Chevron Left
Voltar para Luther and the West

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Luther and the West da instituição Universidade Northwestern

4.6
estrelas
89 classificações
29 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course we will discuss the history of some ideas that have been hugely influential in the modern west and that were taken out to the rest of the world. The discussion centers on an extraordinary and historically important figure, a sixteenth century German man named Martin Luther. Luther is recognized today as the originator of many of the most significant ideas that continue to affect and shape who we as modern people are and how we see the world and ourselves for better and for worse. In the first section, we will explore why Luther thought the Bible was the most important volume for everyone to have and read. Included here will be a careful consideration of Luther's anti-Judaism, which contributed to western antisemitism and some of the greatest horrors of the twentieth century. In the second section, we will talk about the idea of freedom and how Luther's understanding of freedom in Christ affected the way modern thinkers understood what it means to be human in community. Important in this section is the consequential contradiction between freedom and slavery in western thought and their co-existence in western societies. The third section will be all about the many complicated relations between religion and politics. NOTE: Students wishing to sign up for free access to all instructional course content should click on the "Sign-In" button in the upper right hand corner. Those who wish to take the course and complete a certificate that requires payment, please click the Enroll button on the left side of this page....

Melhores avaliações

HS
2 de Nov de 2017

This is a well-planned course that I learned a whole lot from. I was curious about Luther and church history to begin with, and this course satisfied that curiosity.

RB
18 de Jan de 2021

Excellent course covering the complete historical, political, and spiritual development of Martin Luther and his influence on Western intellectual thought.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 28 Avaliações para o Luther and the West

por Robert H

16 de Jun de 2017

I was puzzled by the course at first: the 4-minute lectures, one question quizzes, and initial focus on Nazi use of Luther's antisemitism. But I soon caught the drift of the course's peripateticism: the various historical and doctrinal issues, links to Spinoza, Kant and King, the terrific Luther readings (now I see why the nuns in grammar school warned us against reading anything by Martin Luther) and the many excellent encyclopedia entries (skimmed)--all put Luther and the Reformation in historical and contemporary context. Good job. The 3 paragraph essay was also an excellent teaching device. You asked, 'Do you understand Luther's concept of freedom?' and I had to admit I was befuddled. So the essay and grading others' was spot on. Thanks. Bob Huberty (I met you at the CUNY conference. I was with David Lott, formerly of Fortress Press.)

por Jp C

9 de Nov de 2016

This course was not overly interesting, it felt more like listening to someone wanting to paint everything with a socialist brush. I had better things to do. This has not been a class where I learned much. Its structure of super short videos (~4mins) with easy "tests" was neither challenging nor useful to confirm the value of the content, in fact a number of tests quiz you on material not yet covered (usually in the next unit). Not the best class there is.

por Tona M

20 de Mar de 2018

This course is well organized and thought-provoking, with very short lectures (around 4 min. or so) and lots of supporting materials, much of them Luther's own writings! Dr. Helmer's analysis of Martin Luther in his own time and cultural context would be reason enough to take her course. What follows, from Melanchthon to Kant to Martin Luther King, Jr. and beyond brings the echoes of the hammer blows to the Wittenberg door into sharp focus as they resound today. Anyone who lives in the " Western World" should take this course as a foundation for considering religion, race relations, civil rights, political realities or philosophical constructs active today.

por Michael P

6 de Fev de 2020

Great course. Gives great insight into the person and beliefs of Martin Luther as well as the effects of his ideas on the Western World. I very much enjoyed having access to so much of Luther's writings. Additionally, the 2003 movie "Luther" was fantastic. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in the Reformation, Western Civilization, or the study of freedom.

por Paula P E

5 de Jul de 2017

This is an excellent course. Not only it is a very clear and complete introduction to Luther and his times, but also includes a couple of units on the reception of his thought, both in I. Kant and M. Luther King. I thoroughly enjoyed Professor Helmer's lessons and learnt a lot from them.

por Anne H

1 de Set de 2017

Quick, useful overview, even if you've read about this time in history before. The peer-graded writing assignment also helped me articulate what I learned from this course. Highly recommended for anyone, especially those living in the Western world.

por Ying X

27 de Mar de 2017

very packed course....full of very dense information in the reading....the reading load is very heavy, especially for the first two weeks......it's more like two months...... but the assignment is very moderate.....just one....

por Claudia M

22 de Mai de 2020

The course is extremely informative and I appreciated, above all, the continuous links between Luther's theology and its implications for social, economic and political choices in our contemporary world.

por Hank S

3 de Nov de 2017

This is a well-planned course that I learned a whole lot from. I was curious about Luther and church history to begin with, and this course satisfied that curiosity.

por Randall B

19 de Jan de 2021

Excellent course covering the complete historical, political, and spiritual development of Martin Luther and his influence on Western intellectual thought.

por Greg M

26 de Mar de 2017

I really enjoyed the course, and think it is very well thought out and paced. I appreciate the access to additional reading materials.

por Vladislav L

22 de Dez de 2016

Christine Helmer's classes opened me a whole new, rich and very useful world of Martin Luther. Great course. Thank you!

por Rafa M

27 de Mai de 2017

The course is not only amazing, but also interesting, because of the matters it treats and the things it brings along.

por Max M

26 de Jul de 2017

I loved this class. I learned a lot, became a better person, and have cited it a couple times in other classes.

por William M

15 de Ago de 2017

Very good and well-presented introduction to the works of Luther and to his impact.

por Joy S

14 de Nov de 2016

Very interesting class. Very well presented. Enjoyed it and got good information.

por Eleazar V A

2 de Nov de 2019

Un curso extraordinario que amplía la óptica de la religión. ¡Muchas gracias!

por Lisa C

7 de Jul de 2020

I

r

e

a

l

l

y

e

n

j

o

y

e

d

t

h

I

s

c

o

u

r

s

e

t

o

g

e

t

m

o

r

e

I

n

f

o

t

m

a

t

I

o

n

o

n

M

a

r

t

I

n

L

u

t

h

e

r

p

r

I

o

r

t

o

m

y

e

n

r

o

l

l

m

e

n

por JOHN Q

24 de Jan de 2017

Fun and interesting course. I was exposed to info all new to me. Thanks.

por Melchisedec S

2 de Nov de 2020

Excellent course, Perfect for one who studies the Bible.

por FRANK A

10 de Out de 2020

AN EXCELLENT COURSE.

por Linda H

13 de Ago de 2019

An excellent course!

por Mauricio Q

17 de Mai de 2020

excellent !!!

por Vivian-Rose G

8 de Dez de 2019

I think this is a very good cours. I learned a lot of details about Luther and his influence on the european history and culture. The only thing that I regret is the lack of response to questions. Maybe this is du to a reduced noumber of participants at this last serie. Good luck for future courses.

por Brian V H

17 de Mar de 2021

The only criticism that I have - the importance of the printing press was perhaps under-valued. In my opinion without the printing press Luther would be unknown and the reformation would not have happened at that time.