Chevron Left
Voltar para Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why da instituição Universidade Duke

4.2
estrelas
423 classificações
109 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The course will explore the tone combinations that humans consider consonant or dissonant, the scales we use, and the emotions music elicits, all of which provide a rich set of data for exploring music and auditory aesthetics in a biological framework. Analyses of speech and musical databases are consistent with the idea that the chromatic scale (the set of tones used by humans to create music), consonance and dissonance, worldwide preferences for a few dozen scales from the billions that are possible, and the emotions elicited by music in different cultures all stem from the relative similarity of musical tonalities and the characteristics of voiced (tonal) speech. Like the phenomenology of visual perception, these aspects of auditory perception appear to have arisen from the need to contend with sensory stimuli that are inherently unable to specify their physical sources, leading to the evolution of a common strategy to deal with this fundamental challenge....

Melhores avaliações

GS

Jun 11, 2017

Great course, very informative for anyone who wishes to explore deeper aspects of music that have to do with biology and psychology.

AW

Mar 14, 2017

Natural scientific approach to music; this is definitely a new perspective on music and acoustics in general.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

por Angelina W

Mar 14, 2017

Natural scientific approach to music; this is definitely a new perspective on music and acoustics in general.

por Beatriz A A S

Oct 09, 2018

I'm very grateful of this course because it's help me a lot. I'm an adult beginner and I've tried understanding music theory with poor results. It wasn't enough for me just repeating memorizing techniques or 'cooking recipes' in order to dominate some topics of Music Theory. Even I got frustrated. This course hit the nail and open my mind to new questions and dimensions about the music. And the most important is that it let me see that not everything is said in music. After the third module I could come back to music Theory and get easier concepts. Even I could found some of them by myself. I mean, I was not memorizing anymore but figuring out by myself how it works.

I highly recommend this course. I like the way Professor Dale explains, keeping it easy and organized. Additional material is super useful for music students and Ruby's participation was suitable. I'd like that last module would've been longer.

por Vincent A

May 10, 2016

Note: I am coming in from the perspective of a dude wanting to create and compose music. I especially love module Week 6. It gave me a new insight on how to create newer types of sounds (I can't get enough). SPOILER ALERT: I would have never thought there would be a correlation between speech and music. I think Dr. Purves makes an excellent case for this connection. I'm sold! Very well organized course; and if you are a music junky like me, I'm sure you'll find tremendous value in it.

por Vinod L G

Sep 13, 2017

I used to believe that the concept of music is purely mathematical and physical.

But this course has made me realize the biological aspect of music perception, and how it has been effected by emotional evolution of humans.

Thanks a lot.

por Muhammad A M

Sep 22, 2016

This course has helped me to understand biological psychology of humans towards music. Based on this knowledge i am confident to create music which will seem good to the ears of humans.

por miguel a g p

May 18, 2017

Muy completo e interesante, didáctico y muy intuitivo, aprendí demasiado... definitivamente lo recomiendo para aquellos que apenas inician en el mundo de la música!

por George S

Jun 11, 2017

Great course, very informative for anyone who wishes to explore deeper aspects of music that have to do with biology and psychology.

por Fernando V

Apr 12, 2018

It was a nice experience to learn about the Biology of the music. Very complete and explained course. Thanks

por Ian E C A

Nov 20, 2017

Supremamente interesante y completo. Dio respuestas a varias preguntas que me formulaba frecuentemente.

por Al-Rashid J

Jun 21, 2018

Great course. I enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed his previous course "Visual Perception and the Brain".

por James A

Oct 17, 2017

This is an exceptional course, with very intriguing information about why we like the music we like.

por Peregrine H

Jan 02, 2018

Muy buen curso, bastante interesante y muy educativo. En otras palabras esta muy completo.

por Renny G L

Aug 29, 2018

Very interesting course! especially if you are musician or you like Physicis and Biology

por Lluis G T

Nov 29, 2016

I learned awesome things on that course, things that I never imagine

por Eduardo A

Nov 27, 2016

Awesome course! I really liked it a lot, it has been very usefull!

por Pablo C

Nov 13, 2017

Awesome. This is probably the best online course I've ever taken.

por Julián A G M

Jan 12, 2018

¡Excelente curso, gracias por la oportunidad de aprendizaje!

por Miguelina G

Aug 29, 2019

Excelente curso, entusiasmada para aprender más. Gracias!

por Sergei R

Apr 28, 2017

Great theory about music origins! thank you) was enjoyed!

por Erich C

Oct 03, 2016

Very interesting, a stimulating and in depth course!

por Walerson S C

Mar 29, 2016

Nice approach of great issues! Highly recommended!

por Karen B

May 21, 2017

Excelente curso, me encanto.

100% Recomendado

por Muntassir H

Sep 16, 2019

It was an amazing experience studying this.

por Theo L

Apr 23, 2018

Really informative and superbly in depth

por Aoyu Z

May 21, 2017

that's useful, intriguing and fantastic!