Chevron Left
Voltar para O Big Bang da música: o gênesis do Rock n' Roll

Comentários e feedback de alunos de O Big Bang da música: o gênesis do Rock n' Roll da instituição Universidade da Flórida

4.7
estrelas
83 classificações
30 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Explores the factors — musical and cultural — that led to the birth of American rock 'n' roll music in the early 1950s. Covers in detail the genres, styles and people that converged to create this new music....

Melhores avaliações

LW

May 26, 2016

What an awesome course! I am truly learning about the foundation of what we call Rock n Roll music. The professor does such a wonderful job of instructing this class. Thank you

PM

Jun 16, 2020

Ability to integrate even small soundbites of audio enhances the lecture material.\n\nProf. "Rock" visiting notable landmarks adds a positive dimension to the lectures.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 30 Avaliações para o O Big Bang da música: o gênesis do Rock n' Roll

por Paula L S

Jul 13, 2020

Excellent course! Very interesting to learn the background of rock and roll. I would like to learn more. I was born the same year as the instructor, 1952. Thank you very much for allowing me to get my certificate via scholarship! Money is a little tight right now. I hope to continue this study in the future as it is fascinating!

The only thing I would change is the answers to the questions that come up during the pause in the video. A couple of them are incorrect. Also one of the answers in the first or second quiz is wrong also. Several other class members noted this and commented on it.

Thanks again for a great class!

Paula L. Stansell

por Phillip P

May 06, 2020

Great course thank you. I was born the year before Rock n Roll was born as well as Prof Dave.

At home (Sydney Australia), growing up my oldest brother played Frank Sinatra records my next eldest played Elvis Presley records. I came later in the Beatles , Stones, Led Zeppelin era. So this course put lots of pieces to my musical jigsaw of tastes in place. The British obsessions with blues fascinating, (a little disappointed in the Zep not acknowledging the influences). Thank you again, my time in the COVID-19 Pandemic was put to wonderful use, thank you again to Uni of Florida and The Genesis of Rock n Roll

por Angela C

Jun 16, 2017

This course was very informative. I was enlightened to learn how music migrated from New Orleans to Chicago due to the economy. I was surprised to learn that rock was not initially accepted by mainstream America - that it was considered "lowbrow". I learned how rock artists of the 70's did many covers of blues genre artists. I was surprised to learn how the Rolling Stones came up with their band name. Overall, I was impressed how music crossed race lines in a country that was/is extremely segregated. It makes you wonder where music will be in another fifty years.

por Gary B

Feb 15, 2019

This is one of the few courses I have taken that I was sorry to see end.

I have been a long time blues fan from Howlin Wolf to the current blue great such as the Allman brothers, Blues Brothers, Kenny Wayne Shepard and so on.

The coverage of the early blues and its migration north is well done and now have an understanding of how the blues evolved and hoe this lead to Rock and Roll.

i am going to try and find the additional R'n'R courses mention in the last video.

I would highly recommend this course even if just for self interest.

por Michael W

Jun 06, 2016

I really enjoyed this class! The professor demonstrated an exhaustive knowledge and as well as a deep love for the subject. Unlike similar online music history classes, he played snippets of the songs as he discussed them, which really made the difference. Highly recommended!

por Mikhail M

May 29, 2020

Fantastic! In-depth analysis of the origins of rock & roll, brewing atmosphere around it and all thing Americana. Stellar production, very entertaining and fun overall, a great way to learn and really fine ride through the XX century's culture.

por Mitchell F

May 18, 2018

This course goes back as far as it can to tell the story of how rock and roll began. It is interesting to know the real pioneers of music. They appeared to pave the way for todays artist. I gained a lot of knowledge taking this course.

por Aldo M A L

Sep 04, 2016

Very interesting. The teacher is a great motivator and the bravery for using the songs arguing that it is for educational purposes was very important. Other courses where music is not reproduced are kind of boring.

por Lina M

Jun 20, 2020

This was a really interesting course. I saw all the lessons in less than two weeks and learned a lot. The lectures are quite enjoyable. I will definitely go on a trip along Highway 61. Thank you professor David.

por Giulia M

Apr 30, 2020

This is the best course I have ever taken and Professor is fantastic. I feel satisfied and rich in ideas and I think that it's the most important think...feeling intellectually stimulated.

por Lynn W

May 26, 2016

What an awesome course! I am truly learning about the foundation of what we call Rock n Roll music. The professor does such a wonderful job of instructing this class. Thank you

por Peter M

Jun 16, 2020

Ability to integrate even small soundbites of audio enhances the lecture material.

Prof. "Rock" visiting notable landmarks adds a positive dimension to the lectures.

por Melisa Z

Jun 02, 2019

This course was really instructive. I watched every video with passion, never get bored. Thanks to Prof. David Carlson for sharing his knowledge with us.

por Margaret J J

Feb 15, 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed learning about the incredibly talented people who put a spring in my step and a smile on my face. Thank you is not enough!

por Laura A A T

Jul 29, 2020

Fue una experiencia maravillosa. Felicidades al profesor Carlson.

It was a wonderful experience. Congratulations to Professor Carlson.

por Marina A

Jul 08, 2020

Un gran curso, con un excelente y apasionado profesor. Ha hecho que me interese en el estudio académico de la historia de la música.

por Michel L

Jul 12, 2020

Thank you so much, it was an extraordinary journey. I learned a lot about music, rock n roll and will continue studying.

por José M O G

Jun 10, 2020

Ha sido una experiencia enriquecedora, agradecer la forma didáctica de explicar del profesor.

por Cheyenne M

Jul 31, 2020

Amazing. Really fun and informative while being easy to follow.

por Wayne S

Jun 27, 2020

Great class! When is the next one?

por Shirley K

Jul 13, 2020

such a fun course! thank you!

por Edgar F R V

Aug 08, 2016

Very good.

por David P

Aug 04, 2016

fun course

por Dallas Y

Aug 20, 2019

G