Chevron Left
Voltar para De-Mystifying Mindfulness

Comentários e feedback de alunos de De-Mystifying Mindfulness da instituição Universidade de Leiden

4.8
estrelas
1,365 classificações
526 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Interest in meditation, mindfulness, and contemplation has grown exponentially in recent years. Rather than being seen as mystical practices from ancient Buddhism or esoteric philosophy, they are increasingly seen as technologies rooted in evidence from psychology and neuroscience. Mindfulness has become the basis for numerous therapeutic interventions, both as a treatment in healthcare and as a means of enhancing well-being and happiness. For millions around the world, mindfulness has become a life-style choice, enhancing and enriching everyday experience. Mindfulness is big business. But, what actually is mindfulness? Is it really good for you? Can anyone learn it? How can you recognize charlatans? Would you want to live in a mindful society, and would it smell like sandalwood? What does it feel like to be mindful? Are you mindful already, and how would you know? Evolving from the popular Honours Academy course at Leiden University, this innovative course combines conventional scholarly inquiry from multiple disciplines (ranging from psychology, through philosophy, to politics) with experiential learning (including specially designed ‘meditation labs,’ in which you’ll get chance to practice and analyze mindfulness on yourself). In the end, the course aims to provide a responsible, comprehensive, and inclusive education about (and in) mindfulness as a contemporary phenomenon. During the production of this course, we have been supported by Willem Kuyken, Director of the University of Oxford Mindfulness Centre, and Stephen Batchelor, co-founder of Bodhi College. And we gratefully acknowledge the contributions made by Mark Williams, co-developer of Mindfulness-based Cognitive Therapy (MBCT), and Rebecca Crane, Director of the Centre for Mindfulness Research and Practice at the University of Bangor. "The course enabled me to explore the mindfulness construct at its deeper lever from philosophical, psychological and political lenses. The mindfulness labs were very useful in practicing the skills of being mindful." 23 nov 2018 "i took this course after a period of time when I was trying to practice mindfulness and meditation, but with doubtful success. The course answered many questions to me, and I needed that to keep me motivated. It really helped me understand the origins and, more importantly, benefits of mindfulness practice and made me persist in my attempts. I'm really glad I took the course, I find it interesting, well taught and very useful for all those seeking deeper explanation in why trying mindfulness." 9 Oct 2018 "I have taken other courses in other online platforms. However, this has been one of the best courses I have found online." 3 Oct 2018 "I really like the invitation to us, the learners, to rethink our preconceptions and beliefs, and then make our own judgement about mindfulness. The overall tone was very friendly and open, resources very useful." 12 Dec 2017...

Melhores avaliações

SM
20 de Jul de 2020

A course that will open your mind and heart. I thoroughly enjoyed it and learnt so much about Mindfulness and how I want to incorporate it into my daily life, relationships and personality. Thank you!

AV
2 de Fev de 2020

It is such a useful and practical course. The contents, discussions, assignments and quizzes are extremely insightful. I truly enjoyed the course and awaiting a second phase of the course in future.

Filtrar por:

501 — 519 de 519 Avaliações para o De-Mystifying Mindfulness

por Bach K L

16 de Abr de 2020

A little too in depth and heavy sometimes. I missed more practical language and practices. Good in general, but sometimes I lost track and was difficult to follow the videos with full attention.

Really light assessments but interesting peer revisions.

por Sreya D

19 de Jul de 2020

The ideas shared in the course are very informative. However it is quite lengthy and becomes disengaging after a while

por Erkin K

14 de Jan de 2018

Concept and subjects very good, his stable voice and his sometimes hard English makes you sleepy

por Annie C

9 de Jul de 2020

Lots of information and clinical lectures on mindfulness as well as practices.

por Belakhdar A

25 de Abr de 2020

good but complicated

por Sally P

10 de Jul de 2020

A colon is made of two dots. Is it the top dot that implies the bottom dot, or rather the bottom dot that implies the top dot, and what if the dots are not in exact lineage above each other but a little bit apart, can that still be called a colon: well yes and no at the same time.... If you like that kind of reasoning you'll love this course. Without the written transcripts I find it extremely hard to follow the course speaker, and the reasoning all circular avoiding a clear statement. The practical exercises of meditation are much more useful.

por J-Man

15 de Out de 2019

Though it is rich with informaton, I personally found this course far less fascinating than I had initially hoped. It felt to be a stream of information that I couldn't really apply, I didn't feel like I was progressing in my scientific or meditative journey here just rehearsing lots of terminology and icons. The teacher was well spoken and easy to understand but I think the actual content of the course lost me along the way.

por Ghazi A

2 de Dez de 2016

This course could've been better by the inclusion of more examples, the lecturer is very monotonous and sadly, i see no discussion forum for this course, in addition to that, whenever i tried replying to the comments the reply button turned grey and nothing happened. I had reported to resolve the issue but nothing happened the issue persists. It could have been done much better specially the lectures. Thank you :)

por Brian P

27 de Jun de 2017

Perhaps I was expecting that focused more on practice than history, but this involved too much Sanskrit vocabulary and eastern religion for me. I'm dropping out.

por Tanya C

24 de Out de 2016

The course was hard to follow and understand.

por GK

18 de Jul de 2017

seems incomplete

por Somesh N

19 de Mai de 2020

Didn't teach anything even after spending an entire hour on the course. All I did was answer surveys and discussions. Video content is stretched out and circles around the topic instead of discussing the topic. Got tired after the first ninety minutes. You are better off practicing meditation than waste time on this course. Do not recommend at all. Watch movies or tv shows instead.

por Salma F

14 de Ago de 2020

I got bored in the first weeK. This course Discusses mindfulness in a very academic way. This a lot of information about mindfulness but not much on how to practice it. there are some meditation labs which honestly I think were the only useful things in this course.

por Javier O

19 de Abr de 2020

This course rapidly turns into metrics, most students that continue reaching me are avid for assess the experience of mindful practices rather than practicing mindfulness.

por Jacob N

26 de Jun de 2020

Warning!

If you sign up for this class they will send you emails promoting their politics even if you request not to get messages from Leiden University.

por Gilian R H

16 de Mar de 2017

I did not enjoy how this course was taught. It was confusing and hard to understand the professor did not go at a pace i found helpful.

por Komal A

30 de Dez de 2017

Course content can be improved. Didn't find it interesting or got knowledge on the topic

por Rodrigo W

5 de Out de 2018

I cancelled the course in week 2. Ratio of content and words was too low for me.

por Hajira F

7 de Ago de 2020

very bad, i tried to un-enroll, it wont let me