Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
estrelas
1,695 classificações
442 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE
5 de Mar de 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC
4 de Ago de 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de 431 Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por Luz H H

5 de Dez de 2019

The content was clear, relevant and contextualized for a better understanding throughout the lectures.

por Nirina A

28 de Set de 2016

It's very interesting for monitoring the Social Change. I's very useful for implementing the programme

por JOY O

6 de Set de 2020

So far, the course has been very interesting and elaborative. Thank you so much for this opportunity.

por Kirubhaharan j

24 de Jul de 2019

This course social norms and social I can help to understand current situation take in part of world

por Ritsu N

26 de Jun de 2017

Very useful course. Gave me a lot of ideas on how to go about designing social change initiatives.

por Sheikh Z R

1 de Mai de 2021

Excellent course especially the presentation and the lecture of the professor is full of clarity.

por Quji B

11 de Abr de 2020

Very practical and concise course. Very useful in identifying and treating various social norms.

por Oiram J B d S J

22 de Nov de 2019

Excelent course to whom need critical information about how to change the society to welfare.

por DORA C

21 de Fev de 2021

Mind opening! culturally educating! Brilliant....nice...well structured and highly relevant!

por Jacob A M

10 de Set de 2019

I was much interested and have learn many concepts in this course. The course very excellent

por Md. M M

11 de Mar de 2020

Great lectures. Repetition made catch the previous discussions and go on to the next level.

por Basudev M

28 de Jan de 2019

It's a very useful course to understand the society and various dynamics of social change.

por Tofail A

6 de Set de 2019

Excellent way of learning in collective approach with examples. I am enjoying the course.

por Marta G

5 de Mai de 2020

Good course! I refresh a lot of my old competence and learn new things! thankyou so much

por Fabian L

9 de Dez de 2019

Very interesting. The concepts are continously repeated which makes it easy to remember.

por Gabrielle D

27 de Mai de 2017

I loved this class. As a social entrepreneur, I found it both surprising and inspiring !

por Habib H

20 de Set de 2019

Very informative to learn basic concepts of Socials Norms and Social Change theories

por Mohammad A

16 de Nov de 2016

A great course indeed! Excellent lecture together with theory and on field examples!

por Alanah K

17 de Fev de 2021

Engaging and experienced lecturer. Relevant and interesting case studies. Loved it

por Fabiano M

25 de Ago de 2020

The course is fantastic, and I'm looking forward to applying the concepts in real.

por Takondwa K

18 de Mar de 2020

The Course is very helpful and the materials very relevant and easy to understand.

por Ronnel J C

9 de Ago de 2019

I have learned a lot and it will help me in formulating better interview questions

por Ajirioghene A

19 de Dez de 2019

The course was very easy to follow and useful for practical delivery in the field

por Zainab M

8 de Jun de 2019

This course was really great.I got so many good ideas and learnt so many things.

por Zita M

21 de Dez de 2020

Very exciting theories, which I find quite revealing, too. Thank you so much!