Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Calculus

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Calculus da instituição Universidade de Sydney

4.8
estrelas
2,855 classificações
871 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

Melhores avaliações

AF

8 de abr de 2022

An excellent course, especially if like me you had done some calculus in the past and wanted a refresher. David is an excellent, clear, and attentive tutor. I can't recommend him enough. Many thanks.

OM

26 de set de 2020

I have completed quite a few courses on Coursera. This is by far the best instructor. I really hope David is going to do teach another Coursera course soon - I will sign up regardless of the content!

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 883 Avaliações para o Introduction to Calculus

por Nourhan A J

25 de jan de 2021

Honestly, this course is an extremely inconsiderate program for those who have no prior knowledge in 2 unit/advanced maths. As someone who only completed general maths, I was burdened by the difficulties of the content being taught; especially when the lecturer himself didn't explain the content in a way that would allow me to understand. In effect, keeping up with the work, ensuring that I studied for the 20-minute assessments, making my own notes to study from, and just in general, trying to get through the work all became too overbearing. I ended up seeking help from outside sources such as youtube just so I could grasp a particular topic. And the issue wasn't with one particular topic it was with all of them. And I found that the lecturer did a lot of waffling. Now I'm not saying he was bad overall, but I just wish that the content could have been taught at a slower and understandable pace.

por Fred V

18 de out de 2020

Useful for teenage learning, catch-up learning, as well as refresh-learning. However, in the discussion forum, instructors verge on arrogance and indulge in fallacies. It is surprising to see, nowadays, instructors who blind students with their oversized egos.

por Chris

2 de out de 2020

Coursera woudn't let me unenroll from the course.

por Joy S

23 de ago de 2020

Thank you! This course was exceptionally well-organized and engaging. Dr. David Easdown is a passionate lecturer, and I very much appreciate how attentive and active he is on the forums supporting students and answering questions. As a person with a weak mathematical background who has been intimidated by calculus courses, I found the material provided the right level of challenge (the the video lectures/notes could move quickly through more advanced applications of the techniques we were studying, but I wasn't overwhelmed by the practice problems--it was a good balance). I have built some confidence in being able to tackle more advanced courses in the future. Thanks again!

por Alvaro U M

5 de set de 2020

El profesor es muy entretenido, sobrio, explica bien y se detiene en los conceptos. Se nota que "vibra" con lo que enseña. Los apuntes excelentes, sin grasa, claros y precisos. Los ejercicios destinados a la comprensión de los conceptos, no muy difíciles lo que ayuda a entender la materia y no complicarse con artilugios algebraicos. Las referencias históricas y relaciones con matemáticos que construyeron el cálculo, notables.

En Chile, estamos en plena pandemia (al igual que el resto del mundo), pero nos ha pegado muy duro. Tomé este curso para olvidarme un poco de la contingencia. hacía muchos años que no veía estos temas. Valió la pena. Nada que decir. Excelente.

por Brian L

23 de fev de 2021

This is a brilliant course by David Easdown. As someone who is rather 'long in the tooth' I found that the course provided much needed engagement of the mental faculties during the UK lockdown. It' was also like reading a good book - just did not want it to end! David's presentation is remarkable - no words are wasted and every sentence is delivered with sublime precision and with obvious enthusiasm. Enjoyable, challenging and immensely satisfying throughout. The notes are just right and the exercises are incredibly absorbing and fun to do. I do hope that David and the Univ of Sydney can find the time and resources to put on a further course.

por Anna K

18 de fev de 2021

Excellent course! I studied Calculus for two years in Russia and enrolled in the course mostly to learn the vocabularly in English, but I also enjoyed a great explanation of the subject and numerous excercieses that helped me to revise the material that I studied long time ago. I enjoyed the videos and the pdfs of the course very much! The course is well structured and allows to cover a lot of material in a short time. The teacher of the course, David Easdown, is a great encouraging presenter! He even replied himself to the question that I had. Thank you, David! Keep it up!

por 柳梦璃

1 de fev de 2021

This is definitely the best calculus course I've ever taken! The teacher is so passionate and has a good sense of humor. I am so grateful that he explains the reasoning processes for all the formulas and theorems. This is the first time for me to understand the beauty and simplicity of math. I am impressed by the elegant and useful "e", and I am surprised to know the association between the exponential function and the logistic function (which I use a lot in biostatistics). Thanks again for this amazing course!

por Terry F

29 de jun de 2020

Excellent course materials and explanations for the most part. Exercises were very useful as were the notes provided with the different sections. There were only a couple of things where the instructor presented an idea which needed to be used to solve a type of function without adequately giving the origin of the idea and how it worked. I would absolutely take another course from this instructor and this has made me interested in taking another math course to progress beyond the material presented here.

por Murat E

17 de ago de 2020

İnstructor David Easdown has been created a great course. The course is nourished with both so educative videos and notes. I also really loved instructor's sketches :) which are complete masterpieces. I had taken this course with some previous calculus experience and now with completion of this course I can easily say knowledges here developed my comprehension. I wish to thank David and other people who helped to create this course. I look forward to see new courses coming soon :D

por Sandeep C

5 de jan de 2021

wonderfully designed course with good number of real life examples, the video presentation by the professor is succinct, to the point, crisp and very clear. The accompanying notes help in a quick re-cap of the concepts, and also work as a good reference resource. I found the quizzes / exercises to be simple, maybe these were designed for a beginner. Overall a great course to attend. My 5 stars to the professor and the course designers.

