Chevron Left
Voltar para Psicologia Social

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Psicologia Social da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
3,995 classificações
1,687 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Melhores avaliações

IV
12 de Jun de 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

EW
20 de Mai de 2021

The course is great. There are plenty of study materials provided and the lecturer is very good. Items studied in this course are immensely helpful in understanding group thinking and group behavior.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 1,692 Avaliações para o Psicologia Social

por Lisa K

28 de Dez de 2020

A really enjoyable course with engaging, conversational lecture videos on interesting topics and plenty of bonus material for students to explore further, although the base material for the course will keep you busy enough. There is a lot of reading required for this course which left me playing catch-up at times, although I found all of it to be interesting. I felt that I got a good understanding of some basic Social Psychology principles, and in later weeks the course also focused on how social psychology can applied to address social justice issues and inequality, which I found relevant and stimulating.

por Juan D L A

9 de Set de 2020

This course must be for everyone, it's not deep and still teaches a lot, I'm not any close to psychology and it was a great introduction of what this subjet means (refering particulary to social psychology) and how useful it is.

It goes from giving empirical (experimental) facts about how the mind does social reasoning and it discusses multiple subjets (individuals, groups, agression, how helpful we really are, etc.).

There are some activities and readings that go beyond what's expected from an online course.

After taking it, I think now that this subjet must be taught to everyone, for example, in highschool.

por Roula H

27 de Jul de 2021

Social psychology taught me the correct way to improve and spread the knowledge and awareness which I have been doing since 2010 by myself only , using social media. Beside, it spotted lights on my negative aspects on my personality which I have to work on it .

The way of teaching was professionally and creativity, and the teachers staff was wonderful and patient with us , to some extent, I did not hope to end this amazing course.

Thank you for giving me this opportunity which I dreamed about it since I was 20 years old , now I am 36 years old and by coursera, I achieved my first step from my dream.

por Loukianos E P

16 de Jan de 2021

Rarely does one stumble upon such a well - structured, captivating and easily accessible course. Dr. Plous and all his helpful staff members have put a great amount of work into making social psychology clear, fun and mentally stimulating. Videos, assigned readings, assignments and extra material create a varying learning environment where complex notions become understood through a combination of theory and practice. Lastly, the peer reviews, the discussion fora and the (optional) online meeting with learners from all over the world are valuable tools which bring you closer to your classmates!

por Sandra O

21 de Jul de 2020

I found this course to be both challenging and enlightening. For a person who has not entered college-style learning or completing that style of assignments, I found this course to be the full gamete of expectations and so much more! I have learned about myself, people, and people's actions. What I have learned will assist me in my employment. Professor Scott Plous was an excellent instructor whom I felt I could follow with ease, although I was challenged with my mind, and being I was able to accomplish my goal of completing the course. Thank you to all contributors and Professor Plous.

por Soon G

26 de Mai de 2020

Exceptional course into the world of social psychology. This course has profoundly change how I view society, people and relationships.

The course itself is both well designed and well equipped with the resources you need to learn and explore about social psychology. Spending time to reflect and assimilate the concepts will help you gain a greater appreciation to the course.

Professor Plous is an amazing tutor and also a great story teller. He manages to seamless weave social psychology concepts and teachings into the lecturers. Overall this was a really enjoyable and enriching course.

por Nicholas J P

25 de Jun de 2020

Special thanks to Professor Scott Plous and Wesleyan University for the amazing opportunity to learn Social Psychology. Overall, the course was a great learning tool that exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend taking this for anyone who wants to learn why we act the way that we do.

The course proved very insightful and provided controversial subjects that not only tested my thinking but helped me understand why I thought the things I did. For the low cost of the course, the value you receive is exceptional and again, I highly recommend it.

