Chevron Left
Voltar para De-Mystifying Mindfulness

Comentários e feedback de alunos de De-Mystifying Mindfulness da instituição Universidade de Leiden

4.8
estrelas
1,306 classificações
495 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Interest in meditation, mindfulness, and contemplation has grown exponentially in recent years. Rather than being seen as mystical practices from ancient Buddhism or esoteric philosophy, they are increasingly seen as technologies rooted in evidence from psychology and neuroscience. Mindfulness has become the basis for numerous therapeutic interventions, both as a treatment in healthcare and as a means of enhancing well-being and happiness. For millions around the world, mindfulness has become a life-style choice, enhancing and enriching everyday experience. Mindfulness is big business. But, what actually is mindfulness? Is it really good for you? Can anyone learn it? How can you recognize charlatans? Would you want to live in a mindful society, and would it smell like sandalwood? What does it feel like to be mindful? Are you mindful already, and how would you know? Evolving from the popular Honours Academy course at Leiden University, this innovative course combines conventional scholarly inquiry from multiple disciplines (ranging from psychology, through philosophy, to politics) with experiential learning (including specially designed ‘meditation labs,’ in which you’ll get chance to practice and analyze mindfulness on yourself). In the end, the course aims to provide a responsible, comprehensive, and inclusive education about (and in) mindfulness as a contemporary phenomenon. During the production of this course, we have been supported by Willem Kuyken, Director of the University of Oxford Mindfulness Centre, and Stephen Batchelor, co-founder of Bodhi College. And we gratefully acknowledge the contributions made by Mark Williams, co-developer of Mindfulness-based Cognitive Therapy (MBCT), and Rebecca Crane, Director of the Centre for Mindfulness Research and Practice at the University of Bangor. "The course enabled me to explore the mindfulness construct at its deeper lever from philosophical, psychological and political lenses. The mindfulness labs were very useful in practicing the skills of being mindful." 23 nov 2018 "i took this course after a period of time when I was trying to practice mindfulness and meditation, but with doubtful success. The course answered many questions to me, and I needed that to keep me motivated. It really helped me understand the origins and, more importantly, benefits of mindfulness practice and made me persist in my attempts. I'm really glad I took the course, I find it interesting, well taught and very useful for all those seeking deeper explanation in why trying mindfulness." 9 Oct 2018 "I have taken other courses in other online platforms. However, this has been one of the best courses I have found online." 3 Oct 2018 "I really like the invitation to us, the learners, to rethink our preconceptions and beliefs, and then make our own judgement about mindfulness. The overall tone was very friendly and open, resources very useful." 12 Dec 2017...

Melhores avaliações

SM
20 de Jul de 2020

A course that will open your mind and heart. I thoroughly enjoyed it and learnt so much about Mindfulness and how I want to incorporate it into my daily life, relationships and personality. Thank you!

AL
1 de Nov de 2017

Awesome!\n\nLots of valuable theory, which includes uncovering fears and doubts. And the most important: practice. You can learn meditation here, and truly understand why the hell it's so important.

Filtrar por:

476 — 488 de 488 Avaliações para o De-Mystifying Mindfulness

por Ghazi A

2 de Dez de 2016

This course could've been better by the inclusion of more examples, the lecturer is very monotonous and sadly, i see no discussion forum for this course, in addition to that, whenever i tried replying to the comments the reply button turned grey and nothing happened. I had reported to resolve the issue but nothing happened the issue persists. It could have been done much better specially the lectures. Thank you :)

por Brian P

27 de Jun de 2017

Perhaps I was expecting that focused more on practice than history, but this involved too much Sanskrit vocabulary and eastern religion for me. I'm dropping out.

por Peter W

20 de Jul de 2020

Was searching for a more academic perspective on mindfulness and meditation. This is more of a western history and perspective summary.

por Tanya C

24 de Out de 2016

The course was hard to follow and understand.

por GK

18 de Jul de 2017

seems incomplete

por Somesh N

19 de Mai de 2020

Didn't teach anything even after spending an entire hour on the course. All I did was answer surveys and discussions. Video content is stretched out and circles around the topic instead of discussing the topic. Got tired after the first ninety minutes. You are better off practicing meditation than waste time on this course. Do not recommend at all. Watch movies or tv shows instead.

por Salma F

14 de Ago de 2020

I got bored in the first weeK. This course Discusses mindfulness in a very academic way. This a lot of information about mindfulness but not much on how to practice it. there are some meditation labs which honestly I think were the only useful things in this course.

por Javier O

19 de Abr de 2020

This course rapidly turns into metrics, most students that continue reaching me are avid for assess the experience of mindful practices rather than practicing mindfulness.

por Jacob N

26 de Jun de 2020

Warning!

If you sign up for this class they will send you emails promoting their politics even if you request not to get messages from Leiden University.

por Gilian R H

16 de Mar de 2017

I did not enjoy how this course was taught. It was confusing and hard to understand the professor did not go at a pace i found helpful.

por Komal A

30 de Dez de 2017

Course content can be improved. Didn't find it interesting or got knowledge on the topic

por Rodrigo W

5 de Out de 2018

I cancelled the course in week 2. Ratio of content and words was too low for me.

por Hajira F

7 de Ago de 2020

very bad, i tried to un-enroll, it wont let me