Chevron Left
Voltar para Poverty & Population: How Demographics Shape Policy

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Poverty & Population: How Demographics Shape Policy da instituição Universidade Columbia

4.9
estrelas
107 classificações
28 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course has four modules, or foci. The first is to understand the categories of social welfare—populations, income, earnings, and assets— and some related concepts that play a very large role in shaping policy decisions: unemployment, inflation, and the minimum wage. The second deals with the central institution of social welfare—the labor market, which largely determines how many resources a person has. The labor market also establishes hierarchy, both through meritocracy and through categories of privilege. The third is poverty: the differing ways we define who is poor, and how effective U.S. anti-poverty efforts have been. The final module looks directly at federal decision making, the political organization of ideas, the structure of U.S. government, and the legislative process that shapes much of our social policy. This course addresses issues of power, oppression, and white supremacy. The course is part of a sequence in social policy that has an HONORS TRACK. This track will prepare the learner for masters-level work in policy, which involves reading the literature, writing concise summaries and probing critiques. Over the sequence the learner will develop a policy analysis that will create a foundation for professional policy analyst assignments....

Melhores avaliações

ZN
4 de Ago de 2021

It was a great learning and easy to understand. The reading materials were so helpful. I will choose more courses related to development and planning.

ZR
6 de Nov de 2019

Well-packaged instructional set that combines video lectures, readings, and testing in a manageable approach on the part of the student.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 28 Avaliações para o Poverty & Population: How Demographics Shape Policy

por Zandro G R

6 de Nov de 2019

Well-packaged instructional set that combines video lectures, readings, and testing in a manageable approach on the part of the student.

por Joel A C

11 de Jan de 2020

☼ i was quite surprised by how my mind was changed and by how even the things i thought i was well versed in, like the number of places things can be killed in comte: oh, it is well worse! The need for childcare is important enough to be grouped in w/healthcare - i see that now. & we need to eat the billionaires (and above). i thought that was leftist rhetoric, but you need 3 generations just to get back on ones feet BECAUSE of a system that allows wealth accumulation at that scale. & you dont have to be racist or sexist for it to happen - it is so clear. & it will not end on its own. So it can not be allowed.* A great course.

(*after the first 150Mil.& obvi no inheritance death tax. i mean we arent savages.)

por Hemant M

5 de Mai de 2020

This is a brilliantly developed course by Prof Robertson which gives in depth information and insights into how public policy is formulated within the United States. It also helps to understand how the benefits of government policies accrue unequally across people in which race, age, gender and ethnicity play an importat role.

por Evaluation R

14 de Dez de 2019

The first half of the course was a little redundant, but the second half on government was EXCELLENT!!! Thanks again!

por Ayobami O

9 de Abr de 2020

Highly informative and skill enhancing course on demographic considerations in policy development

por Robert B S M

11 de Jan de 2020

Great course. .. thanks...

por RAHUL B

30 de Mar de 2019

really helpful ,too good

por Ety K

19 de Fev de 2019

It's Very great for me

por Gadim G

11 de Mai de 2020

Very very Perfect

por Paulo

16 de Jun de 2019

Excellent course!

por JELVIN J

13 de Dez de 2019

excellent course

por Nebi R T o

11 de Mai de 2020

fine

por Quanchai K

22 de Abr de 2021

It is an excellent course that helps me better understand general social welfare in the United States, which is very unique compared to that in other Western countries. The instructor can very well explain and discuss complex issues that allows me as a non-American citizen to follow the contents easily. Thank you very much for offering the wonderful course.

por Clément S

5 de Dez de 2020

An amazing course if you want to know more about poverty, demographics and social policy in the US. The lecturer seems passionate and we can feel it. If you are a foreign student looking forward to studying in the US, then you should follow this course for sure.

por Rudolf N

20 de Jul de 2021

I really enjoyed this course. My goal was the specific part of demography as a public policy tool, but I enjoyed the entire course content. Professor John Robertson has the ability to explain the most complex topics in a clear and simple way.

por Melisa K O

6 de Abr de 2021

This course is very useful in increasing my knowledge. America's poverty alleviation policy can be one of the best practices for undeveloped countries. Thank you for the course, Prof. John Robertson, Columbia University, dan Coursera.

por Tisa L

19 de Mar de 2021

A brief but comprehensive overview of policy-making in terms of social work. Explanations are really easy to understand. This made me want to pursue my master's in social work instead of public policy now.

por Zar N

5 de Ago de 2021

It was a great learning and easy to understand. The reading materials were so helpful. I will choose more courses related to development and planning.

por Eltik J

11 de Jun de 2021

This course makes me understand what poverty really is, what is needed, how to approach it and what can be done as a policy-maker.

por Theo M

30 de Abr de 2021

Very insightful, well-organized, and interesting guest speakers. Overall an experience I would recommend!

por Eyasu M

27 de Ago de 2021

It is an amazing course. It is changing my life.

Thank you Columbia, school of social work and coursera!

por Miriam E

3 de Ago de 2020

Excellent course. I love the professor--very engaging, compassionate, and clear.

por Gina D

8 de Jul de 2021

Very well done. I gained solid base knowledge from this course.

por Michael L B J

17 de Ago de 2020

Un excelente curso.

por aabid n s

7 de Set de 2020

excellent