Chevron Left
Voltar para Real-Time Cyber Threat Detection and Mitigation

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Real-Time Cyber Threat Detection and Mitigation da instituição New York University

4.7
estrelas
456 classificações
80 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces real-time cyber security techniques and methods in the context of the TCP/IP protocol suites. Explanation of some basic TCP/IP security hacks is used to introduce the need for network security solutions such as stateless and stateful firewalls. Learners will be introduced to the techniques used to design and configure firewall solutions such as packet filters and proxies to protect enterprise assets. Perimeter solutions such as firewalls and intrusion prevention systems are shown to have significant drawbacks in common enterprise environments. The result of such weakness is shown to often exist as advanced persistent threats (APTs) from nation-state actors. Such attacks, as well as DDOS and third-party attacks, are shown to have potential solutions for modern enterprise....

Melhores avaliações

DE
29 de Ago de 2019

Solid introductory course. Prof teaches basic concepts in an engaging manner without requiring much technical background. As with the other courses in the program, the quiz wording is a bit odd.

AS
4 de Nov de 2018

Very good course providing basic knowledge for understanding the ways of cyber threat detections & mitigation so it is easier and more intuitive continuing exploration of the field by your own

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 78 Avaliações para o Real-Time Cyber Threat Detection and Mitigation

por Wolfgang G

17 de Jun de 2018

The whole four weeks worth of the course could be done in a day. The level of detail of this course corresponds to that of a newspaper article. The tests are sloppily made (e.g. asks for "which answer is false" but actually looks for the only correct answer, writes "migration" instead of "mitigation"). There are no tutors/mentors here to assist people in the forum, the whole course seems abandoned (but, hey, you still have to pay for it!).

por Akash G

14 de Out de 2019

I was into Cyber Security for 2 years. Doing mostly Web Application Attacks, OSINT. But this course made me understand the fundamental problems in protocols that are causing big issues like man-in-middle attacks, IP Spoofing, Email Spoofing. Overall this course motivated me to dig more deeply into IDS and IPS and fundamentally how it works.

por Aviel S

5 de Nov de 2018

Very good course providing basic knowledge for understanding the ways of cyber threat detections & mitigation so it is easier and more intuitive continuing exploration of the field by your own

por Maheswararaju P

5 de Jan de 2019

Quizzes are somehow tricky and requires more inputs from videos..So It would be better to have more concepts related to that.Still expecting better explanation from the perspective of real time attack detection.

por Huzaifah A

4 de Mai de 2020

Some of the reading material is unavailable. Otherwise the course is great.

por Abhijit

14 de Abr de 2018

Dr. Amoroso did a wonderful job as always explaining the practical limitations of existing parameters and exposing the porous border of pretty much all enterprise networks. His talk at the IEEE 5G conference at Princeton along with his paper added a lot of value to the concepts around virtualized software driven perimeters. The case studies he discussed in the videos highlight vulnerabilities that large enterprises have to defend. Details around APT such as the organization, planning and patience displayed by perpetrators is mind-boggling. The paper by Dr. Dorothy Denning gave a very thorough and theoretical treatment to aspects around intrusion detection and prevention. Overall a very enjoyable journey so far.

por George S

6 de Mai de 2019

I have trialed a few of the better known online courses. I can wholeheartedly say Dr. Amoroso is an amazingly gifted teacher. His depth of knowledge is obvious but his ability to make and keep the discussions interesting is his magic. Not simply reading off a script. Thank you!!!

por Derek E

30 de Ago de 2019

Solid introductory course. Prof teaches basic concepts in an engaging manner without requiring much technical background. As with the other courses in the program, the quiz wording is a bit odd.

por Carlos D

7 de Jul de 2019

Explains the basics but still very well and made it simple to understand, I would recommend the staff to check some things that where also commented in the forum

por Maiquel A G R

12 de Jan de 2020

This incredible course makes me learn a lot about all the threat we deal in the recent times. The teacher and videos are really enjoyable and very detailed.

por Robert H

4 de Mar de 2021

Nice introduction into real-time cyber hunting with very good explanations of the different possibilities for detecting cyber threats and to prevent them.

por Amos T C

23 de Fev de 2020

Dr Amoroso does a good job presenting the concepts of cybersecurity in this course. The interviews are also very informative. I learned a lot.

por Susmita M

24 de Mai de 2020

Explained in simple language, which make the concepts easy to understand

Good additional resources & case studies to make foundation strong

por Shawon P

18 de Abr de 2021

Technical terms described in a meaningful ways and examples were very effective to grasp the impact and importance of cybersecurity.

por Nguyen T

19 de Jun de 2020

I love the stories and method of explaining provided by Dr. Amoroso, really great and learned a ton of stuff!

por Roberto V

2 de Nov de 2019

I really understood better the architecture of a cyber attack defense system, greaaaaat teacherrr!

por Brooks T

30 de Dez de 2018

Very good course to start with for Real-Time Cyber Threat Detection and Mitigation.

por T. A

21 de Jun de 2020

I enjoyed this course! Very well explained and great content.

por Alwarsamy P

22 de Abr de 2020

Really good, understand more details about this topic

por Aneesh S

25 de Dez de 2018

Loved it! Another awesome course by coursera

por Maria C L

28 de Dez de 2019

Great course! Very informative. Thank you.

por Raj K D

29 de Abr de 2020

GREAT COURSE FOR THE BEGINNERS..THANKS

por Weston B

17 de Jun de 2020

I really enjoyed this course. Probably one of my favorites so far in the series. As always there videos and articles were good and the real life examples really helped connect with the info being learned. While not as bad as the previous two courses, I still remove one star due to some clean-up that is needed for some of the article and video links. There were some that pointed to dead or incorrect locations. I was able to find the content needed via Google searching, but it would be good for someone to clean up the links. I did notice that the TCP/IP optional reading is gone from this course. While the vids still say it is an optional read, probably be good to sync the optional stuff across all 4 of these courses.

por Raymond L

4 de Jan de 2021

Great course with create content! Love Dr. Amoroso's enthusiasm and the format of the course combining the materials with interviews with practitioners.

One small nitpick is multiple references Dr. A makes to "young people" in his talks and even in the interviews. I am a mid-career techy and know many of my colleagues that take courses on Coursera in the same category of not so young mid-career professionals learning new skills to start a new career, or complement existing skills or respond to customer or business needs.

It would be great to include questions related to this audience in your conversations with the experts as well.

Thank you for a great course!

-Raymond

por Christian P

27 de Abr de 2021

An excellent course for its content and for those didactic examples that Dr.Amoroso uses to make us understand highly complex contexts, in an absolutely masterful way.

But I see some neglect on the part of those who are responsible (Coursera? NYU?) for keeping this course up to date. Many users have reported that certain links that are very necessary to understand the entire course have not worked for months.