Chevron Left
Voltar para The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II

The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II, Tel Aviv University

4.7
257 classificações
57 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

This course will discuss the developments in the Middle East from the early 20th century to the present. It will discuss the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. It will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that this course builds upon a previous course - The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-1/home/welcome) Learn about the history of the Middle East for a deeper understanding of current regional developments!...

Melhores avaliações

por MK

Jul 31, 2018

Excellent Course. Professor Susser does a thorough, careful job of bring the Middle East up to date to 2013 or so. Would love to see an additional week added dealing with developments up to today.

por DE

May 04, 2017

One of the very best courses available, the historical examination of continue changing in the Middle East, allows students think the pieces that derive in actual regional struggle.

Filtrar por:

56 avaliações

por Mahmoud El-Bshlawy

Aug 07, 2018

very good

por Michael Klein

Jul 31, 2018

Excellent Course. Professor Susser does a thorough, careful job of bring the Middle East up to date to 2013 or so. Would love to see an additional week added dealing with developments up to today.

por Cesar Alberto Gonzalez Zuarth

Jul 10, 2018

Excelente curso. Fácil de entender y bastante imparcial. Los felicito

por James Raskowski

Jul 04, 2018

Excellent course! Although it is very good as a stand alone course, I highly recommend that you do the first part, even if you don't care about the Ottoman Empire or the origins of the Islamist movement (and the first part is a bit more challenging, I thought -- lots to remember). There is no way to truly understand the modern Middle East without this historical context.

por Rob Wang Song

Jun 19, 2018

Prof Susser has presented a detailed case on the politics after the collapse of the Ottoman. I have learnt a lot about the conflicts and struggles in the Egyptian, Syrian & Jordanian context. This is, in my opinion, worth knowing if you would like to grasp the mirage happening in the middle east currently.

por Monica Lisker

Apr 08, 2018

Excelente curso, dictado de manera espléndida por el Dr. Susser, quien deshebra de manera clara y precisa los problemas que acontecen en el Medio Oriente. Muchas gracias al Dr. Susser por compartir sus conocimientos.

por Solomon Zoubi

Mar 14, 2018

great brief info

por Abdullah Zubair Mir

Feb 14, 2018

Both course are well organized, informative and attention catching.

por Marius Secher Pedersen

Feb 05, 2018

Both part 1 and 2 are great courses and can be recommended, to anyone who wishes for a deeper understanding of the underlying events that have led to the Middle East we see today.

por Serdar BALCI

Jan 20, 2018

It would be much informative if the lectures are in chronogical order (year wise) instead of region (country wise). I think there should be Part III as well.