Chevron Left
Voltar para Quantum Optics 1 : Single Photons

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Quantum Optics 1 : Single Photons da instituição École Polytechnique

4.9
130 classificações
25 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course gives you access to basic tools and concepts to understand research articles and books on modern quantum optics. You will learn about quantization of light, formalism to describe quantum states of light without any classical analogue, and observables allowing one to demonstrate typical quantum properties of these states. These tools will be applied to the emblematic case of a one-photon wave packet, which behaves both as a particle and a wave. Wave-particle duality is a great quantum mystery in the words of Richard Feynman. You will be able to fully appreciate real experiments demonstrating wave-particle duality for a single photon, and applications to quantum technologies based on single photon sources, which are now commercially available. The tools presented in this course will be widely used in our second quantum optics course, which will present more advanced topics such as entanglement, interaction of quantized light with matter, squeezed light, etc... So if you have a good knowledge in basic quantum mechanics and classical electromagnetism, but always wanted to know: • how to go from classical electromagnetism to quantized radiation, • how the concept of photon emerges, • how a unified formalism is able to describe apparently contradictory behaviors observed in quantum optics labs, • how creative physicists and engineers have invented totally new technologies based on quantum properties of light, then this course is for you....

Melhores avaliações

SS

Nov 21, 2019

Very clear and informative. The courses are short respectively and they are very exciting. The quizzes are a very good review to keep you concentrated.

AN

Feb 18, 2019

This course give me a brief idea about single photon. Thank you for providing such a good course.

Filtrar por:

1 — 24 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Quantum Optics 1 : Single Photons

por Happy A

Jan 17, 2019

A good course that helps us have a further understanding of quantum optic.

por Anakot K R

Feb 16, 2019

I enjoyed the course and learnt a lot. A thorough review of the field quantization for me. It helped me immensely to review my knowledge. It was very useful for "come back" to the subject after my M.Sc. days. For students, you want to learn do the homework sincerely...

por ABHIJEET N

Feb 18, 2019

This course give me a brief idea about single photon. Thank you for providing such a good course.

por Chi L L

Sep 01, 2018

The course is very detailed on the concepts of quantum mechanics applied to to photonic condition, it introduced a lot of new physical operation, but maybe challenging if people is not familiar with abstract algebra and linear vector.

por jadoul m

Nov 02, 2018

Can't wait any longer for the second course. Wonderful. Stimulating.

por Raghav C

Jul 13, 2017

A course worth taking for those seeking an introduction to Quantum Optics.

por Víctor R R

Dec 27, 2017

Very good introduction to the subject, I enjoyed the dynamics of the lessons. I am looking forward for the more advanced part 2!

por Gregory B

Sep 21, 2017

A. Aspect is clear methodical and precise. It makes learning eas

por Augustine

Jul 16, 2017

This is a first rate course given by a master of the subject matter. The presentation style - especially for the equations - are easy to follow. The ideas and concepts are concisely explained. The enthusiasm is infectious. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to know the latest developments in quantum optics. I look forward to part 2!

por Timothy R

Mar 30, 2017

A challenging course but well worth the effort.

por maraka d r

Mar 27, 2019

nice

por K. V R V

Mar 27, 2019

i learned so much from this subject

por Kishoreraj S

Jun 21, 2019

I am extremely grateful to Prof. Aspect for making such a beautiful course. The organisation was lovely and it really took care of backing things up with mathematical proofs that made it really enjoyable and a fulfilling experience. I am really looking forward to the follow-up course to gain more expertise in this topic

por Felipe V

Jun 28, 2019

Incredible alain

por Philippe C

Aug 05, 2019

There was a steep learning curve but I'm very happy to have deeper understanding of quantum phenomenons. Alain Aspect has a magnificent mustache.

por Daniel V d R J

Oct 27, 2019

Ótimo curso.

por Salwa S

Nov 21, 2019

Very clear and informative. The courses are short respectively and they are very exciting. The quizzes are a very good review to keep you concentrated.

por Chandra K

Nov 07, 2019

Very Well helped me to understand the concept

por Binod J

Dec 08, 2019

Great Course! Thinking about taking the second part of this series.

por Bas A

Aug 20, 2017

More exact usage of English language would help. Also written course material would be great. I ended up buying Mr. Aspect's book because I like the topic so much. A final exam would give a more satisfying feeling. I have the feeling I muddled through on lots of the questions. I am redoing the course now to get "perfect" understanding an memorizing things. Alternatively, a final test could be to write a reaction about a resent article.

por Manuel S

Mar 10, 2018

There should be more resources to study like some lecture notes. Besides that, the overall level is very good.

por Giacomo V

Dec 05, 2019

Really good course, but you need to have a strong background in quantum mechanics in order to understand the lessons. Professor Aspect clearly explains the topics

por Jonathan G

Mar 23, 2018

It's math I put surprisingly easy.

por Rod B

Apr 30, 2017

Poor. Very boring and dull presentation. Hardly anything is explained very clearly. It would be far more profitable to simply study an appropriate textbook or online course notes.