Chevron Left
Voltar para Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Preparing to Manage Human Resources da instituição Universidade de MinnesotaUniversidade de Minnesota

4.8
estrelas
2,613 classificações
678 avaliações

Sobre o curso

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Melhores avaliações

MG

Mar 21, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

MV

Jan 15, 2019

This course has an outstanding wealth of information for new people entering the Human Resources arena. I also recommend it to others that want to brush up on knowledge and skills of the HR industry.

Filtrar por:

576 — 600 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Preparing to Manage Human Resources

por Erik B

Jun 16, 2016

Parts of this were really interesting. Ideas around high / low strategy and ensuring alignment between HR and organizational strategy and culture were important reminders. He jumped over a few important areas that may have added more value, such as employment law and managing to the law.

por Jean A

Feb 07, 2020

Great course, with a lot of information packed into a short course. Well worth it and the time spent on the course kept me active and engaged. Professor Budd is great, with his humour, videos, illustrations and readings from his blog all adding to a great learning opportunity.

por Erika S

Feb 24, 2019

A great foundational course to set you up for more specific topics. A lot of interaction through discussion prompts and peer-review assignments. Videos have moments of disjointedness, but easily to look past (sorry Mr Budd!). Very excited for this specialization program!

por Frank

Aug 19, 2019

A well structured course which lays the foundation for further study. The insight provided and the presentation style were appropriate and well delivered.

However while understandable the excessive focus on the USA perspective this was not a helpful aspect.

por Alexey S

Jan 08, 2018

Everything was just excellent!! I would be looking forward to have more additional reading tasks that that help see plactical applications of theoretical material. Thank you very much for a great course!

por Николай Б

Jul 01, 2017

Interesting but very academic and generalistic course. You should have it before the other courses of specialization but keep going becouse it's very hard to apply this course at work by it self.

por Victoria S

Feb 20, 2017

A lot of very useful skills to be applied in the workplace. A wide scope of HR responsibilities and examples to achieve them.

Only issue I had was the inconsistency of grading from peers.

por Shukla A N

Aug 16, 2018

Course is good. Gives nice theoretical insights. Giving 4 star as I was expecting to learn some corporate / consultant framework and dashboards and actual applicability of the concepts.

por Kayla F

Nov 05, 2019

I personally struggled with the U.S Laws because it didn't include my country so I didn't find it relevant but either way it's good to have insight on what happens in other countries

por Konstantina T

Jun 02, 2018

very helpful course and the teacher was very clear. if I can find a drawback, this will be the fact that most of the course is related with the US laws and regulatuions.

por abiodun o

Jul 18, 2017

very very informative and the facilitator really made it look simple. i appreciate this opportunity to learn something new, it is of great value to my knowledge base

por Ricardo J O

Feb 18, 2016

Overall good course. I would appreciate if the slides could've been provided. Also some external resources to further study of the topics covered would add value.

por AlexU

Oct 15, 2017

Very good introduction to the topic. During the line drawing descriptions, it might have been good to incorporate even more discussion on each specific topic.

por Sheila M

Dec 06, 2018

This course was very informative. The more theoretical parts were went over very quickly and It would have been nice if there had been more detail.

por Huda A

Sep 22, 2019

I like the course, I have finished it in a short period of time , even the instructor's teaching is very simple and way easy to understand the HRM

por Ahmad A S

Sep 23, 2019

it's a good a good course in general, it gave you a general idea about human capital management and different management styles. It also brief

por shivam M

Oct 19, 2019

This course is one of the best course , as it will give you fundamental and basic knowledge about Human resources and it's management.

por Ina d O

Nov 02, 2017

Nice course, although the main focus is on the U.S.. It gets interesting after the first week. (first week is a lot about history)

por Maria C

Mar 17, 2016

The proper course for me! My instructor knows to teach and he helps me to understand what is Human Resources. Thank you!

por MIGANOUSH M

Oct 13, 2017

This is a good course especially if you are new to managing people and want to get an understanding what is HR all about.

por Oluwatobi I

Nov 14, 2018

This is a great course and I have learnt a great deal, I definitely want to take other courses in this specialization

por Gillian G

Mar 21, 2016

A very solid intro to how to think about HR, managing, and strategy - very broad, but well-explained and manageable!

por lupu f m

Mar 28, 2016

Very helpful curse for people who want to discover HR World and for people who want to learn more about HR.

por Ojo B

Aug 06, 2018

This course has actually improved improved me and I have decided to learn and relearn from the materials