Chevron Left
Voltar para Ensine inglês agora! Teorias da aquisição de uma segunda língua

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ensine inglês agora! Teorias da aquisição de uma segunda língua da instituição Universidade do Estado do Arizona

4.9
estrelas
6,259 classificações

Sobre o curso

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
Destaques
Applicable teachings

(121 avaliações)

Creatively designed course

(270 avaliações)

Melhores avaliações

AA

21 de jun de 2021

Interesting courses! I am learning a lot. Thank you very much Coursera. I have just completed course 2 and been delivered a certificate but I just can't access my new course. What should I do, please?

NZ

10 de jun de 2018

I'm really enjoying this course. I'm about half way through. I'm looking forrward to how the various courses in this series take me farther and farther into language learning theories and techniques.

Filtrar por:

1751 — 1775 de 1,861 Avaliações para o Ensine inglês agora! Teorias da aquisição de uma segunda língua

por Kristine

4 de abr de 2020

I thought the second course attempted to get a bit more creative with the videos. Yes, they're silly, but silly is more memorable, and it's a good example of how we as teachers can make the classroom more fun. The quizzes were actually challenging and the content was interesting. Some things that need to be fixed: when you miss a question on the quiz, it doesn't tell you the correct answer. And the peer graded assignments are still lacking rigor. Looking forward to the rest of the certificate.

por Ahmed N Z E

27 de dez de 2021

I never give five-star ratings because I believe there's always room for improvement, as I'm sure Shane and Jessica would wholeheartedly agree (: having said so, I must say, they've both left not much room for improvement; this course has been an absolutely delightful treat filled with much light-hearted joy - prime example of proper Edutainment - Shane's caricatures are hilarious and Jessica's smile and positive energy are so contagious :D very happy to be educated by them

por Bruce R

26 de mai de 2016

i found it entertaining and informative. It leaves room for discussion but has given me a non ESL teacher an interesting insight into the theories of Language Acquisition.

I am interested in the way one Teaching Discipline takes knowledge from another, repacks it and sells it under their School of Teaching in almost the same way the despicable H.R. industry relaunches every few years.

In summary a good section of the course well presented but i hate "Tests or Exams" :-(

por Kseniia S

3 de out de 2016

to me as a total newby in the topic the content was really interesting

however, its presentation. well. I truly thank the teachers for bringing together the review of all the approaches. but the manner of presentation was so artificial I couldn't help thinking just - when will the real learning begin? without all the silly role plays?

again, thanks, I tearned a lot from the course. but I did also struggle through it because of the teachers' manner of presentation

por Natalia G

10 de dez de 2016

Much more useful than the first course. It was very interesting to see that methodology has a different approaach according to the purpose of the class that is not necessarily communication. Great experience Although I think that the questions for peer revision are so general aand vague that one is almost forced to give a good grade even if the assignment is just a re-telling of what was presented on the video, sometimes even word by word.

por Daniel Z

29 de mar de 2021

The transcripts for each video should be corrected and rewritten. There are misspelled words and incomplete sentences. The transcriber misheard many of the words.

All in all, I enjoyed the classes, videos and effort each instructor invested in the preparation of the material. I would like to mentor students and had submitted an application. I am waiting for a reply.

My plan is to complete the TESOL Certificate Course.

Thank you.

Dan Zimmerman

por Toyia B

27 de ago de 2019

Outside of all the technological issues I have been experiencing when trying to view the videos, I have still been able to thoroughly enjoy my course. I do not have a formal background in ESL, but I am definitely acquiring the technical skills that will enhance my skill set. Keep doing what you are doing. Oh and I love how you incorporated your dreams into your profession. You never gave up! Commendable!

por noura_albudaiwi@yahoo.com

16 de jan de 2016

It would really been helpful if you provided some readings for each approach. I could do outside readings but as you know you can find lots of readings which might be not useful for a beginner.

