Chevron Left
Voltar para História da Internet, Tecnologia e Segurança

Comentários e feedback de alunos de História da Internet, Tecnologia e Segurança da instituição Universidade de Michigan

4.8
estrelas
2,413 classificações
636 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The impact of technology and networks on our lives, culture, and society continues to increase. The very fact that you can take this course from anywhere in the world requires a technological infrastructure that was designed, engineered, and built over the past sixty years. To function in an information-centric world, we need to understand the workings of network technology. This course will open up the Internet and show you how it was created, who created it and how it works. Along the way we will meet many of the innovators who developed the Internet and Web technologies that we use today. What You Will Learn: After this course you will not take the Internet and Web for granted. You will be better informed about important technological issues currently facing society. You will realize that the Internet and Web are spaces for innovation and you will get a better understanding of how you might fit into that innovation. If you get excited about the material in this course, it is a great lead-in to taking a course in Web design, Web development, programming, or even network administration. At a minimum, you will be a much wiser network citizen....

Melhores avaliações

TR
11 de Ago de 2020

This course was awesome. A combination of the history, sociology and practical architectural / implementation elements of modern digital and internet technology. I enjoyed it thoroughly. Thanks Chuck!

SB
6 de Jan de 2016

This is an extremely important course. I would love to see it taught in high schools or in the first year of university. We should all understand how the Internet was developed and how it functions.

Filtrar por:

526 — 550 de 628 Avaliações para o História da Internet, Tecnologia e Segurança

por mahindra a

7 de Dez de 2015

like it

por Tuyen T S C

21 de Set de 2021

Great!

por Md. R Q S

17 de Set de 2020

great

por Marcela A C d M

23 de Mai de 2017

Great

por Sujit K N

20 de Mar de 2017

great

por Valeriy K

7 de Set de 2015

Cool.

por Claudia F

25 de Ago de 2015

GREAT

por Doddigalla A

18 de Dez de 2020

good

por RAMANOV B A

28 de Ago de 2020

good

por M S I 1 V C

16 de Jun de 2020

Good

por MRS. D S

29 de Mai de 2020

Nice

por Dr V S S

22 de Mai de 2020

Good

por Akshay K M

26 de Abr de 2020

good

por tom

24 de Ago de 2015

goog

por 凌乱亲

15 de Jun de 2020

完美

por Uma S

17 de Dez de 2016

V

por Alan S

13 de Jan de 2016

G

por Dong H S

6 de Dez de 2015

G

por Rose K

9 de Out de 2015

T

por Pratyush S

2 de Out de 2015

Dear Dr Chuck (If you're reading this)

Firstly thank you so much. I am currently in my 3rd year of B.E in Information Technology and wish that networking was taught to me like this from the start. Not just how we use protocols, standards and Layers but the reason and history of their existence. It was a lovely experience even though I didn't maximize any of your tests. Just a few things that I thought you could have covered in the course. From the first internet to the web servers and world wide web, you covered all aspects of the currently visible web. However we know that the internet is not only limited to that. If you would've given an insight on how the the deep/dark web came into being, that in my mind would cover every portion of the net today.

Regardless of that, it was a lovely course and I really admire your way of teaching !

However I still have no clue how I could have answered the number of hops from Michigan to Harvard !

por Andrey S

1 de Abr de 2021

The Internet History part of this course is amazing! What's really great is that you get to listen to a lot of people who were behind key Internet technologies (you'd probably want to have a bit of a technical background though as they sometimes delve into details not immediately understandable by a layman). Sadly, Technology and Security parts aren't that great. Dr. Chuck is a charismatic lecturer, but the information could have been more condensed, the slides look downright archaic in 2021, and the "crap password" thing probably already wasn't relevant at the time this course was shot.

por David F W

3 de Out de 2020

A really interesting and relevant course and a highly engaging lecturer. The course content is excellent and well-structured. On the down side, the software-generated transcription of the lectures is poor and needs a lot of reformatting, numerous error corrections and conversion to standard English (for the vast majority of us who do not use the US sub-version of the language). However, this tidy-up process is a great learning tool in its own right, and creates a valuable reference document for ongoing use.

por Aaron K

27 de Abr de 2016

A lot of the assessments for the "history" section of the course are needless factual-item recall, and not very cognitively challenging or engaging. The combination of history/technology/security could be more tightly integrated, it feels like three discrete courses just merged together into one. Good material overall, just not sure the scale/scope is appropriate to one course.

por Roberto Z

18 de Mar de 2018

A very intriguing course that explores the beginnings of computers and Internet.

If you like technology you will love this course and you will get to know a lot of interesting anecdotes, but do not expect to get practical abilities for today; take it like you would read an interesting novel or history book. This is not a manual of how internet and security works.

por dave b

28 de Nov de 2015

A fun journey through the history and structure of the internet. This is a thorough but brief introduction. Well worth your time to check out if you're interested in history, technology, programming or just finding out something new. The diversity of interviews is impressive, although there is overlap with Dr. Chuck's other courses.