Chevron Left
Voltar para Social Norms, Social Change I

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Social Norms, Social Change I da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
1,048 classificações
265 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Melhores avaliações

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC

Aug 05, 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Social Norms, Social Change I

por khaled y a a

Jan 14, 2018

Very wonderful I learned a lot

por sanjay r

Oct 16, 2017

its an eye opener , please do this course for the pure value of it........i am a better person now, having subscribed to this course.

por Varun K S

Aug 14, 2017

I absolutely cherished whatever I learned through this course. It gave me a perspective to view things from critical, rational and shared perspective.

por Riaz A

Dec 02, 2017

I am grateful to Cristina Bicchieri for her amazing lectures. I enjoyed the lectures and learnt a lot. All those who are interested in social change will surely find the course extremely relevant and useful.

por hadeer K A K

Jun 22, 2018

I love the material and every thing because it makes me think differently

por Tantoh H D T

Jun 22, 2018

AWESOME

por Sourav B

Aug 13, 2017

Extremely val

por Ajay V

Apr 25, 2018

It was a fantastic course that concisely taught the different expectations that we face in society. Whether it may be our own or of society in general.

por ਕੀਪੁੱਛਦਿਉ ਫ ਦ

Aug 12, 2017

Great course for those who have a concern for social change and a non prudential personal normative belief to bring a social change for benefit of all. Greatly structured course and very well explained by

Cristina Bicchieri.

Thanks a lot :-)

por Sára C

Nov 06, 2017

Enjoyable, informative, really interesting.

por Kamrul H

Nov 07, 2017

All the topics are elaborated with real life examples. Also designed to be very interesting. I enjoyed every bit of it while learning new aspects.

por Gilbert A A

Apr 22, 2018

The course was very interesting. Provides an excellent insight on understanding social norms and developing intervention strategies to bring about change.

por Aung Z M

Feb 26, 2017

very useful to implement behavioral change projects and social change issue!

por Brice B

Nov 27, 2016

Socially relevant philosophy and psychology: great material! Crystal clear! Everyone should watch this course.

por Keith S

Dec 10, 2017

I thought that the course was both practically relevant to international development work, and also well supported by theory - a nice combination.

por Rafat A A

Jul 26, 2017

The course is wonderful and helpful

por Hitesh T

Sep 20, 2016

Nice compilation of lectures and case studies

por Brenda

Jan 07, 2017

This is an extremely useful course. There is an effective blend of lecture, quizzes, case studies, essays, and student discussion. The content is highly relevant. I highly recommend this course.

por Ahmed M E

Feb 10, 2018

Very Important course for all those who work in areas of community development and behavioral change

por Monica C

Jan 13, 2018

The concepts brought are very useful and the lecturer was able to explain clearly and highlight/emphasis areas that are commonly misunderstood. I find that the term social norms is bandied around very frequently and the public at large only have a general and broad idea of what this means. But now I understand that not every collective behaviour is a social norm as some collective behaviours are independent of social expectations and as such, are not social norms.

Especially helpful are the diagnostic charts and tools that are presented to help us differentiate the terms and concepts and apply them. Also helpful are the nuances in asking questions and how we can reduce social desirability bias.

Would highly recommend this course, esp for policy makers who need to implement programmes for social change. I work in government, and I think this course is so useful for me, even as I consider what my department can do to nudge change.

Thank you!

por Jigar A

Feb 03, 2018

Found the course structure and content quite impressive. Seemingly (emphatically) tuned lecture speed helped a lot in grasping the ideas with moderate efforts as well as keeping up the pace with the course. Diagrams of various processes, real-life perspectives' sharing and context-specific concise notations from the reference material gave the learning path a unique landscape.

por Sarah P

Oct 07, 2016

A very fascinating course if you're interested in learning the inner workings of why people behave the ways they do.

por Rongpeng L

Jul 04, 2016

Very informative and logical.

por Josyula K L

May 04, 2017

This course was well-paced. The short videos, sprinkled with questions, and interspersed with essays, worked very well.

por Diana F

Aug 15, 2017

This course was very interesting. It helped me understand about how to proceed in the intervention of some of the company employees behavior and expectations. Thank you.