Chevron Left
Voltar para Tools for Data Science

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Tools for Data Science da instituição IBM

4.5
estrelas
21,550 classificações
3,329 avaliações

Sobre o curso

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, JupyterLab, RStudio IDE, Git, GitHub, and Watson Studio. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Skills Network Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Watson Studio and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers....

Melhores avaliações

AJ
15 de Set de 2020

Absolutely Loved this course!! Challenging at times to keep up with all the terms and processes. The course provided great insight into Data Science. Would highly recommend it as your first course.

RR
24 de Abr de 2019

To the contrast of other reviews, I find the content very well bifurcated and fed to the learners. The course very easily digestable and I have had a great amount of fun learning it.. Go for it!!!!

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 3,303 Avaliações para o Tools for Data Science

por Nacho M

15 de Abr de 2020

Some times it can be a bit difficult to folllow all the stuff related with IBM watson studyo or the anline lab

por Nicole W

14 de Abr de 2020

The section on Watson Studio had outdated content and was hard to follow

por Vinit K S

7 de Ago de 2019

Please update the videos, with new IBM Watson Studio interface examples.

por Akhil K

15 de Mai de 2019

Good course!!!

por Alex S

15 de Abr de 2020

The teachers were smart and funny, and I enjoyed trying out the tools (some new to me, others not). These people clearly knew their stuff and I got the impression they wanted everyone taking the course to know and use it as well.

The tests and labs were really lacking though. The tests simply required looking for verbatim quotes in the material and the labs were, somehow, both confusing and hand-holding. Baffling to me.

por Paul M

14 de Abr de 2020

Needs some updates to match new formats for IBM Watson Studio. Also, this course skipped over basic code theory and functions, and tried to overcome that by just describing buttonology needed to make the programs operate. Not even close to good enough.

por Abdelkareem H

15 de Jun de 2020

The course was overall OK. Several lessons were either too advanced and required previous knowledge about the subject or the audio was terrible. Nonetheless, one learns a few things in this course. But definitely not one of the best.

por Rona S

14 de Abr de 2020

Useful overview of tools. Following the tutorials was frustrating as the demonstrations did not match what is now available. Got there with a fair amount of frustration and swearing! The assignment was fun though.

por Dmytro P

3 de Abr de 2020

courseware is outdated, I was having issues understanding how to create project in IBM Watson, while video explains how to do it in IBM data science experience.

por samantha d

9 de Fev de 2021

Too much information thrown at you with little context. The final project didn't seem to have a lot to do with the information that we learned in the course.

por Daniela P

10 de Jan de 2019

The course in watson studios contains videos the were too outdated and didn't really help understand how to use the platform as it is nowadays.

por Diana T

14 de Jan de 2019

Some of the Watson Studio videos are confusing because they are recorded on the previous version and they don't match anymore.

por Keyun R

14 de Abr de 2020

The material seems out of dated and it takes a lot of effort to try to find a region that finally accepts registration.

por Declan C

12 de Set de 2019

Videos and instructions do not sync with new IBM Watson Studio.

por Eshita G

17 de Jun de 2020

Very technical, difficult to follow properly

por John G

21 de Fev de 2021

Poorly designed course.

Week 1: While the first section was ok, after the section on “Data Science Tools”, it was more or less just a list of tools for data science. I have 5 pages of notes that are mostly useless. The only reason I wrote so much was that the quizzes often asked about such useless details, that I learned to write more than I usually would. Whoever designed the course/tests obviously has no real teaching experience. In addition, do not expect any feedback from the quizzes. There is no attempt to help the learner learn from wrong answers.

The quality of most of the “instruction” was poor. The woman reading the script often did not logically pause when a slide was changed or more information was added to the slide, as if she didn’t know what was on them. For most of it, it was just a PowerPoint presentation. For IBM being so advanced with technology, it seems for most of the teaching they simply used 20-year-old technology to demonstrate some of the most advanced technology that currently exists. ☹ At least they could have used a split screen to show a person AND text/screen shots.

