Chevron Left
Voltar para Probabilistic Graphical Models 1: Representation

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Probabilistic Graphical Models 1: Representation da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.7
estrelas
1,193 classificações
259 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Probabilistic graphical models (PGMs) are a rich framework for encoding probability distributions over complex domains: joint (multivariate) distributions over large numbers of random variables that interact with each other. These representations sit at the intersection of statistics and computer science, relying on concepts from probability theory, graph algorithms, machine learning, and more. They are the basis for the state-of-the-art methods in a wide variety of applications, such as medical diagnosis, image understanding, speech recognition, natural language processing, and many, many more. They are also a foundational tool in formulating many machine learning problems. This course is the first in a sequence of three. It describes the two basic PGM representations: Bayesian Networks, which rely on a directed graph; and Markov networks, which use an undirected graph. The course discusses both the theoretical properties of these representations as well as their use in practice. The (highly recommended) honors track contains several hands-on assignments on how to represent some real-world problems. The course also presents some important extensions beyond the basic PGM representation, which allow more complex models to be encoded compactly....

Melhores avaliações

ST

Jul 13, 2017

Prof. Koller did a great job communicating difficult material in an accessible manner. Thanks to her for starting Coursera and offering this advanced course so that we can all learn...Kudos!!

CM

Oct 23, 2017

The course was deep, and well-taught. This is not a spoon-feeding course like some others. The only downside were some "mechanical" problems (e.g. code submission didn't work for me).

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Probabilistic Graphical Models 1: Representation

por 王文君

May 21, 2017

Awesome class, the content is not too easy as most online courses. Still the instructor states the concepts clearly and the assignments aligns very well with the content to help me deepen my understanding of the concepts. The assignments are meaningful and challenging, finishing them gave me a great sense of achievement!!

It would be better if the examples in the classes could incorporate some industry applications.

por Rishi C

Jan 29, 2018

Perhaps the best introduction to AI/ML - especially for those who think "the future ain't what it used to be"; the mathematical techniques covered by the course form a toolkit which can be easily thought of as "core", i.e. a locus of strength which enables a wide universe of thinking about complex problems (many of which were correctly not thought to be tractable in practice until very recently!)...

por Dimitrios K

Oct 31, 2016

So happy to complete this one. It was tough - especially the programming exercises and mainly due to high degree of vague-ness and un-expressiveness of matlab/octave in contrast to e.g. Python or Scala. samiam was unexpectedly handy and usable. Very nice and educational piece of software. Excellent course - it's incredible how many Machine Learning models are expressed under the umbrella of PGMs.

por ivan v

Jul 31, 2017

Excellent introduction which covers a wide range of PGM related topics. I really liked programming assignments. They are not too difficult but extremely instructive.

Word of advice: although programming assignments are not mandatory, dare not to skip them. You will be missing an excellent learning experience.

Another useful advice: lectures are self-contained but reading the book helps a lot.

por Meysam G

Sep 12, 2019

I had actually read the David Barber book before I took this course. The course provides a deep insight to the PGMs which is necessary if one wants to utilize it in real applications or as in my case in research works. Moreover, the language of the instructor is comfortably plain, especially when it comes to explaining somewhat complicated concepts. In general, it is highly recommended.

por Gautam K

Oct 17, 2016

This course probably the only best of class course available online. Prof Daphne Koller is one of the very few authority on this subject. I am glad to sign up this course and after completing gave me a great satisfaction learning Graphical Model. I also purchased the book written by Prof. Koller and Prof Friedman and I am going to continue my study on this subject.

por Diogo P

Oct 11, 2017

Great course. The lectures are rather clear and the assignments are very insightful. It takes some time to complete, mostly if you are interested in doing the Honor programming assignments (and you really should be, because these are demanding but also very useful). Previous knowledge on basic probability theory and machine learning is highly recommended.

por SIYI Y

Nov 04, 2016

This is definitely a good course. The honors assignments are interesting, which instruct you to implement graphical models from scratch to solve problems in real world using Matlab or Octave. This helps me understand the theory part better and allows me to have better sense how they can work practically applications.

