Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
estrelas
1,694 classificações
441 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE
5 de Mar de 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

KL
25 de Jun de 2019

the course worth the time spent as there a lot of take away that are basically practical in our communities. I think in a whole I have learnt a lot and hope to undertake similar courses in due time

Filtrar por:

351 — 375 de 430 Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por Ricardo R I

9 de Out de 2016

It's very useful. I think at first lectures there is neccesary a synopsis about the concepts and their classification or relation, because as you deep the relation is more confused.

por Sezin I

9 de Jan de 2017

I enroll the course just for listening videos and following the readings,

I really enjoyed it, and learned it, it gives another perspective to see the whole community

thanks a lot

por NEHA P

28 de Abr de 2020

Good insights about social problems and how various organisations working hard to change mindset of people living in rural areas. Learned new concepts about norms. Good Work!

por Mahesh J

8 de Nov de 2016

It was a good course even though it was a bit theoretical. Its a great start for someone who has no background in social norms. I am glad I took this course though

por Natasha

6 de Fev de 2017

The course is very detailed, with a strong methology and useful examples. Nevertheless, it wasn't always simple to follow and the last week was very demanding.

por Armand B

17 de Jul de 2019

This is a nice course if you want to chose social science field. In terms of Research, you are be able to how to formulates questions based on this course.

por Mira L

2 de Ago de 2019

The content was interesting but some parts were repetitive to the point of some confusion. I really enjoyed the new information! Thank you.

por Miryana V

12 de Jul de 2019

excellent course, well thought out and great examples with readings to make sure you are on track with the syllabus and provide feedback.

por Pete B

20 de Mar de 2019

Good presentation, accessible reading material, and all easy to digest - but the final lecture on measuring was sort of long...

por Kristi D

25 de Fev de 2018

I learned a lot and I enjoyed the professor's demeanor and personality. I will take the next course in this series for sure.

por Nawarerk C

28 de Fev de 2020

The content is quite complicated, however, the instructor makes it easier to understand. Case examples are really helpful.

por Isha J

14 de Jul de 2019

The examination method could've been more rigorous and the readings were not in the right order, but great course overall!

por PRAVEEN R

26 de Mar de 2020

One of the best social Psychology course available online, which allowed me to understand various norms around the world.

por Mohsin A

26 de Dez de 2020

Its been a long time I have completed course on social norms, social change, well I think it's quite long but good.

por Martin E

19 de Abr de 2020

This course enhanced my understanding of human motivations and behaviors including how to determine causal factor

por Kariwilliams

19 de Jan de 2020

Very informative introduction into identifying and measuring social norms. Thank you for sharing this research.

por Janina G O S

17 de Ago de 2017

The course was difficult but it helped broaden my horizon on how to bring about positive change. Thank you!

por Sergio A P V

24 de Jun de 2020

The feedback of the exams can improve more and put more examples in the videos, thanks for all.

por Jessica M

4 de Mai de 2020

Well presented and points made very clear. Great real world examples. Thanks Christina :)

por Rwan K A

16 de Set de 2019

The most thing which helped me was the examples after every definition .. thanks a lot

por Victoria H

22 de Abr de 2018

It was very interesting. I only wish I were able to highlight things in the reading.

por jimmie m

25 de Fev de 2021

I enjoyed the lecturing and have learn alot that will be used in my day to day life

por tengson p

2 de Dez de 2017

Very useful course to understand about social norm and how to measure it.

por Annu K

22 de Abr de 2017

It's really very useful curse. Thanks for taking me in this course.

por Roger

17 de Jan de 2021

Fascinating introduction,. very good teacher. Lots to think about.