Chevron Left
Voltar para Esportes e Sociedade

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Esportes e Sociedade da instituição Universidade Duke

4.8
estrelas
815 classificações
213 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

Melhores avaliações

MM

Nov 12, 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

LK

Jan 07, 2020

One of the best courses that mixed interesting facts with theories. I study sports management, it's really intriguing to see how sports social values entwined with each other in history!

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 211 Avaliações para o Esportes e Sociedade

por Meghann J

Feb 20, 2020

I loved this course. The content was well-designed around key themes, the readings and lectures were entertaining, and the course felt rigorous even though it only took a couple of hours to complete each week (including all of the reading). I will definitely think about how I participate in and watch sports quite differently from now on. There have been many recent developments related to gender and sport, and I'd love to hear what Professor Starn has to say on this - is he any more hopeful about gender equality in sport in 2020 than he was when he developed the course? I'd also be interested in a deeper discussion around cheating in sport. Thanks so much for offering this course!

por Priyesh S

May 31, 2019

This was a really interesting course, gives lot of insight into the various types of sports in the world, explains the science and detailed theory behind some of the worlds most popular sports, not to mention a lot of trivia and history behind the sports and how it relates to society and the various cultural relations it has all across the world.

A wonderful course and a very fun ;earning experience.

Special thanks to Professor Orin Starn and everyone at Duke University for bringing this course and making it possible. Cheers

por Allison K S

Oct 30, 2016

This is without a doubt my favorite class that I have ever taken (especially online)! The videos were well done with the right balance of lecture, visuals, and videos. The quizzes were challenging, yet not impossible. My sincerest gratitude to Professor Starn and his team. I'm hoping Professor Starn creates more courses like this one! Thank you for stimulating my mind and keeping me intrigued!

por Rohan C

Jul 24, 2017

Orin Starn has a unique and interesting way of communicating his ideas and knowledge. The course has helped me to deepen my knowledge about the relation of sports and society.

por Xiaolan T

May 04, 2020

Really interesting course, definitely one of those I would recommend to everyone, especially sports enthusiasts around me. The course is not very deep or difficult in any sense, it's more about providing you with a comprehensive structure of questions that modern sports are associated with, and then offering a wide variety of materials that you can explore on your own, that includes both popular movies and academic publications. So for people planning to enroll, please don't forget to check out those amazing resources listed in the discussion section. I am very much looking forward to a more advanced version of this class. Thank Professor Orin Starn and the team from Duke University for the amazing work, it's been a great journey for me!

por Чаава И Р

Apr 23, 2020

I would like to extend lots of thanks to the author of the course, professor Orin Starn and the whole team who helped in creating this course. I enjoyed and learned a lot about sports world and the society who is keen on sports. I would like to say that it was a great idea to provide us with the list of words beforehand( though I would have provided them not in one list but in separate sections right before watching videos) And I also enjoyed reading articles and extracts from books. Special thanks for the list of movies about sports that I unfortunately haven't seen earlier and thanks to the quarantine I will have time to do.

All in all, I would like to say that it is one of the best courses that I've takn om foursera.

por Elizabeth D

Oct 08, 2017

An academically challenging, and remarkably insightful course, suited both to those who seek greater understanding and/or enjoyment of observing, documenting or participating in sports. Professor Starn puts his whole self -- literally, socially and intellectually -- into his teaching, making this one of the best courses I have ever taken up-close-and-personal or online. Thank you and bravo, Dr. Starn! You just may find me on campus at Duke in the not-too-distant future . . .

por Aldo T

Feb 12, 2020

I learned a lot about the sport and the game, what makes them different from one another, I also learned when we wanted to play, what was inside the game (EROS and THANATOS). I also learned capitalism in sport, racial difference.

This lecture gave me a lot of knowledge about the sport and my friend. Thanks to Professor Orin Starn also Coursera.

por Crys L

Jul 06, 2018

This was a great course! I went in not knowing much at all about sports, and I think I learned a lot. Everything was easy to understand, and the lectures were easy to follow. Some of the readings were challenging, but in a "hey, I learned a lot and this made me think" way rather than a "this is too hard, I give up" way.

por Joshua B

Aug 27, 2019

Sports and Society is tied for my favorite course that I have taken on Coursera.org. I majored in Sport Management, so I was familiar with a good portion of the materials. However, I learned new and interesting facts in the lectures and readings. Orin Starn made the lectures informative and the class very enjoyable.