I only wish the course had a part two!

por NASREEN F

28 de Nov de 2020

(genuine review) enjoyed it to the fullest . the course gives you very valuable information and it is very fun even if you like psychology or not . the videos and the readings are very informative and fun. the assignments are easy too, if you dont want to choose creating a social psychology network page they give you other alternatives too , so no worries and full protection of privacy. I am glad that i choose this course and completed it in time. thanks to the full team for making such a good course. STUDYING AND KNOWING SOCIAL PSYCHOLOGY IS A MUST FOR EVERYONE according to me.

por Lohana S

14 de Jun de 2020

I would like to thank you especially, Professor Plous, for teaching us the way you did it.

It was highly interesting, interactive, fun, and I enjoyed it very much. You made me want to learn more. I have never been to university because I started working when I was 17. And it made me feel encouraged even from home. It helped me keep a daily routine through the COVID19 when I couldn't work anymore.

Thank you, for everything. I highly recommend this course for anyone who is at least a little bit curious about life, about others and themselves and wish to learn things in a fun way.

por Tracy M

28 de Set de 2021

This course was a lot of work, but you get out of it what you put into it. I was at times frustrated by the lack of effort my peers put in but I never found the material or the assignments lacking. You are not at all pressured to join the SPN network; you have the choice to do an alternate assignment in the single case where an SPN membership is an option - it is never a requirement. If you want to learn about yourself and see to a greater depth the patterns of behavior we live every day in society, and you are prepared to put in some work, this is the right course for you.

por Muhammad A

13 de Jun de 2020

This course was an amazing experience and I got to learn so much! Professor Scott Plous is truly an amazing instructor and it's a shame that I didn't have the opportunity to be his direct student. Extremely thankful to entire Coursera team to offer such a superb course and I also appreciate this platform in general. Again, truly thankful to Prof. Scott, all the people behind this amazing course and of course, my course mates. Wishing the very best of luck to Coursera. Please continue to flourish and I'm looking forward to that soccer match between Coursera and Germany ;)

por Zsofia B

21 de Jun de 2020

I've learnt so much from this eye-opening and thought-inducing course, I'm beyond grateful and recommend it to anyone no matter your background. It is very well designed, full of interesting and relevant experiments around the main concepts, all grouped into digestible weekly material. I only wish this course could be included in the curriculum for everyone all over the world, as I strongly believe it would improve society, by becoming aware of our biases and helping to improve ourselves to be better and more compassionate people. Sincere thanks to Professor Plous!

por Monica M A

31 de Mai de 2020

It's been an amazing journey! It was my first course in Coursera and I cannot be more satisfied with the experience. The way it was organized, the topics, the materials and the presentation gave me what I appreciate the most in a class: enough to pursuit for more. It's been almost 4 years since I took a class of any kind so was not sure if I was "in shape" for an area with so much to learn and analyse, however the course kept me hours reading, consulting and discussing.

Thanks very much to professor Plous and the team who made this course possible for us!

por YASH C

11 de Jun de 2020

This was a wonderful experience I have ever felt in my lifetime since the teaching by Prof. Scott Plous is amazing. The graphical effects he used while teaching is undoubtedly wonderful idea. I think I have paid more attention in this course than my university subjects!!. And all the collections of the great psychologist's research and videos is truly a treasure. I am very thankful to Prof. Scott Plous for providing such a intellectual concepts in such a beautiful manner. Thank you!! Thank you!! Thank you!!.

Thank you from bottom of my HEART !:-)

por Sue R

5 de Jun de 2020

Social Psychology, with Professor Scott Plous, was a stimulating and engaging course. The video lectures and readings were excellent and I learned a great deal of fascinating and useful information from them. The assignments were challenging and creative and I enjoyed completing them. I also loved engaging with students from so many countries and cultures in the discussion forums. If you have any interest at all in this topic, I highly recommend this course. I'm extremely happy that I decided to take it and can't recommend it highly enough!

por Kubra

26 de Mar de 2019

I am glad that i took the course.It made me decide and realize what i really wanted to study/do and make my future plans.Very useful stuff to use in daily life/at work etc. I am aware of more things now and the more i know the more i get comfortable with people/society/kids etc. and how to deal with them.And i really know now what i really wanna do in the future ☺ Hope they will prepare other levels of the course too for those who like to continue learning about social psychology but cant study it.would be amazing.thank you for the course ✌

por Rhonda D

18 de Jun de 2020

I found this course pretty interesting, and learnt a lot in these past few weeks, about myself and my relationships with others, that I have kept applying DAILY. Even the final exam method you have used made me THINK and THINK sooooo much to ensure I understood the question correctly in order to answer effectively. The applied questions were a good test of our true understanding.

