Chevron Left
Voltar para Mountains 101

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mountains 101 da instituição Universidade de AlbertaUniversidade de Alberta

4.9
estrelas
2,321 classificações
870 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Melhores avaliações

SK

22 de dez de 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

DA

11 de fev de 2021

Great fun, I really enjoyed this course. Sometimes the dialogue was somewhat repetitive but overall you can see a lot of effort went into finding experts and giving quality, accompanying video clips.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 871 Avaliações para o Mountains 101

por Michelle O

1 de fev de 2019

Thank you for creating this fantastic course! I loved the interdisciplinary approach, and the many segments featuring experts from various areas of mountain research. Professors Hik and Robinson also did a great job of guiding through the course material. Overall I learned a great deal about mountains, which will inform my own projects going forward. I recommend this course to everyone!

por Chris S

8 de jul de 2020

This was one of the most phenomenal online courses I've ever taken. They have high engagement, production value, and information specificity. This really is a magnificent starting point for anyone interested in mountains, ecology, the outdoors, etc.; I would recommend this to just about anyone. Kudos and thanks so much for some of the most enjoyable learning I've experienced in years!

por Ricky A N

29 de jul de 2020

Excellent with a broad and well-balanced coverage of a wide scope of issues on all aspects of mountains. I thoroughly enjoyed the course. I learned much and extended my knowledge in areas already familiar to me. I also now have many additional ideas for ongoing study, research and travel related to topics covered in this course. Thank you for a rewarding and enriching experience!

por Oleg G

12 de ago de 2019

It was a fascinating journey, but also a very insightful one. I learned a lot about the great job that scientists and park employees are doing in Canada, and had thoughts of how those or similar strategies could be implemented in my native Carpathian Mountains in Ukraine. Mountains are the greatest gift of nature which we must preserve and enjoy. "Take photograps, leave footprints".

por Cynthia M

10 de abr de 2021

Really thought I knew a lot about mountains before I took this course but I learned SO much. Love how the course material was presented - it wasn't limited to geography and biodiversity, loved that cultural and inspirational elements were included. Good support comments from a variety of experts. Moved at a good pace each week. Definitely recommend this course for a broad audience.

por Christopher W

2 de fev de 2019

Mountains 101 provided a broad, interdisciplinary review of topics pertaining to mountains. The course instructors presented the material in a way that was both informative and interesting. The visual accompaniments to the lessons which depicted terminology or a biological/geological process were outstanding. I would recommend this course for anyone with an interest in mountains.

por Brian N

22 de mai de 2020

The information and its presentation were well done! From concise and digestible info from the course professors, to the awesome tech tips as well as the interactive mountain world, Mountains 101 hit just the right note. Focusing on the interdisciplinary methodology to studying ecology and mountains was insightful, and the surprise message from a guest at the finale was amazing!

por Lynne F

7 de mai de 2017

I took this for my own enjoyment. I grew up outside Edmonton and would go to Jasper/area and Wilmore Wilderness any chance I got! A family I knew as a child instilled in me their love and respect for the mountains, the plants and rocks and animals in the area. I would love this on a disc or memory stick so I could watch it all again. Thank You so much! Great presentation!

por Ron T

1 de abr de 2017

🍻Absolutely Amazing 👍👍I was worried about taking any sort of U Of A course in the past. Now after taking a step out of my comfort zone and Clicking the signup button😬 I was amazed how well the course was put together. It challenged me to think and view different perspectives at the same time I was learning tons of new and exciting things.

Thank you. Keep them coming.

Ron

por Scott M

24 de jul de 2020

Although I've lived around mountains for many years, right from the beginning of the course, and throughout the 12 weeks of lessons, I learned many things that I had never known about the environment that I love. And this is perhaps the most professionally-produced of the twenty or so Coursera courses that I have taken, including a course where I serve as a Mentor/Instructor.

por Kim S

3 de abr de 2017

Very informative and interesting course! The pictures were incredible & made it easy to stay focused and engaged....I forgot that I was on a computer :) The interviews with researchers & professionals from different universities, Parks Canada etc. were great learning tools. It opened my eyes to the amount of research being done to protect our mountains and their ecosystems.

