Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução ao setor das empresas sem fins lucrativos, organizações sem fins lucrativos, liderança e governança sem fins lucrativos

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução ao setor das empresas sem fins lucrativos, organizações sem fins lucrativos, liderança e governança sem fins lucrativos da instituição Universidade Estadual de Nova York

4.4
114 classificações
31 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces you to the nonprofit sector, nonprofit organizations, and the concepts of leadership and governance. While this course has been developed with North American culture in mind, we do appreciate that in other parts of the world the nature of the nonprofit sector, nonprofit organizations, nonprofit leadership and governance may not be the same. Nevertheless, it is our hope that much of the course content will still be of value to those in other parts of the world. To learn more about this course, please watch the overview video by copying and pasting the following link into your web browser: https://goo.gl/YMg1Qd. Keywords: Nonprofit; Nonprofit Sector; Voluntary Sector; Nonprofit Organizations, Non-Governmental Organizations, Volunteer Organizations, Leadership, Management, Governance, Board, Board of Directors, Performance, Effectiveness Course 1 Overview: Week 1: Some of the questions you will explore this week are: What is the nonprofit sector and why does it exist? What are the unique characteristics of nonprofit organizations? What are the trends and emerging issues facing organizations in the nonprofit sector? Week 2: Questions to be explored this week are: What is leadership at the governance level and how is it different from management? What is good governance and why does it matter? What is a board of directors? Week 3: This week's questions: What roles do board members play in nonprofit organizations? Broadly speaking, what are boards responsible for and how do they go about their work? What are some of the issues that challenge the board's ability to go its work? Week 4: At this stage, you are asked to review the course content, submit a written assignment (known lightheartedly as a BEAR (Board Effectiveness Readiness Assessment), and take two multiple choice Readiness Assurance Tests (known similarly as RATs). One RAT will assess knowledge and reading comprehension and the other will test application of knowledge within a practical case. Week 5: We will encourage you to discuss the RATs in the discussion forums and take them again should you wish to change any of your answers based on the information exchanged....

Melhores avaliações

JN

Jun 20, 2019

Whether you are new to non-profit service, or have been volunteering and engaging for years, the course offers useful insights that can lend more substance and impact to your important work.

RV

Apr 14, 2016

I highly recommend the entire program to new and even experienced board members in both the non-profit and corporate world. Very real application and concepts that are applicable.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introdução ao setor das empresas sem fins lucrativos, organizações sem fins lucrativos, liderança e governança sem fins lucrativos

por Michail D

Jan 09, 2016

My overall experience with this Specialization, in general, and this 1st Course, in particular, is very positive.

On the positive side, I really like the fact that the Courses are practice-oriented and provide not only theoretical frameworks, but also insights from experts, practical guidance, and evidence-based best practices.

Also, the idea of applying Team-Based Learning (TBL), in the forms of Readiness Assurance Tests (RATs) and scenario-based RAT Application Exercises, for assessing participants' learning, is excellent!

However, there are a couple of downsides, that's why I'm not giving a 5 star positive feedback.

The first problem is that not all of the required readings are freely available via the Coursera platform, or elsewhere online. I appreciate the excellent quality of the chosen materials, but, if it becomes compulsory to spend more than US $100 for buying books, then the total cost of this Specialization elevates quite a lot, given that I had to pay €162 for it. On my opinion, there should be at least a note in the description of both the Specialization and the Courses about these requirements, in order to make an informed decision before enrolling.

The second downside has to do with Course 1 and Course 2 overlapping materials. I'm referring to guest interview videos. That's mainly a problem of the 2nd Course, as there are almost no guest interviews in this Course, and the one interview provided is already available in Course 1. I understand that the topics discussed apply to the topics of both Courses, but, still, I find it an unnecessary repetition.

The last problem is about the dates that the Courses are run. Course 1 runs during a given period, Course 2 is on demand, but it makes sense to attend it before Course 3, that also runs during a given period, which overlaps with the period of the 1st Course. Sorry, this makes it very difficult to attend everything and to seriously focus, as it's always about running for deadlines, especially when one has to produce three (3) Board Effectiveness Assessment Reflection (BEAR) papers :( .

por Amy C

Jan 16, 2016

This course has great potential as it is an extraordinarily timely topic, domestically and globally. The accessible required reading assignments were thought provoking and topical. Also, one of the required videos proved helpful, and a couple of the optional Ted talks were "must see's" for anyone involved in the non-profit sector.

