Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Abnormal Psychology

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Abnormal Psychology da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.9
estrelas
98 classificações
26 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course presents an overview of the major domains of abnormal psychology. The course is made up of 5 modules, the first of which provides an introduction to the field through discussions of the concept of psychological abnormality, assessment and classification, and the major models in use for understanding psychological abnormality. The remaining four modules provide overviews of major domains of abnormal psychology, including mood disorders, anxiety disorders, stress and trauma-related disorders, and schizophrenia spectrum disorders. Lectures within each of these modules address symptoms and behaviors, epidemiology, causal theories, treatment interventions and multicultural findings and considerations. The course also seeks to assist participants with becoming more adept at noticing when a family member, friend, or colleague may be experiencing psychological distress, as well as develop the comfort level required for initiating an empathic, compassionate conversation with a person of concern. Toward this goal, the last lecture of each module is dedicated to the topic “Foundations of Empathy.” This course is not designed to assist participants with resolving their own experiences of psychopathology, nor it is intended to prepare participants to act as psychotherapists for distressed individuals in their personal lives....

Melhores avaliações

SS

30 de set de 2021

A really well thought thought course that benefitted me tremendously in understanding abnormal psychology. I look forward to learning more from the faculty members. Thank you once again!

FB

15 de out de 2021

Thank you Dr. Jen for making us, students, knowledgeable about Abnormal Psychology. The foundations of empathy is amazing, and is my favorite.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 27 Avaliações para o Introduction to Abnormal Psychology

por Nguyen T H M

21 de set de 2021

I would like to say thank you so much to Jen D' Andrea, Director of Counseling and Psychological Services. I very love your voice and no doubt that I gained a lot of knowldege about Abnormal Psychology in this course. Thank you.

por Stanley S

1 de out de 2021

A really well thought thought course that benefitted me tremendously in understanding abnormal psychology. I look forward to learning more from the faculty members. Thank you once again!

por Anna n m

15 de set de 2021

Esta realmente bien, es super interesante, pero al no entender muy bien el ingles se me dificulta muchisimo.

Ojalá mas adelantesepa vuestro idioma o el idioma mundial y pueda hacerlo.

por Amit G

28 de set de 2021

very comprehensive and touched a large variety of key topics

por ELMER P M P

18 de set de 2021

THANK YOU

por Floyd J B

16 de out de 2021

Thank you Dr. Jen for making us, students, knowledgeable about Abnormal Psychology. The foundations of empathy is amazing, and is my favorite.

por Erica K

15 de out de 2021

V​ery clearly set out and orgainsed course. Loved the supplementry reading. An excellent course thank you!

por Ainsley S

23 de out de 2021

​very informative, and very good at convering a variety of topics throughout the course of a few weeks.

por Myrrh R

18 de nov de 2021

The course is great! I love Ms. Jen's pacing! You'll truly learn a lot! :)

por Mr A L

18 de nov de 2021

Really great course - thank you!

por astrocosmos2

25 de nov de 2021

Excellent !!!

por Keramikapfel

26 de jan de 2022

I did really enjoy reading the course's content and listening to the instructor. I do question, however, if the price for the certificate of this single course is worth it. Sadly, most information (except for the most interesting parts "Foundations of Empathy") are accessible on the university's website for free.

I, personally, enrolled in the Abnormal Psychology Specialisation, so I did not have to pay $40 for the certificate but will most likely pay $40 for the whole specialisation (finishing it in a month by doing some stuff everyday). I guess, I would feel less happy about the content, if I payed for each course individually.

por Muhammad H Q B

14 de fev de 2022

I really enjoyed taking this course. The reading material was very accessible and structured. The lectures also provided a balanced and detailed view of the issues. Particularly, I loved the lectures of sociocultural and multicultural perspectives of Abnormal Psychology as they lean towards the political and economic causes of mental illness. All in all, a very well balanced course!

por Daniela E E

29 de mai de 2022

I absolutely loved this course. One thing I liked the most is that the reading materials were very complete. It made my understanding much better and I didnt feel lost at all while listening to the lectures. Overall, the course design and modules were perfect. The instructor talked clearly and explained things very well. I learned a lot. Thank you

por Maina W

14 de mai de 2022

This is a great course for anyone who is interested in psychology and also in learning more about different mental disorders.

por Habeeba W

15 de jun de 2022

Short but highly informative. Thouroughly enjoyed Professor Jennifer D'Andrea's lectures. Thank you!!

por Austin S

21 de mar de 2022

The course was very interesting and taught me a lot of new skills!

por Toni J W

7 de jun de 2022

Excellent course filled with great information. Very interesting!

por Renz M R

14 de jun de 2022

V​ery Good and Informative Course about Psychology. Thank you

por Ren C

16 de mai de 2022

E​xcellent Course to help prepare me for my upcoming classes.

por Khairul B A

19 de abr de 2022

I​nstructor is clear in her explanations and lectures.

por Rebecca M

21 de jun de 2022

Very thourgh and clear in presentation. Thank you

por Dr. R s

16 de mar de 2022

it is amazing course with updated information

por Татьяна Д

22 de mar de 2022

T​hank you!

por Lohan P L

10 de jan de 2022

muito bom