Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
1,043 classificações
262 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC

Aug 05, 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por Sabrina P

May 11, 2019

Very well structured. It is really useful forpeople working in programs where social norms are involved

por Tamoghna A

May 16, 2019

Was a fascinating course that highlighted we human beings are driven by norms and societal expectation. Negative norms can be turned positive with the right kind of intervention.

por Jonas N N

Jun 21, 2019

This are a very complex theory in international development due to the variety of behaviour, culture, custom in the different societies around the world. in spite of globalisation, the world is still not one society. Therefore considering norms, behaviours and believes are very important. this what I gain here.

por Anh Q D

Jun 28, 2019

As a person who works in the development field, I found the content of this course is interesting and useful!

por Kirubhaharan j

Jul 24, 2019

This course social norms and social I can help to understand current situation take in part of world

por Sean

Jul 26, 2019

incredibly useful and insightful

por Guillaume N

Jul 28, 2019

Well done, instructive, easy to follow.

por Maher H I

Jul 31, 2019

ممتاز

por Minasree S

Aug 02, 2019

Thank you Prof. Cristina Bicchieri for well explaining the course on Social Norms, Social Change I. After completion of Social Norms, Social Change , I have enrolled into Social Norms, Social Change II for more learning. I have leaned few new concepts related to social norms. I am thankful to Coursera, PENN and UNICEF for designing this type of course.

por Rex L

Aug 02, 2019

thank you very much. from this course i have learned a lot, this basic understanding of norms and social behaviour will help you to understand what happening around your.

por Joana C

Aug 05, 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

por Zainab M

Jun 08, 2019

This course was really great.I got so many good ideas and learnt so many things.

por Kevin A

Jun 08, 2019

The course covered the basic components and provided examples to understand the social norms and change, the real life illustrations did make the concepts easier for me to grasp. The discussions at the end of every week also make the course a great platform for learning from other participants.

por Franciska O

Aug 09, 2019

excellent!

por Udai Y S

Aug 09, 2019

the course really helps one understand the social issues prevalent all across the globe.

por Ronnel J C

Aug 09, 2019

I have learned a lot and it will help me in formulating better interview questions

por Ayush J

Aug 15, 2019

Excellent course for development communicators, and social norms change practicioners.

por Abigail A

Aug 17, 2019

I loved taking Social Norms, Social Change I. My professor Cristina Bicchieri was completely amazing at teaching "Critical Analysis" about culture in other nations. What at first seemed so easy to overlook was actually really put in a more direct way. In end, I wanted to stand up and stop social norms in other cultures doing wrong to young woman, and move towards social change for young woman to educate. She is an amazing gentlewoman worth every minute to listen as she is clear in her mind about what is happening in other Nations. Yay!

por Shahrzad K

Aug 18, 2019

The content was not easy, at least for me with a different background, but, it was taught in a way that anyone could understand. It helped me a lot in my activities and understanding the shortages which used to led me to failures in changing special behavior. I surely will go through the content over and over again.

por Kharingyo S

Aug 20, 2019

Great

por Vivek R

Aug 27, 2019

It's a wonderful experience of mine as it was my first online course. The way the things have been taught was awesome. Clear Voice, subtle statements with a bunch of examples to elaborate. Subtitles to make it more clear. Regular assessment. Everything!

por Nora S

Aug 27, 2019

Very interesting, useful and intriguing course and a topic to me! The combination of the main lecturer knowledge and experience with the specific stories of on-the-field practitioners all over the world makes the course more practical and realistic. I wouol definately go for Part II

por Nirmal G

Aug 28, 2019

It is wonderful to learn about how our society and the way people living in it behave;cause and effects.

por Haroon A

Jul 13, 2019

excellent course , helpful , gradual information cascade , sumarrizing from time to another ,practical examples , discussions . thank you

por SEHRISH S K

Aug 31, 2019

one of the most helpful and comprehensive course I have taken online. material and relevant examples made it more inreresting.