It was problematic that there was so little direction with respect to how one might access the required reading materials that were not linked into the course syllabus. In fact, one of the links provided simply directed the learners to a youtube video, extolling the virtues of the book wherein the required chapter was located. Another blatant colleague marketing technique occurred during the course of one of the required videos wherein the organizer interviewed an author about his book. (There was some helpful substantive information that came out of that interview, but for the most part, I felt as though I was watching an infomercial.) Requests for help fell on deaf ears, except for those of co-learners.

A small, but annoying, flaw was that the professors were simply reading text from their slides, for the video component of the course--with an additional word thrown in, on occasion, for good measure. It would have been less distracting just to have the slides to read.

I wish this course had been designed and taught to the standards I have come to expect from Coursera courses. It could have been one of the most valuable yet.

por Joanie E

Mar 15, 2019

Loved this course! I learned so much in so little time. The instructors of this course make it easy to learn and participate. Highly recommend.

por Margaret O P

Jun 05, 2016

Great for enhancing your understanding of how non-profits are governed. I'd highly recommend this course for anyone involved with a non-profit organization.

por Mario G

Nov 22, 2017

Excellent course

por Fiora B

Apr 19, 2016

(Free version) This course has a wealth of information and resources

por Harris C

Feb 18, 2016

very useful and practical

por Jeffrey K

Sep 30, 2016

Great start of this specialization

por ISABELLA G B

Oct 28, 2017

Excelent!!! I love to understand the NPO and how they are govern. Also the types of NPO and the challenges that Board of Directors face.

Also, I have to said that this course was no too much time demanding, really good to me as I am a Full time employee.

por Catalina V

Dec 30, 2015

Very thorough and practical. Great insights into the governance and leadership required in the nonprofit sector.

por Rick V

Apr 14, 2016

I highly recommend the entire program to new and even experienced board members in both the non-profit and corporate world. Very real application and concepts that are applicable.

por gassim k

Dec 04, 2016

it is very beneficial courses i will do hard to get benefits

por caroline f

Jun 15, 2016

Outstanding course

por Andreas F L

Apr 29, 2016

Well thought through course with strong methods and tools

por Juan A C

Jun 12, 2017

I made an excellent choice by taking this course while planning and running my own project on Nonprofit entrepreneurship

por Luiz M

Apr 27, 2016

Excellent!

por Tofail A

May 28, 2019

The "Introduction to the Nonprofit Sector, Nonprofit Organizations, Nonprofit Leadership and Governance" is an important course for the people who don't has time to study in person. Especially those are working in development and or humanitarian sectors they need this course. I personally learn a lot form this course that is very much align with my job area.

por Jeanette N

Jun 20, 2019

Whether you are new to non-profit service, or have been volunteering and engaging for years, the course offers useful insights that can lend more substance and impact to your important work.

por Mohammad A H

Aug 21, 2016

This is a really nice course! I am fortunate to be part of it!

por Regina L

Jun 05, 2017

Great readings and course material

por Lim S Y C

Nov 21, 2016

Teacher was organised and coherent, lectures was clearly planned. Students however didn't seem particularly engaged with wide variance in understanding.

por Sunil D

Feb 28, 2016

Excellent introduction of this programme. As Australian student and professional practitioner I really admire the contents and research behind this programme. Thank you.

Regards

por Pedro J M M

Jan 12, 2018

They don't provide all the required readings. You need to buy in order to read. Doesn't seem fair.

por shiva

Sep 30, 2016

It was hard to learn from the materials that we have to buy. Please understand that not everyone who sign up for the course can afford to buy the books on amazon. Lack of those books are showing effects on the way we attempt the assignments. It would be great if download links or online study links are provided in the readings section for all the necessary books instead of only a few.

por Emmanuel A

Sep 14, 2016

Good and interesting course.