Chevron Left
Voltar para Speaking to inform: Discussing complex ideas with clear explanations and dynamic slides

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Speaking to inform: Discussing complex ideas with clear explanations and dynamic slides da instituição Universidade de Washington

4.8
estrelas
297 classificações
89 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In the professional realm, most speeches and presentations we give are informative in scope. A scientist needs to explain her recent research findings. A financial officer needs to report on quarterly earnings to his company’s board. A technology professional needs to educate a consumer about a new product. Any time you need to convey ideas or demonstrate a process, you’re dealing with informative speaking. Informative speaking is a fun puzzle. You need to think from the perspective of your audience to identify what they need to hear in order to understand the key ideas. How much does the audience already know? What are the most important elements to convey? How should one convey these ideas with appropriate breadth and depth given the time constraints of the speech? This demands a strategic approach to speech design that we’ll undertake in this class. By the end of the course, you should be able to explain complex ideas vividly and accessibly, design clear and compelling presentation slides, convey your passion for a topic while maintaining your professional credibility, and speak dynamically from notes and/or a manuscript. Learners will record speeches, providing and receiving peer feedback....

Melhores avaliações

OS
2 de Mai de 2020

Very informative and practical course.Very interesting and well structured course for building confident in public speaking and exercises are very interesting to keep learner on track.

JJ
13 de Nov de 2017

Excellent lecture structure. The logical progression of the lessons made it easier to understand and grasp the key concepts of the course. I would recommend this course to everyone.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 90 Avaliações para o Speaking to inform: Discussing complex ideas with clear explanations and dynamic slides

por Alexander T

17 de Abr de 2017

Awesome course in Public Speaking from Dr. Matt McGarrity and same awesomeness level! This is the second course in this specialization out of four and I am going to finish them all.

I recommend this course to everyone regardless you activity, job and lifestyle!

por Susan K

2 de Ago de 2017

This course taught me so much and helped me and my students, who are professors in Indonesia, get rid of some common bad habits. I've used this course as a component of a 3 week presentation workshop. The presentations this year are so much better than last due to these videos. I tossed aside the other materials because this course's videos outshone them.

por vikas d a

27 de Abr de 2020

Perfectly designed course for taking you to the next level in public speaking. Immensely added to the knowledge on designing a speech for the audience.

por María L B M

3 de Mar de 2020

I have learnt a lot from the teacher. Since he is a philosopher, he has got a lot af clarity in his explanations. Also, the summary at the end of each week is useful to retain some concepts. When it comes to the content, although I had some notions of communication and explanation, I learned a lot of techniques to make an argument easy to follow.

por Elizan S

23 de Abr de 2020

Really enjoyed this course. Very practical. Dr McGarrity is professional and has a passion for public speaking which he shares with his students. I especially learnt a lot about slides and visuals to accompany your speech. Will be able to use this information in the future.

por Hammad N

23 de Nov de 2018

This course was very informative. Lectures were recorded excellently. Respected Mr. Matt McGarrity Expressed his Good will and full knowledge about the course. I would recommend this course for anyone who wants to up their speaking Game.

por Omraj S

3 de Mai de 2020

Very informative and practical course.Very interesting and well structured course for building confident in public speaking and exercises are very interesting to keep learner on track.

por Joseph B J

14 de Nov de 2017

Excellent lecture structure. The logical progression of the lessons made it easier to understand and grasp the key concepts of the course. I would recommend this course to everyone.

por Prashant T

30 de Set de 2020

great course , nice materials provided. it is surely going to help me and all others who needs to explain and present things to others on daily basis as a part of their profession

por Arinze U

24 de Jun de 2017

Very informative course.

Matt McGarity is a very insightful and well-spoken teacher.

por RICARDO C B

16 de Jul de 2020

Muy bueno, no me gusta hacer presentaciones en Ingles.. Pero ni modo gracias...

por Julie W C

24 de Mai de 2020

Audited course, but learned a lot. Great information, suggestions and examples.

por Dina M

27 de Jun de 2020

Excellent¡ I learned and practice several advice provided in this course.

por Tamara C Q

14 de Ago de 2020

Great course. Thanks a lot for all the important information.

por Narzillo Z

4 de Set de 2020

I have learned how to make good spech . Thanks to coursera!

por Bernard D V

17 de Dez de 2020

I have done quite a few courses about presentation skills, storytelling, public speaking and such on Coursera. This is the best one I found online. It is more theoritecal than the others but the course is complete and the teacher is great. The guy conveys his passion in a brilliant way. By following this specialisation, you will need everything you need to know to be good at public speaking.

por OKEKE G

18 de Ago de 2020

The course is very helpful. I can now speak in a simple, logical and understandable manner and learners/listener can now enjoy to listen to me and get value as well. Thank you Dr. Matt McGarrity. You are good at what you do. I will really have to finish thus course specialization.

por MAROTTA M

19 de Mar de 2021

It was useful to continue learning and practicing, after the first "Introduction to Public Speaking" course.

I'm not convinced of why is left the choice between final speech or manuscript assignment.

It is a speaking specialization, not writing. However, I enjoyed it!

por Caroline N W

22 de Abr de 2021

The Course is quiet informative and helps a lot in moulding confidence, sharpening public speaking skills: speech and written, and professionalism in the content we share with audiences. I have gained a lot to my expectation.

por María D C C B

14 de Set de 2020

I loved this course, I learned a lot and it helped me with my final thesis presentation, besides that I plan to put what I learned into practice in my work. Thank You!!

por Muthukumar S

12 de Dez de 2020

This is my second course in public speaking with Matt. I love the way he teaches. I enjoy attending his courses. I strongly recommend his courses on Public speaking.

por Stéphane O

2 de Nov de 2020

Excellent online training. The teacher is great. Very comfortable and reveals the key points of a good presentation. Thanks to the University of Washington

por Eliška K

12 de Abr de 2021

I really do enjoy public speaking. The lecturer is so entertaining yet helpful. Thank you very much for all those tips and tricks, I will 100 % come back.

por Soner L

4 de Fev de 2021

I would totally recommend this course to everyone be it a beginner or an advanced speaker. Great Professor , great organizing of the modules and lectures.

por Yogesh K K

20 de Nov de 2020

One of my best learning experiences. Matt has worked extremely hard to create comprehensive content. Huge thanks to him for that. Happy learning!!