Chevron Left
Voltar para Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods

Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods, Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.3
538 classificações
144 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

Learners discover how apply to research methods to their study of Positive Psychology. In this course, we study with Dr. Angela Duckworth and Dr. Claire Robertson-Kraft. Through an exploration their work "True Grit" and interviews with researchers and practitioners, you develop a research hypothesis and learn how to understand the difference between internal and external validity. You also begin to understand and apply the strengths and weaknesses associated with different types of measurements and evaluation designs. You then interpret the results in an empirical study. Suggested prerequisites: Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science and Positive Psychology: Applications and Interventions....

Melhores avaliações

por HW

Jun 25, 2018

Claire you did an AMAZING job having me listen and absorb all about statistics, every class again.. I had never expected I could be so attached to a statistics class. Thank you very much.

por BS

Jun 26, 2018

A bit of a struggle to learn the technical terms, but helpful in understanding and appreciating the scientific approach to researching various approaches to positive psychology.

Filtrar por:

141 avaliações

por Elisabeth de Rosa

Apr 08, 2019

Learned a lot of valuable things on research studies which will help me better analyze. And the grit topic was very interesting.

por Christopher D. Albee

Mar 25, 2019

Exceptional class! Great material on grit, and research methods.

por Eric Lance Britton

Mar 18, 2019

A good introduction to research methods. I would like to see even more of Dr. Duckworth's lectures --- she seems fantastic. I found the structure very good. The other students have a broad range of motivations for being here and self-grading is difficult for something so specific to research methods. I would like to here from an professional (event grad student) and not just a peer on these assignments especially.

por Arek Szklarczyk

Mar 12, 2019

You guys are great!

por David J Giard

Mar 11, 2019

Yet another excellent class!

por Nhat Quang Le

Mar 05, 2019

Great course!

por Evelisa Quiroz

Mar 01, 2019

I think the material in this course is hard and not very easy to grasp, but the videos and exercises made it doable.

por sridhar laxman

Feb 23, 2019

Material on GRIT was informative and insightful, however the research information was too academic and only relevant to those focusing on research, a better and more detailed description would have helped me course 3 and only focus on the other 4 for this specialisation.

por Deleted Account

Feb 18, 2019

I really enjoyed Angela's in class videos, they made me feel a part of Penn State. I would also like to compliment Claire's way of explaining the course, she did so in a clear and enthusiastic manner. However, I did not give five stars because I felt there was a lot of massive texts to read. Personally, I found it hard to concentrate while reading a lot of information.

por Danya Saitowitz

Feb 10, 2019

I am not a science/math person and I found this course very difficult to get through. I had to keep going though, you can't exactly quit a class about grit :)