The final test was not close by to being easy even though I did study. Thank you for that and that's a good job giving us a challenge to look forward to.

por Michael J S

28 de jan de 2016

It seems staff do not monitor, or address, issues posted repeatedly to the forum, especially in regards to the final test (part 2 of the specialty). The content of the course is great, and if someone with the authority to make changes when errors are detected and reported did care for the course I would have have rated the course higher.

por Huế N

12 de ago de 2021

Thank profressionals and modarators for designing this course. I appreciate your time and determination. Thanks for your help, I can gain the deep insight into 8 teaching approach in different periods. Therefore, I know how to address my main students and the purpose of teaching in order to pick up suitable methods to conduct classroom!

por Alex A J

4 de mar de 2021

It is an easy overview of the different approaches to teaching language. But it is just an overview with a very superficial breakdown of the techniques used in each approach. For future courses in this specialization, I would love to see how to apply all relevant techniques, individually and in tandem. Dr Dixon is a very good presenter.

por Toàn (

5 de mar de 2022

Thanks Dr. Shane Dixon for your dedication and Jessica Cinco for your beauty and enthusiasism. I have been upgraded from this course. Learning ESL history in the course gave me a better awareness of how learning and teaching ESL are happening around me. And more importantly, I can see my insight teaching style deeper.

por Victor N

5 de jul de 2020

Dr. Dixon and his side-kick Cinco delivered a full history of Second Language Acquisition. I learned a lot more than at my previous university courses. I feel now better prepared for teaching second languages. There is room though to improve the student submissions at the end of each lesson.

por jiyoung J

15 de jun de 2020

I really like the professor Shane, and I was into his action. I can feel passion to teach well and convey the theory well to students.

However, it was sorry that I can't upload Video or audio file when I submit the assignment.

The first part of this course, I could upload Video file.

por Gehad M

26 de jul de 2020

I would love to thank the content creators of this course. it helped me alot to know how the teachers before us dealt with their students, and how they look at the language teaching. It also gave me ideas for classroom activities that i can apply from each approach.

por Fatina

5 de mar de 2017

amazing course.

Thank you.

Now I each time I want to remember any of the approaches, I will remember the video attached to it and quickly remember the main features of each approach. This was quite challenging to me over the years. Thank you for making it possible.

por Dimitris K

10 de fev de 2016

Dr. Dixon really knows how to teach stuff. Excellent.

The reason I give it 4 stars is because it could give us some real examples of in-class applications of all the useful techniques taught. It would really help us enrich our inventory of teaching techniques.

por Sergio J B

4 de abr de 2016

As non-education major, presenting the approaches using a historical timeline is helpful. This way, it was easier to see the weakness of each approach although it could get quite confusing at times because a few approaches have significant overlaps.

por Johan H

24 de jan de 2019

Thank you for the insights - it will certainly make me a better English language teacher. This is also foundational and a requirement before we are "let loose" on students.

(And some fine acting there Dr Dixon - I thoroughly enjoyed your work! :)

por Megan E C

17 de jul de 2020

I would have liked more readings from peer-reviewed publications, and the videos were a bit annoying. However, I read the transcripts instead of listening, and this was solid information that I will apply to my teaching. Fascinating material!

por Erick L

28 de set de 2016

The course is well done and will definitely serve many teachers who would want to draw from history and gain some tested approaches to teaching English. The teaching method can be not so academic but for many people, this perhaps serves best.

por Nelson A R A

14 de set de 2016

Great for new teachers as it gives them the fundamentals of langauge learning theory. Also very good memory refresher and knowledge connector for experience teachers as it is well summarized and integrated presentation of such theories .

por Susan D

7 de jun de 2017

Loved it!

Although the characterizations really helped me to retain a lot of the information easily, I personally found that they went on for a bit too long sometimes. However, great course and method of teaching all around.

por Eugenia V

10 de fev de 2016

Very informative course. It helped me to get a systematic view on SLE theories. Yet I wish the course was a bit longer and less dense, for the lack of a better word. Too much information was squeezed into very short modules.

por Paul J M

12 de jun de 2016

Lot's of interesting background to language teaching and learning. The material is presented clearly although the instructor may not be to all students' taste. Keep going, however, as the later courses are even better!