Chevron Left
Voltar para Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Preparing to Manage Human Resources da instituição Universidade de MinnesotaUniversidade de Minnesota

4.8
estrelas
4,216 classificações
1,164 avaliações

Sobre o curso

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Melhores avaliações

MG

Mar 21, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

MV

Jan 15, 2019

This course has an outstanding wealth of information for new people entering the Human Resources arena. I also recommend it to others that want to brush up on knowledge and skills of the HR industry.

Filtrar por:

1001 — 1025 de 1,154 Avaliações para o Preparing to Manage Human Resources

por oliviaasoto@gmail.com

Feb 24, 2019

G

por Lucia T

May 10, 2018

I

por Loriana S M

Mar 10, 2018

v

por SUANN M

Sep 01, 2017

E

por Maria J

Aug 29, 2017

T

por Silvia A G

May 01, 2016

E

por Daniel B

Apr 18, 2020

The information contained is excellent and I have already learned a lot. However, many questions on quizzes of this course are poorly phrased, causing confusion where clarity would be better. The worst part was actually in the peer review, the grading system was laid out in a way which does not allow you to pass without a perfect score, but this is not indicated. Therefore, people who liked a paper I wrote accidentally did not pass my document based on this fact. It's a shame that the mechanics of the course slowed the pace and made it harder to pass when the instructor is clearly very intelligent and qualified, and provided so much good information. I love the way the information was tied into history and other relevant things as well, being a history buff myself. I do recommend the course, but I would hope that it could be improved mechanically from the user end.

por Dr. T R

Feb 25, 2017

Very Good course.

Very Good course.

In my view some needed additions to be excellent. Summaries of the important issues in each lecture video can be introduced might be in a form of Power Point Presentation. This will highlight the main topics. This can be done for each video, each lesson and each module.

Prof. Dr. John Budd have already made these summaries and conclusions during his video lectures, but it is not easy to retrieve when you are searching about some specific subject. You have to here again a group of videos to find what you need.

por Silvia M

Jul 14, 2018

I like it very much, enjoying doing the task required and review some video several times to be sure that I well understood. I didn't like the law part, even if I can understand why it is necessary, focusing on US laws in a open worldwide on line course is kind of useless, because a lot of people aren't probably from the US. I wish that time were more focusing on giving us practical example on HR practises.

por Nez

Jan 30, 2019

It's understanding Human Resource in a whole new light. One thing I learned is that all managers who manage people are in effect Human Resource managers and this role is not just limited to the set of staff computing our salaries or creating engagement activities to promote work motivations (pencil pushing). It's also great to know how to determine and handle different motivations of people to work.

por riya k

Feb 22, 2019

hi

this course was great insight

I would loved it more in case studies and other actual to do projects could have been a part of it instead of just reading the said blogs or writing the quiz.

also m still not able to find my certificate though I have completed the course within 2-3 weeks. please help me out in this manner.

por Punnya S

Sep 23, 2019

Very good course. The information shared is very valuable to me as a junior manager. Learned lot of new techniques which can be used in my daily managerial work. The course structure and the presentation is very well. It would be nice if the course materials can be downloaded separately for future reference. Thank you.

por JOVIN J

Mar 07, 2019

The coursera course in Preparing to Manage Human Resources has provided me an opportunity to understand the economicals aspect of work and will help to boost my HR related competencies. The flexibility offered by Coursera courses is really a boon for anyone looking to upgrade their individual skill sets to next level.

por Erik B

Jun 16, 2016

Parts of this were really interesting. Ideas around high / low strategy and ensuring alignment between HR and organizational strategy and culture were important reminders. He jumped over a few important areas that may have added more value, such as employment law and managing to the law.

por A.A. T K

Jun 02, 2020

This course was a great opportunity for me, to have a good understanding about managing people. Teaching method is user friendly. I must thankful to the university of minnesota , for providing this kind of courses. Looking ahead to follow the othercourses in this specialization also.

por Jean A

Feb 07, 2020

Great course, with a lot of information packed into a short course. Well worth it and the time spent on the course kept me active and engaged. Professor Budd is great, with his humour, videos, illustrations and readings from his blog all adding to a great learning opportunity.

por Alyssa T

May 12, 2020

I found this to be a very helpful course. At times, it was a bit cut and dry, but that might be the nature of the material. Dr. Budd is hilarious and clearly passionate about HR! I appreciated how he brought in HR leaders from the private sector to speak to their experiences.

por Erika S

Feb 24, 2019

A great foundational course to set you up for more specific topics. A lot of interaction through discussion prompts and peer-review assignments. Videos have moments of disjointedness, but easily to look past (sorry Mr Budd!). Very excited for this specialization program!

por Frank

Aug 19, 2019

A well structured course which lays the foundation for further study. The insight provided and the presentation style were appropriate and well delivered.

However while understandable the excessive focus on the USA perspective this was not a helpful aspect.

por SUMIT B

Jul 10, 2020

this course is very helpful.I learned about what drives the employees at work and how to motivate them as people managers.this caught how to be become good people managers.i am very thankful to faculty and others who made this course possible.

por sanchita

Jul 08, 2020

A great course that developed my understanding of HR .The role of Hr in any organization and their responsibilities. Loved the way taught with so much fun and humor. This course is very beneficial for people thinking to pursue a career in HR

por Muhammad M H

Jun 16, 2020

I've learned so many fundamental HR-related things from this course. Its kinda recall type course for those who completed their graduation concentration in HRM. Thanks, Coursera and the University of Minnesota.

por Alexey S

Jan 08, 2018

Everything was just excellent!! I would be looking forward to have more additional reading tasks that that help see plactical applications of theoretical material. Thank you very much for a great course!

por Nagaraj V

Jun 05, 2020

Great course. I found it to have an excellent pedagogical structure with well researched material and relevant, detailed examples for each concept! The pace of the course could have been tightened a bit.

por Николай Б

Jul 01, 2017

Interesting but very academic and generalistic course. You should have it before the other courses of specialization but keep going becouse it's very hard to apply this course at work by it self.