Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
estrelas
1,644 classificações
426 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE
5 de Mar de 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

KL
25 de Jun de 2019

the course worth the time spent as there a lot of take away that are basically practical in our communities. I think in a whole I have learnt a lot and hope to undertake similar courses in due time

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 414 Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por Hannah A M G

4 de Nov de 2018

This is a very useful and informative course for me, especially in my line of work in research and public administration. I hope more people could take this course and appreciate the process of understanding and perhaps changing social norms.

por Yazhini M

31 de Mai de 2020

The alternating between videos and text kept me interested in the course. In my experience, I have had very little to learn from online courses, but I learned new concepts in this course. I am definitely going to do the second parts as well.

por Anil

12 de Ago de 2017

Great course for those who have a concern for social change and a non prudential personal normative belief to bring a social change for benefit of all. Greatly structured course and very well explained by

Cristina Bicchieri.

Thanks a lot :-)

por Wiyengha W

15 de Abr de 2020

This is a good course that gives one an in debt knowledge of societal norms, community reactions to the norms and how they can be evaluated and the bad norms can be eradicated. i am very impressed and hope to continue when time permits

por Hans B v d B

30 de Dez de 2017

Great course, learned a lot about analysing social norms and how the different sides of social norms. The perspectives from the field were also very interesting and informative. Also the lecturer was very articulate and a great speaker.

por Camlus O O

1 de Dez de 2016

Cristina makes difficult concepts such as randomised response approach to limiting social desirability bias easy. Very easy to navigate, and the Android App is efficient and effective. Lots of new learning too, no recycled content

por Khyam

13 de Ago de 2020

I found this course highly interesting as it blends both theory and practices. For a greater and in-depth knowledge that it offers, learners are expected to pay a careful and attentive participation. Highly recommended.

por anurag

19 de Jan de 2020

This course gave me the reasoning behind all events which i see on day to day basis. From complex issues by the governments to minute details shown by my friends and family. Cant Thanks enough to learn this course.

por Alvaro C

10 de Set de 2017

I really enjoyed taking this class. First of all, it gave us tools on how to approach norms and behaviours, and secondly it made is seem clear. I will definitely use some of the learnings in my future missions.

por christine a a

25 de Nov de 2020

A great initiative. This course has enabled me to be able view certain issues in different perspectives that I never knew existed in my community. Will definitely help in my mentorship dream!!!!! Thank you!

por David L F R

16 de Abr de 2020

It is a really great course. The content is very interesting, the topics are well divided and presented, all the given information is clear and the lectures are amusing. You can learn a lot in this course.

por Rajah B

26 de Mar de 2018

A brilliant course that organizes the formation of social norms as a science, helping activism aimed at changing negative norms achieve higher success rates. The Professor and Unicef did an amazing job!

por Nahum J A

30 de Ago de 2020

The course materials are educative and just right for education purpose, I appreciate the facilitator and say thank you for your time and the knowledge you impact on me about Social Norm’s

por Waqar A

23 de Nov de 2019

its been really wonderful to have Social Norms, Social Change certificate course . Bicchieri C, Lindemans is wonderful lecturer , explain in simple and easy way which is easy to understand.

por William M

31 de Ago de 2020

I really enjoyed the course. It absolutely made me reconsider how I approach a problem. Understanding the reason why people think the way they do is essential in driving positive change.

por Pablo A C G

4 de Out de 2020

The course provides very clear explanations of the theoretical concepts in connection with social norms, as well as numerous examples on how to apply such theory in real life situations.

por Arwa I B A

20 de Ago de 2017

GOOD course i learn from it a lot of information and concepts about the community and how to analyse the behavior of my community and think different about the solution of the problem .

por Excellence T D

13 de Out de 2019

For a first time user, fresh to this information, it was stimulating and exciting to be learning how to identify social norms etc. and how to measure various aspects to effect change.

por Mohamud M

6 de Jun de 2020

The course materials, videos and readings are quite detailed and appropriate to enable one easily understand the subject, participate in discussions and answer the quizzes questions.

por Sarah Y

15 de Jun de 2017

Really enjoyed this course. Insightful. Professor clearly communicates course content. Could do without all the opening jingles/intros since the video clips are really short, though.

por Tamoghna A

16 de Mai de 2019

Was a fascinating course that highlighted we human beings are driven by norms and societal expectation. Negative norms can be turned positive with the right kind of intervention.

por Rex L

2 de Ago de 2019

thank you very much. from this course i have learned a lot, this basic understanding of norms and social behaviour will help you to understand what happening around your.

por Saúl A

10 de Jul de 2017

It is a great course that allow to learn the importance of social norms in order to propose change mechanisms and promote social development and human rights achievement.

por Diana F

15 de Ago de 2017

This course was very interesting. It helped me understand about how to proceed in the intervention of some of the company employees behavior and expectations. Thank you.

por Michael T D

6 de Mar de 2019

It is a very educative course that provides the learner with the technical lens, and gives ways problems could be solved best. I'm hoping to start the part 2 soon.