Chevron Left
Voltar para Luther and the West

Luther and the West, Northwestern University

4.5
59 classificações
17 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

In this course we will discuss the history of some ideas that have been hugely influential in the modern west and that were taken out to the rest of the world. The discussion centers on an extraordinary and historically important figure, a sixteenth century German man named Martin Luther. Luther is recognized today as the originator of many of the most significant ideas that continue to affect and shape who we as modern people are and how we see the world and ourselves for better and for worse. In the first section, we will explore why Luther thought the Bible was the most important volume for everyone to have and read. Included here will be a careful consideration of Luther's anti-Judaism, which contributed to western antisemitism and some of the greatest horrors of the twentieth century. In the second section, we will talk about the idea of freedom and how Luther's understanding of freedom in Christ affected the way modern thinkers understood what it means to be human in community. Important in this section is the consequential contradiction between freedom and slavery in western thought and their co-existence in western societies. The third section will be all about the many complicated relations between religion and politics. NOTE: Students wishing to sign up for free access to all instructional course content should click on the "Sign-In" button in the upper right hand corner. Those who wish to take the course and complete a certificate that requires payment, please click the Enroll button on the left side of this page....

Melhores avaliações

por HS

Nov 03, 2017

This is a well-planned course that I learned a whole lot from. I was curious about Luther and church history to begin with, and this course satisfied that curiosity.

por GM

Mar 27, 2017

I really enjoyed the course, and think it is very well thought out and paced. I appreciate the access to additional reading materials.

Filtrar por:

17 avaliações

por Vannan Roden

May 22, 2018

With looking up the different topics on YouTube, I found this class a great overview and basics. Very straight forward basic class touching the basics.

por Tona Morales-Calkins

Mar 20, 2018

This course is well organized and thought-provoking, with very short lectures (around 4 min. or so) and lots of supporting materials, much of them Luther's own writings! Dr. Helmer's analysis of Martin Luther in his own time and cultural context would be reason enough to take her course. What follows, from Melanchthon to Kant to Martin Luther King, Jr. and beyond brings the echoes of the hammer blows to the Wittenberg door into sharp focus as they resound today. Anyone who lives in the " Western World" should take this course as a foundation for considering religion, race relations, civil rights, political realities or philosophical constructs active today.

por Hank Selzer

Nov 03, 2017

This is a well-planned course that I learned a whole lot from. I was curious about Luther and church history to begin with, and this course satisfied that curiosity.

por Anne Harwell

Sep 01, 2017

Quick, useful overview, even if you've read about this time in history before. The peer-graded writing assignment also helped me articulate what I learned from this course. Highly recommended for anyone, especially those living in the Western world.

por William Myer

Aug 16, 2017

Very good and well-presented introduction to the works of Luther and to his impact.

por Julian Maxwell

Jul 26, 2017

I loved this class. I learned a lot, became a better person, and have cited it a couple times in other classes.

por Paula Pico Estrada

Jul 05, 2017

This is an excellent course. Not only it is a very clear and complete introduction to Luther and his times, but also includes a couple of units on the reception of his thought, both in I. Kant and M. Luther King. I thoroughly enjoyed Professor Helmer's lessons and learnt a lot from them.

por Robert Huberty

Jun 16, 2017

I was puzzled by the course at first: the 4-minute lectures, one question quizzes, and initial focus on Nazi use of Luther's antisemitism. But I soon caught the drift of the course's peripateticism: the various historical and doctrinal issues, links to Spinoza, Kant and King, the terrific Luther readings (now I see why the nuns in grammar school warned us against reading anything by Martin Luther) and the many excellent encyclopedia entries (skimmed)--all put Luther and the Reformation in historical and contemporary context. Good job. The 3 paragraph essay was also an excellent teaching device. You asked, 'Do you understand Luther's concept of freedom?' and I had to admit I was befuddled. So the essay and grading others' was spot on. Thanks. Bob Huberty (I met you at the CUNY conference. I was with David Lott, formerly of Fortress Press.)

por Rafael Moreno

May 27, 2017

The course is not only amazing, but also interesting, because of the matters it treats and the things it brings along.

por Olaf Dufey

Apr 01, 2017

I think this was a very interesting and informative course, although the lessons could have been a little bit longer! I do recommend this course strongly