Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

Introduction to Mathematical Thinking, Stanford University

4.8
1,206 classificações
277 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

Learn how to think the way mathematicians do – a powerful cognitive process developed over thousands of years. Mathematical thinking is not the same as doing mathematics – at least not as mathematics is typically presented in our school system. School math typically focuses on learning procedures to solve highly stereotyped problems. Professional mathematicians think a certain way to solve real problems, problems that can arise from the everyday world, or from science, or from within mathematics itself. The key to success in school math is to learn to think inside-the-box. In contrast, a key feature of mathematical thinking is thinking outside-the-box – a valuable ability in today’s world. This course helps to develop that crucial way of thinking....

Melhores avaliações

por NR

Mar 05, 2018

An awesome course. Very easy to follow at the start, becomes more challenging at the end. I have a PhD in economics yet I struggled with the real analysis at the end. And that's just intro level! :-D

por MF

Aug 26, 2017

Great course, it's really shows the way how to think in mathematical rigor. It gave me an intuition about what Mathematics is itself.\n\nThank you Profesor Keith Devlin, you are a great teacher !

Filtrar por:

262 avaliações

por m.urban

Dec 10, 2018

I'm sure that I will come back to this course! Thank you very much Profesor Devlin! You are a great teacher! Greeteing from Poland!

por CHEN NI

Dec 02, 2018

Really nice course, with many insightful and inspiring point. However, this course should be marked as "beginners" because it's too easy...

por Jordi aixela

Nov 29, 2018

This is a fantastic introduction to the world of college-level math. Recommended to HS students, social science majors who are quite analytical, and maybe even some STEM freshmen. While it takes considerable effort to follow the course and assignments, it's quite a learning experience, and I with I had taken it earlier in my life.

por arif hossain

Nov 19, 2018

this is very nice course , i learn new think about math and learning. And awesome teacher .

por M

Nov 18, 2018

It is a great course. It is deep and critical.

por Jessica Moll

Nov 08, 2018

I found this course extremely helpful

por Edwin Casper van Eersel

Nov 03, 2018

Excellent course. Many important mathematical concepts are covered during the course, such as proof techniques, quantifier handling, logical and mathematical thinking and objectively assessing other people’s work. The pace of the lectures as well as the variety of topics is good. The final chapter might be a little out of some students’ comfort zone, especially since the prof takes a deep dive quite quickly, but remains interesting nevertheless. Highly recommended.

por 古川阳

Oct 27, 2018

棒得超乎我的想象!

por Sean Hoade

Oct 23, 2018

Dr. Devlin is a wonder.

por Hữu Đạt

Oct 19, 2018

nice