Chevron Left
Voltar para Speaking to inform: Discussing complex ideas with clear explanations and dynamic slides

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Speaking to inform: Discussing complex ideas with clear explanations and dynamic slides da instituição Universidade de Washington

4.8
110 classificações
23 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In the professional realm, most speeches and presentations we give are informative in scope. A scientist needs to explain her recent research findings. A financial officer needs to report on quarterly earnings to his company’s board. A technology professional needs to educate a consumer about a new product. Any time you need to convey ideas or demonstrate a process, you’re dealing with informative speaking. Informative speaking is a fun puzzle. You need to think from the perspective of your audience to identify what they need to hear in order to understand the key ideas. How much does the audience already know? What are the most important elements to convey? How should one convey these ideas with appropriate breadth and depth given the time constraints of the speech? This demands a strategic approach to speech design that we’ll undertake in this class. By the end of the course, you should be able to explain complex ideas vividly and accessibly, design clear and compelling presentation slides, convey your passion for a topic while maintaining your professional credibility, and speak dynamically from notes and/or a manuscript. Learners will record speeches, providing and receiving peer feedback....

Melhores avaliações

JJ

Nov 14, 2017

Excellent lecture structure. The logical progression of the lessons made it easier to understand and grasp the key concepts of the course. I would recommend this course to everyone.

VT

Jun 12, 2018

I like this course so much. I like the way Dr. Matt McGarrity encourage and teach everybody to overcome the fear of public speech.

Filtrar por:

1 — 24 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Speaking to inform: Discussing complex ideas with clear explanations and dynamic slides

por Joseph B J

Nov 14, 2017

Excellent lecture structure. The logical progression of the lessons made it easier to understand and grasp the key concepts of the course. I would recommend this course to everyone.

por Hao W

Jan 27, 2019

Completed

por Clare A M

Apr 11, 2019

Very good course, great teacher and interesting assignments.

por Hammad N

Nov 23, 2018

This course was very informative. Lectures were recorded excellently. Respected Mr. Matt McGarrity Expressed his Good will and full knowledge about the course. I would recommend this course for anyone who wants to up their speaking Game.

por Marcelo B Y

Oct 15, 2017

Great course, excellent structure and content, the exercises help to fixate and practice the learning's.

por Yaroslava F

Apr 23, 2017

An excellent course for those who strive to speak more confidently and professionally.

por Arinze U

Jun 24, 2017

Very informative course.

Matt McGarity is a very insightful and well-spoken teacher.

por Susan K

Aug 03, 2017

This course taught me so much and helped me and my students, who are professors in Indonesia, get rid of some common bad habits. I've used this course as a component of a 3 week presentation workshop. The presentations this year are so much better than last due to these videos. I tossed aside the other materials because this course's videos outshone them.

por Oleksandr T

Apr 17, 2017

Awesome course in Public Speaking from Dr. Matt McGarrity and same awesomeness level! This is the second course in this specialization out of four and I am going to finish them all.

I recommend this course to everyone regardless you activity, job and lifestyle!

por Pablo E

May 07, 2018

Very interesting and practical course.

por Nicola D G

Apr 06, 2017

Ottimo corso, necessario per la carriera professionale di qualsiasi persona. Simpatico e molto preparato il professore.

por Aniceto P

Jul 01, 2017

Very comprehensive, well structured. I've attended three courses of prof McGarrity and I am an absolute fan if him

por Rolandas R

May 31, 2017

L

por Juan B

May 26, 2017

clear, simple and useful. Its simply great.

por Michele D

May 28, 2017

Useful tools to help boring, data driven presentations come to life and keep your audiences attention.

por Aram S

Apr 04, 2017

Very informative and well structured course!

por Viet T

Jun 12, 2018

I like this course so much. I like the way Dr. Matt McGarrity encourage and teach everybody to overcome the fear of public speech.

por Muhammad A A

Oct 14, 2019

best course for personal development

por Huda M S A O

Mar 20, 2018

w

por Santosh S

Jul 30, 2017

Good course, particularly for informative speeches.

I am doctoral student nearing by thesis proposal, so I was wondering - how the course will help me to structure my presentation.

Though the course is helpful, but I would have loved little more treatment of such topics like presenting proposals, defense, data. This treatment is bit sketchy in the course.

However, I will highly recommend the course to any doctoral student or anyone who wish to get into academia.

por Nguyen T T N

Jul 11, 2019

I prefer fewer peer-review

por GIOSUE P

Jun 11, 2019

The course should provide less explanatory sessions and more practice-based tips.

The videos are often repetitive and do not provide enough ground on theories of perception - i.e. how are we perceived while we do something when we speak?

Mostly generic.

por Thomas M

Feb 12, 2018

Don't know if the instructor was nervous or just not competent. Pretty much useless if you have any type of training in publich speaking.

1 He speaks WAY TOO fast...and seems nervous and insecure

2 No clear communication (which is funny as he is trying to teach you to communicate!)

3. Do not seem to understand the topic very well (typical Academia, who never actutally done any real work)

por mohit

Mar 19, 2018

This course could be made more interactive and informative.