por Paula N R

28 de ago de 2020

No saben la felicidad y el amor que siento al terminar este curso. Quiero enfocar mi maestría de Economía y Gestión del turismo en cómo el cambio climático afectará el turismo de montaña, en términos económicos y este curso me ayudó a tomar muchas ideas y pensamientos que espero aporten a tomar decisiones acordes al desarrollo sotenible. Saludos desde Colombia y Argentina.

por David G

7 de mai de 2020

The Mountains 101 course was outstanding! Both professors did an excellent job of presenting all of the material, and the guests were amazing as well. I really feel more inspired and humbled by the majesty of the world's mountains and their importance. Thanks so much for such an extraordinary class! I wish you all of the best, and continued success in your efforts.

por YuChao S

27 de mai de 2021

Fabulous course. I gained more knowledge than I initially expected. The breadth of the course covers not only mountains, but the entire ecosystem surrounding mountains and how mountains affects human settlements, cultures and even physiology. Tech tips also taught us how to prepare for hiking and how to stay safe. All in all, a very comprehensive coverage. Thank you!

por Andrew W

6 de abr de 2021

Very good presentations from all, particularly the main two. Really interesting content, thank you, and the visuals were tremendous although breathtakingly scary! I would love to visit the Canada but, until the pandemic is over, will have to make do with the UK's Snowdonia, The Lake District and The Peak District which provide exhilaration and challenge enough.

por Beng K L

6 de jun de 2020

One of the best courses I have ever taken, The combination of scenic vistas, lectures and interviews were perfect. The last interview was a surprise and brought a smile to my face. Well done to Zac and David for a world class course! I have been to Banff National Park 3 times before this course and I want to go back there again to appreciate what I have learnt!

por Courtney H

11 de nov de 2018

This course and its lectures were far more thorough than I was expecting and that was a pleasant surprise. The professors cover every imaginable topic within the concept of mountain study and do so with great diligence. I came out of this course feeling more connected to mountains and their beauty than before. Take this course- you will be thankful you did.

por G L

1 de abr de 2017

I had an exceptional time during the course. It was informative, challenging at times, always great video, and timely lessons on the state of the mountains. I appreciated the quality of the tips, the pace of the lessons, and for me, I live to spend time in the mountains. Thoroughly enjoyable. Thanks for the energy and quality program. Ciao from Nanton, AB.

por Melissa A

23 de ago de 2020

Amazing, amazing course!!! I loved how the course was designed and all the information shared on it. I also enjoyed visiting my mountain world after completing the weekly lessons. The Tech Tips are also helpful. For someone who loves the outdoors and the mountains, this is absolutely enjoyable and at the same time very knowledgeable. Highly recommended!!!

por Dinidh O

8 de abr de 2018

Extremely well produced, but more importantly the treatment of the subject matter at hand is excellent. The speakers are informative and present the material in a highly accessible manner. I truly hope that we'll see more Mountain-related courses coming from this Uni - this knowledge is helping equip me for a career defending and caring for our mountains.

por Justin H

7 de abr de 2020

Very interesting course. A lot of novel ways of presenting information. Rather than just listening to a talking head there were a lot of interesting visual materials being shown, the presenter made good use of green screen presentations. The optional maps quizzes were interesting and gave me an enhanced sense of where the specific sites are in the world.

por Angie L

16 de jul de 2019

Very structured system covering the key aspects of mountains as well as guiding me through the key mountain areas throughout the world. Useful and practical guidance on packing and outdoors activities. Would love to see some more advanced courses on practical side especially on the key knowledge and skills to keep ourselves safe and sound in the nature.

por Victoria C L

7 de jan de 2018

This class was so first-rate, words nearly fail me. Excellent pedagogical design, with practical mountain survival advice in each module, plus other special features. Pace is excellent, lots of onsite videos, wide variety of contributors, must have cost a fortune. Even an address from the PM! You must put this class into your course list right away!!

por Arnab N U

4 de mai de 2020

This course was an interesting one. It never felt boring or monotonous to me. Both the instructors were dynamic and their lectures were amazing. Learnt many things from them. Hope that, they will continue to deliver such amazing things to the curious learners like me in the coming days. Overall, this course was a full package and deserves good ratings.