por Jose G

20 de jul de 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. I have not taken university Calculus in over 30 years, and I thought of doing this for fun, and I must admit, I enjoyed the material. My first experience at University was very tough, but I found the way it was presented very organized. The videos and notes are well done. Professor Easdown does an excellent job of presenting the material, and you can tell his passion for the course. Great Job.

por SWAGAT S

14 de ago de 2020

It's a beautiful certificate course which enhance the level of highly polished mathematical instruments of calculus and it's various applications it's very useful for technical and non technical students. Specially thanks to prof.David sir who analyses each and every topic and contents in detailed and the notes was also well enough to carry on the practice quizes. Thanks to Coursera also for adding a beautiful course in it.

por Gilberto B

20 de abr de 2022

The Calculus is a fundamental tool for engineers and is incredible the ways this teacher approaches this introductory course, it is highly recommended for begginers, as for engineers who wants to review the fundamental concepts of this important topic. It is remarkable the way he teaches the basic concepts of algebra to reach the calculus, is outstanding!! Thanks to Coursera and to Professor David for this opportunity.

por Mr.K.Kumar

26 de abr de 2020

Its really wonderful courses and It is very useful to my career.This Course will boost my job. It will help perform better in carrying out my professonal and give me an edge over my competitors. I have to learn different types of ways in this course .Definitely i have to join and learn different types of courses in coursera.I really thank to give an wonderful opportunity to join this course.Thank you very much.

por Tim S

15 de set de 2020

I took this course to challenge my memory on many aspects of algebra / calculus. I am a retired system admin ( Linux systems ) and have always loved mathematics. Was definitely impressed and pleased with the wonderfully thorough and patient teaching skills of Professor Easdown. The videos and notes along with the challenging quizzes were absolutely fantastic! Thank You all at Coursera and especially Prof. Easdown.

por John S

3 de nov de 2020

Great style of presentation; he definitively kept it interesting. He also brought in a number of historic contexts, which made the math feel "real" in a sense. He covered a tremendous amount of Calculus in 5 weeks, but it never felt overwhelming; reasonably paced. This was an excellent refresher for anyone who has been away from Calc for a while and wants to re-familiarize with the fundamentals.

por Leslie R W

2 de jul de 2019

The professor Dr. David Easdown is the very best Calculus instructor I have ever had! He is an excellent teacher who not only explains the concepts but also discusses the origin and use of the mathematics being developed. He does this is such an engaging style that motivates to not be afraid and jump in and learn more. I would love to take more courses with this professor. I highly recommend!

por Leon C

1 de jun de 2020

thank you for the option to do the course with all assignments unlocked.it gave me the opportunity to study at easy and Sir did a wonderful job.At first he sounded like an alien but then i paid attention and it turns out.it was 1+1,simple to the one who gives an ear.i failed so many times till i got it right.Calculus its still hard but i enjoyed this course.And i am looking forward to more.

por R M

28 de jun de 2020

It is wonderful visual and oral explanation about calculus. Even though I am Mathematics graduate, I understand the physical and geometrical explanation through this course. I recommend those who are like to begin their calculus class through this course. I heartily thank coursera for providing me a opportunity to learn. This course prove that courser is the master of online courses.

por Tenzin D

6 de dez de 2020

Completed the course ! I had been separated from Calculus for almost two years, took up this course and wooh, in the short span of 5 weeks, got in touch with previously underestimated concepts and also got introduced to few beautiful formulas, theorems and laws. i wont spoil anymore...but here is the Best Professor yet. Thank You, UoS for the course and the Professor as well.

por rayven v

9 de ago de 2020

This course was amazing! Had no prior knowledge on Calculus, however the professor really managed to make Calculus look like a fun and a stimulating course. He explained everything with so much detail yet clear, and his passion for Mathematics is really visible through the way he explains things in each video. Love this course! highly recommended. Thank you Professor Easdown!

por Mohd. A H

13 de jul de 2020

David Easdown has a case of Mathematics Enthusiasm more infectious than any epidemic. While the course is obviously a top-notch intro to calculus, it is also worth a look for anyone who's had a rocky relationship with maths. You will come out of this course with a solid appreciation for mathematics as a whole and a stable foundation for learning more calculus in the future.

por Shubham B

12 de abr de 2020

This course on calculus has completely changed my perspective about maths, I never get the concepts of function, domain, range, limits, the derivative, the integrals, but after completing this course now I am fully confident regardings the fundamental concepts of calculus.

Sir, you teach me very complex looking concepts in very simple language.

Thank you so much, sir.

por Navneeth S

30 de jul de 2020

This has been a really great course and I thank Professor Easdown very much for making this happen. This has been my first encounter learning calculus, and I joined this course for me to have an insight into calculus when I start Year 12 this year. But I have learnt much more broad ranges of concepts than I had expected in a very easy to understand and adaptable manner.