Week 2: Better information. Same woman reading slides…who is not convincing that she actually understood what she was actually reading. However, the information was more useful and the tools introduced were better. Now I’m registered on some sites and we’ll see how useful that is.

Week 3: A big mix. Again lots of tools. Different people speaking, but again they are just PowerPoint slides with no interaction with people (unlike in the first course in the program). When there are screen captures, sometimes they just jump and it is difficult to follow as they are quite quick. Often the screen shots don’t have high enough resolution, so many of the tabs in the programs are either difficult or impossible to read, or they don’t capture the whole screen, so it’s pretty useless as we can’t really follow how it gets from one place to another.

Sometimes poor English pronunciation. Why doesn’t the person who actually create the presentations/work with the programs actually do the speaking?

Week 4: Labs are useful and it’s great that there was some kind of output. Unfortunately, many of the things that you have to do are not actually taught in the course and you have to use other sources to find out how to do things.

por Reed M

20 de Dez de 2020

Not a very good course at all. Part of it is dedicated to memorizing the names of a bunch of data science tools for tasks that are defined in one or two sentences. Much of the rest is dedicated to basic-to-the-point-of-triviality "Hello world" style tutorials for Jupyter Notebooks, RStudio, and IBM Watson Studio. Speaking of the latter, there's a disproportionate emphasis on IBM products - a bunch of advertising that IBM will help your data science workflow, directed towards learners who have never experienced that workflow at all. Even as advertising, it's bad advertising. And how is it that we've gone through two courses and still haven't learned anything of substance about programming or math? I learned a few new bits and pieces of Markdown from the final project, but that's about all I'll retain from this course.

This course convinced me to jump ship from the IBM data science professional certificate path. It's possible that things get better later on, in the courses with actual substance, but I'm not going to bet $40+ on that possibility.

por Marie D

20 de Fev de 2020

A frustrating course that uses a lot of programming terms without explaining them. I got through it by just assuming we'd learn more in later courses and thanks to a little bit of computer knowledge, but it would have been helpful to have a secton on what the languages are, what's Spark, what kernels are, etc, for beginners. Also annoying that the tools have changed since the videos were made, so, for instance, Watson Studio looks quite different than the old tool in the video, so it's hard to figure out where to start a project.

por Angela S

11 de Dez de 2018

The Coursera videos to IBM Data Science Experience (now IBM Watson Studio) are outdated and therefore lead to unnecessary confusion and, to a point, obstruction of completing the course. The end-of-course project was 10x easier than figuring out how to set up a Jupyter Notebook in IBM Watson Studio. I guess you could say it's a sadistic way to weed people from the course! Please make the updated videos an immediate priority. Otherwise, the obtusely simple (enter code "1+1" to represent addition) videos are irrelevant.

por Edo v d Z

13 de Abr de 2020

Very meager overview of tools. No explanation of what you are doing, videos are outdated, no explanation of the differences between the tools (when do you choose which tools), system was down for a long time, links are not working correctly. It looks as if this module was made years ago and then systems developed but the course was never updated. Course leaders is not working anymore for IBM already for more than a year. IBM you can do better!

por Josep R C

13 de Abr de 2020

Some information is not updated and a huge amount of time is lost in trying to figure out how to do simple things just because of the platform they are telling you to use. However, you can find useful information in the forums as all students have similar problems. I would just recommend this course to users who do not know tools such as Jupyter notebooks already.

por Kathryn D

18 de Jun de 2020

The second week of this course is so confusing and difficult to follow I almost dropped it. The third and fourth week were much better organized. The second week should be deleted from this course, it was not helpful at all.

por T C B T

15 de Jun de 2020

A clear explanation of every tool required. Too advanced for beginners in data science.

por Hellman O

12 de Set de 2019

These materials should be updated to the current Watson work environment

por Shuang.W

15 de Abr de 2020

the videos about Watson lab are out of date.