Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
1,048 classificações
265 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC

Aug 05, 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por lisa k

Jul 19, 2017

i really like this course as it showed the root of some social norms in the community that i live in and i was able to analyses people's motives for behaving in such way.

por alix r

Jul 19, 2017

Amazing course, very well designed and delivered. Thank you!

por Amar A

Dec 08, 2017

thank you

por anushka a

Apr 30, 2017

interesting

por Manuel G

Jan 02, 2017

It is a Great course for who ever is working with Social organizations and with projects dealing with social Norms, even for another people is always good to understand some patterns of behavior. Am liking a lot what am learning, it is good form my work as Project Manager of an Mozambican NGO.

por Milecia M

Oct 19, 2016

This class changed my view on the way I look at the world. I didn't realize how much was under the surface of how we interact with each other. This class broke down how we influence each other in the most subtle ways.

por Natasha E

May 29, 2017

Enjoyed this course and looking forward to part 2!!!

por Gabrielle D

May 27, 2017

I loved this class. As a social entrepreneur, I found it both surprising and inspiring !

por Rongpeng L

Jul 04, 2016

Very informative and logical.

por Josyula K L

May 04, 2017

This course was well-paced. The short videos, sprinkled with questions, and interspersed with essays, worked very well.

por Diana F

Aug 15, 2017

This course was very interesting. It helped me understand about how to proceed in the intervention of some of the company employees behavior and expectations. Thank you.

por Dehua G

Sep 23, 2017

Great course, great experience!!

por Miriam N S

Mar 19, 2018

It's a great intro into the definitions around social norms to understand what can bring social change about. I think it is also just useful for understanding our behaviour as humans, why we do things and not others and what motivates our behaviour even though we sometimes might not actually agree with it. It is presented in an easy-to-study way with good reading material from the course presenter.

por BALAJI A V

Jul 07, 2017

An excellent course to pursue. Cleared number of doubts about society and the decisions made by them. learning from this course will definitely benefit me in upcoming time. Many thanks to instructor, the university and coursera for such enriching course.

por shenyang

Jul 23, 2016

great

por Jessie H

Jul 11, 2017

Although I had no foundation in sociology, this course gave me an overview of base concepts and examples. Thank you teacher!

por Khaing K N

Apr 19, 2018

Excellent course for every student who is very interested in Social Norm.

por Ibraheem F M M

Jun 30, 2017

It is wondefull

por Mariya K

Aug 11, 2017

The course is really great and very interesting! The only point that would make it even better - any feedback from the lecturer for the tasks with questions for discussion. As for me it was really not so easy to find the answers and examples and I am not sure if all of them are correct.

por Bouhout A

Jul 24, 2017

Amazing course

por Saúl A

Jul 10, 2017

It is a great course that allow to learn the importance of social norms in order to propose change mechanisms and promote social development and human rights achievement.

por Erme S

Jun 16, 2017

Very useful to me, a undergraduate student of computer science who love HCI and want to understando complex social domains. Very clear, a nice teacher.

por Shweta B

Dec 05, 2017

It was useful and informative. What it helped me is with providing a different perpective of viewing a social set up, how the issue can be tackled and what could be the alternate way of solving it.

As a professional working in CSR it has been an aid me for.

por Monica C

Jan 13, 2018

The concepts brought are very useful and the lecturer was able to explain clearly and highlight/emphasis areas that are commonly misunderstood. I find that the term social norms is bandied around very frequently and the public at large only have a general and broad idea of what this means. But now I understand that not every collective behaviour is a social norm as some collective behaviours are independent of social expectations and as such, are not social norms.

Especially helpful are the diagnostic charts and tools that are presented to help us differentiate the terms and concepts and apply them. Also helpful are the nuances in asking questions and how we can reduce social desirability bias.

Would highly recommend this course, esp for policy makers who need to implement programmes for social change. I work in government, and I think this course is so useful for me, even as I consider what my department can do to nudge change.

Thank you!

por Aung Z M

Feb 26, 2017

very useful to implement behavioral change projects and social change issue!