por Siwei G

Jun 07, 2017

It's a great class. A lot people may complain that there should be more details. Well, this course may not hold your hands all the way to the end, but it covers enough to get you started to learn independently. It is a graduate level class, and it should be designed in this way. 5 star for the wonderful content.

por Eric S

Feb 01, 2018

A very in depth course on PGNs. You definitely need some background in math and a willingness to invest a lot of time into the course. Of most value to me were the programming exercises. They are in Octave as this is one of the earliest Coursera courses, but it is worth exploring the provided implementations.

por Douglas G

Oct 24, 2016

This course is very help for who have to study anything the respect of machine learning example, which is a thing much used in every day and in the new context of new industries 4.0, and the studies of probabilistcs graphical can help who need to develop new programs each times more efectiviness and best.

por Venkateshwaralu

Oct 26, 2016

I loved every minute of this course. I believe I can now understand those gory details of representing an algorithm and comfortably take on challenges that require construction and representation of a functional domain. On a different note, nurtured a new found respect for the graph data structure!

por Ryan D

Jun 21, 2017

Quiz and Video Lecture content was good. Would have preferred different format for programming assignments. The 30 minute life time of programming assignment submission tokens was pretty inconvenient. Overall great course. Definitely more challenging than the Machine Learning course material.

por Jorge P

Feb 27, 2017

Brilliant course, extremely challenging. Prof. Koller does a great job explaining the concepts and uses up-to-date and useful examples. The quizzes are the hardest I've faced in Coursera, this course is no joke, it will take time, effort and taking notes to get through it.

por roi s

Oct 29, 2017

I really like how Dafna is teaching the course, very clear!

It will be nice if their could be a following course that will show new frameworks and code that implements PGMs. Like the courses of deep learning where Andrew Ng is focusing mostly on the practical side.

por Anurag P

Jan 08, 2018

The course is quite hard, however it becomes easier if you follow the book along with course. Also, programming assignments need to improved, the bugs and known issues mentioned in forum should be incorporated to prevent people from wasting time on setup issues.

por Yuxuan X

Aug 08, 2017

Awsome course for Information/Knowledge Engineering. Although not necessary to finish all the honor assignments, it is highly recommended to implement them. Not only for comprehension, but also practice. You can actually apply them on your career or research.

por Minh N

Mar 01, 2017

Quite a steep learning curve. Definitely not for those without prior experience in machine learning, or statistics in general. Also, I would much appreciate it if more test cases were provided in the programming assignments to help with debugging.

por Christophe K

Oct 22, 2016

Very challenging course, but hey, if you are here, you are looking for that!

Lots of knowledge to absorb, but that leads you to a deep understanding on Probability Graphs properties.

I've learnt a lot and I really enjoyed taking this course.

por José A R

Sep 14, 2018

Excellent course. Very well explained with precise detail and practical material to consolidate knowledge.

This was my first approach to PGM and end it fascinated. Will look to learn more from this subject.

Thank you very much Daphne!!

por Chatard J

Nov 25, 2016

Une méthode pédagogique sans faille. Des contrôles et des exercices qui permettent d'approfondir ce qu'on apprend et de faire le point en permanence. Un merveilleux voyage dans le monde des Modèles Graphiques Probabilistes.

por Justin C

Oct 23, 2016

This was a fantastic introduction to PGM for a non-expert. It is well paced for an online course and the assignments provide enough depth to hone your knowledge and skills within the 5 week timeframe. Highly recommended.

por KE Z

Nov 23, 2017

All Programming Assignments are challenging (Bayesian net, Markov net/CRF, and decision making), but very essential to help understand how PGM works. I definitely will enroll the second course in this specialization.

por Alexey K

Nov 17, 2017

Thank you! It's simply incredible exercise for brain! :-) The best ever course here, which teaches one to really think and model, rather than merely click to choose most plausible answer ( like other courses do )

por Simon T

Jul 13, 2017

Prof. Koller did a great job communicating difficult material in an accessible manner. Thanks to her for starting Coursera and offering this advanced course so that we can all learn...Kudos!!