Thank you Professor Plous, the Mentors who respond to us in the discussion forums and ALL the persons involved in the creation and conducting of this course.

por Anuranjani N

25 de Mai de 2020

I had studied until masters and had a lot of preconceived notions that I could never verify or understand. This course certainly showed me why I think in a specific way and analyse it in a specific way. The most enjoyable part of the assignment was the compassion project and the honors assignment for me. Mapping the concepts one on one with day to day life situations brought in a lot of self realisation. Thank you for the wonderful course Professor Plous. I cannot stop raving about this course with my daughter, family and friends :-)

por Sai S

11 de Jul de 2020

The entire course was an amazing journey. Even though I don't have any background in Psychology or the social sciences, I was able to easily grasp the concepts thanks to the boiled down & simple explanation from Professor Scott Plous. The assignments were very exciting, especially for the Honors, where you can participate in a forum with your peers from different parts of the world. Incredible experience overall and some of the videos, especially the ones with the intriguing psychological experiments are definitely worth a rewatch.

por Gabriel

19 de Mai de 2020

First of all, I would like to say that Professor Plous is an incredible teacher/mentor. he takes his time with every subject and makes sure you understand the topic by providing TONS of information about such while also giving video lectures as well. he has an amazing personality and honest to god I wish I could have met him in real life to show my gratitude towards him. if you are thinking about taking this course I would HIGHLY recommend you do! If you 100% will not be disappointed. Thank you again Professor Plous for doing this.

por Non

25 de Fev de 2019

This is by far the best class I have taken on Courses. The professor is amazing. He's highly thoughtful, witty and full of great sense of humor. I particular like the fact that there're so many original videos and articles that I could access for free upon taking this course. The Milgram Experiment video, for instance, is a classic and I did not realize how severe and sterile the space looked until today (having read about it many years ago). I want to thank Wesleyan and the instructor so much for offering this great great course.

por Hedi M A

22 de Abr de 2020

This course is phenomenal. I always looked forward to studying assigned and optional material because it was just that fun. I wanted to learn everything the course had to offer, and I think that made a huge difference in my retention. Professor Plous's method of instruction is very easy to follow and engaging at the same time, so I deeply thank him and everyone who helped make the course. Someday, the world will become a more compassionate place; social psychology is a huge leap in that direction. Much love and thanks from Egypt!

por Danielle V

9 de Set de 2020

This was my first ever Coursera class, which I chose because it was such a departure from my profession. Or so I thought. Professor Scott Plous has crafted a curriculum which I found engaging, and gave me tools to apply what I learned in class to the working world. I wished I would have taken this course sooner, I learned so much about myself and how to better understand and interact with people on the job. This course also provided an opportunity to engage in meaningful cultural discussions with students all over the world.

por Jo-Ann J

16 de Ago de 2021

G​reat course with dynamite instructor. Dr. Plous was friendly, knowledgeable and chose interesting readings and interview videos with world class psychologists for in depth explanation of the social psychology literature and experimental studies. There was also quite a bit of student participation in the discussion groups. The software worked quite well, even though there were some problems in the submission page for the assignements.

Would love to see more MOOC offerings of this caliber. Thanks for offering this course.

por Wendy P

11 de Set de 2020

This is by far the best course that I have ever done. This course is so comprehensive and professional, it is far better than any other university course that I have studied. The amount of evidence based research and information in phenomenal. The peer reviewed assignments keep you engaged, as do the many videos. Professor Plous is the most engaging lecturer that I have come across. Such a professional, friendly and knowledgeable tutor. His enthusiasm is contagious. I will miss him, now that I have completed the course.