por James Y

Mar 25, 2020

A terrific professor with various-angled knowledge of sports. This course offers me a chance to know more about sports theoretically and comprehensively. I very appreciate all the hard work of Professor Starn. Wish I could meet you in person one day! Thank you!

por Joachim T L

Apr 11, 2016

Professor was awesome. Very knowledgeable about various sports and how sports fits into the bigger picture of life. I really enjoyed the lectures and felt the reading was perfectly matched to the videos.

por Ravi K

Jan 14, 2017

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

por Ashwien H

Dec 30, 2019

I got insight in a whole new part of sports. I am a sports journalist, but did not know in depth about extreme sports and USA based sports, such as American Football and Baseball

por Akash k

Jul 24, 2020

I Enjoyed the course the most.

Best part of the course is the it involved the professors to enhance our knowledge and understanding about sports and its relevance in the society.

por Marie B

Apr 07, 2020

This course provided so much information and Professor Starn, with an anthropologist's perspective, including so much interesting information. This is not just a course for athletes, but for all learners who enjoy learning about the intersection of many different aspects of life - from sociology to pop culture, fine arts, biology, anthropology and history. Professor Starn has a wide breadth of knowledge and an approachable lecturing style - and a good sense of humor.

por Santiago C G

Jul 11, 2020

excelente , si eres amante de los deportes , disfrutaras cada modulo , cada lectura . Considero que después de realizado el curso no solo tienes este gran conocimiento acerca de el deporte su historia y relación con la sociedad y el hombre específicamente , también tendrás esa visión critica acerca de los temas tratados , acerca del deporte.

Literalmente no seguiré pensando de la misma manera acerca de los deportes ahora que finalice el curso .

por Ane J

Aug 20, 2020

It has been great to dive into topics that is not at all work related, for the sheer pleasure of learning something new. I enjoyed both the lectures and the readings for the course. I believe there are few bug en two of the quizzes (one being the week 7) but other than that I only have one comment: include womes as more than the minority, and maybe even some more reading material by women on women in sports

por Claudio d S N

Jun 14, 2020

This was one of the best online courses I have taken ever. It was much much better than I could have expected. Orin Starn has managed to mix up knowledge, information, good reading suggestions and a touch of humor all together. The professor helped us to see all of the many and different aspects of sports. I would like to attend to a lecture from him in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Congratulations!

por Randall W A

Jun 14, 2020

I REALLY liked this online classes. I was never really ready for online but with this vires and all. I thought I will check it out. I,m happy I did. Now I don't feel holpless as I "STAY @ HOME" Order. This helped me fill that void and will help me out in the future as I,m looking to go full time in my baseball/Sports. I,m looking to becoming an International Scout when I retire in a few years.

por Estefanía B Á

Sep 11, 2020

I absolutley love how Orin Starn developed this course. It's great and it really makes you think about how sports are affected by society and viceversa. I would like him to update the course and talk more about modern problems like the movement #BlackLivesMatter and the involvement of NBA players in it. Or how great gymnasts like Simone Biles have empowered women today.

por Hugo S

Sep 18, 2020

Curso MUITO bom, super interessante e com aulas simples e didáticas. A relação entre esporte e sociedade sempre foi gigante, mas com esse curso eu cheguei a conclusão que é impossível separar um do outro. Queria também parabenizar o professor pelo conteúdo excelente e vasto repertório utilizado, conteúdo muito bem selecionado e explicado. Simplesmente sensacional.

por Samantha D

Jun 14, 2020

It exceded my expectations. Was an awesome course, didn't want it to end. I learned so much about sports from such a great teacher. It opened my mind to all the background they have, the very important role it plays in the society. Even how the evolution of society can be reflected into sports. Thanks for bringing your knowledge and enthusiasm for me to learn.

por Samir B

May 07, 2020

Professor Orin Starn is so engaging and you can tell he's extremely passionate about the course content. I flew through this course in about 3 days because of how interesting each lecture was, and just wanted to continue to learn more and more each time. As a sports fan with a Kinesiology background, I really enjoyed this course and I'm sure you will too!

por Israel G

Sep 17, 2020

Soy periodista deportivo por dos décadas, pero admito que nunca había visto el deporte de la manera en la que el profesor Orin nos hizo ver el mundo deportivo. Es un curso fantástico, lo disfruté mucho y recomiendo a otros interesados en ampliar su horizonte en relación a los deportes que lo tomen, porque no se van a arrepentir y aprenderán muchísimo.