey with the great Orin Starn's guide through the history and different perspectives of sports in the human history.

por Abhishek G

Sep 01, 2017

This course has given me a whole new perspective of looking at Sports now. It's been enriching, informative & insightful. Thank You!

por Nabil S

Apr 25, 2020

I am a sports management professional and I have completed my MBA in Sports Management even then I learnt a lot from this course.

por Víctor H M A

Oct 10, 2016

Fantastic humanistic approach, very well designed and above all the passion of the professor Starn is fundamental! great job!

por Tashin I

Jan 11, 2019

Awesome lecturer, reveals topics comprehensively. Lectures are well-structured. The course makes me learn more about sports.

por Hernadi F

Sep 12, 2017

These lecture are amazing and very unique. I got new perspective about Sports particularly the rise of sport with age-by-age

por Uriel R

Nov 14, 2016

Great class, easy to follow, and very informative. One of my favorite, if not my favorite, course I have taken in Coursera.

por Maria A S

Jul 05, 2020

very interesting and informative course. The instructor did an exceptional job. Kept the entire narration so interesting.

por Timur A

May 22, 2020

The best sports related course I ever had at Coursera! Fresh approach and a lot of insights! Thanks a lot, Mr. Starn!

por David V D

Sep 18, 2016

Got to learn a lot about sports and how it can have a complete different perceptive than only watching or playing it.

por Davis J

Jan 27, 2016

This is by far the best course I have taken from Coursera. Orin is very knowledgeable and passionate in his lectures.

por Matthew D

Jul 01, 2020

Very interesting combination of history of sport, psychology of sport, and society in general. Highly recommended.

por Arun J

Jun 13, 2020

I really enjoyed this course which helps to know about the modernisation and history of sports Thank you team DUKE.

por Muhammad A J

Feb 09, 2019

Excellent topic and well presented for those looking for an understanding between sports and society as a whole.

por Parker W

Apr 19, 2020

Enjoyable overview of sports and society. It raised a number of angles and thoughts I had never thought of.

por Chew W Y

Jun 03, 2016

Great course, passionate instructor, lively examples. I highly recommend this course for all sports fans!

por Martin S

Aug 08, 2016

Great course that look at sports from an anthropological view and exposes many ideas that even the hard

por José E R A

Mar 25, 2020

Excelente, curso recomendado para cualquier persona que quiera dedicarse a las ciencias del deporte.

por Santiago M Q

Jul 16, 2020

Great course that provides comparison between the sports world and the events of the real world.

por Jesus J V C

Jul 17, 2020

EXCELENTE EXPERIENCIA, GRAN CONOCIMIENTO DEL DOCTOR, MUCHO QUE APRENDER Y REFLEXIONAR.

GRACIAS.

por Rodrigo V G

Jan 10, 2018

Excelente! Logras recordar o aprender momentos históricos que marcan pautas para los deportes.