Chevron Left
Voltar para Think Again III: How to Reason Inductively

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Think Again III: How to Reason Inductively da instituição Universidade Duke

4.8
estrelas
242 classificações
43 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Want to solve a murder mystery? What caused your computer to fail? Who can you trust in your everyday life? In this course, you will learn how to analyze and assess five common forms of inductive arguments: generalizations from samples, applications of generalizations, inference to the best explanation, arguments from analogy, and causal reasoning. The course closes by showing how you can use probability to help make decisions of all sorts. Suggested Readings Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 8-12, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Melhores avaliações

RW
20 de Set de 2020

This was an excellent course. it really gets you thinking and allows you to take the tools learned to the workplace!! The instructors were great and do an excellent job of explaining!

RR
29 de Abr de 2020

The course did a good job laying out the uses of inductive arguments in an organized manner. Also, I appreciate how the course organized the basic probability theory,

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 43 Avaliações para o Think Again III: How to Reason Inductively

por Flavia O S d S L

9 de Mai de 2020

Fantastic course! Course content very well defined and explanations very well placed. Congratulations for Walter, an awesome instructor! I learned a lot from the course, it really opened my mind to many life issues. I really learned probability in a playful way.

por Rajapaksha M A R

30 de Abr de 2020

The course did a good job laying out the uses of inductive arguments in an organized manner. Also, I appreciate how the course organized the basic probability theory,

por Nguyen T T

5 de Set de 2019

Awesome course with concentration on probability theory, thanks professor Walter

por Cliff S

11 de Set de 2016

The material in this course is well presented, though scarce at times. However it has its share of problems :

-little to no interaction from TA's or mentors in the forums

-the quizzes are often out of sync with the lectures

-the final exam has severe problems with questions (form not content).

In more detail, on the final exam, some of the questions don't even contain all the content to answer them. They can request multiple answers but have single question boxes and/or the reverse.

por Kohei

22 de Dez de 2019

What I learned from this course is that philosophy can be applied to our daily life and professional work.

Through humorous presentations, Professor Armstrong introduced different types of inductive arguments such as causation and decision making. Although they are not a panacea for every problems I encounter, the materials on this course certainly help me to think clearly and hopeful to make better decisions. I would recommend this course for anyone who want to improve their thinking.

Looking forward to taking Think Again IV.

por Jae F

29 de Jun de 2020

Very challenging but very informative in an informal, conversational format. I rented the coursebook and would have found so much more helpful if there were answer keys to the questions. I couldn't tell if I was doing the exercise correctly or not.

por Sandra Z C

3 de Nov de 2020

It was fantastic. A little bit more dense than the previous courses of this series, but surprisingly easy at the end! I thought probability was my weakness but it is the least of my worries now that I took this course. I feel so good!

por Jorge V C

1 de Jun de 2017

Very good and funny course. It's noticeable the effort put when doing this course, I congratulate the professor and his staff because their work helped us to learn and understand how to reason inductively properly.

Thank you very much!

por KIMANI N A F

9 de Fev de 2020

There is a lot of information that I interact with daily but this course has given me an edge in processing it. With a great interest in scientific research, am glad to know what will and how it will make sense. Thank you.

por Carla L R

14 de Out de 2020

The whole series of FOUR COURSES is absolutely BRILLIANT. i'M SO FASCINATED BY ALL OF THEM. I genuinely think that after completing Course 4 I will re take them when new sessions occur. Congrats Walter and Ram!

por Mary A C

19 de Jan de 2021

I super enjoy the course because Professor Walter is so jolly plus he explains well and creatively made the course. There's always a hook factor. Definitely! A great learning experience! Thank you so much^_^

por Richard W

21 de Set de 2020

This was an excellent course. it really gets you thinking and allows you to take the tools learned to the workplace!! The instructors were great and do an excellent job of explaining!

por CHEN Y

27 de Ago de 2018

Very useful course for presentation and decision making. The content is very clearly and humorously illustrated by the professor. Highly recommended.

por Nicanor B

15 de Set de 2017

Excellent Course and instructors. I feel proud and lucky to haven taken open my way of thinking and i think It will make people smart

por Dong L G

19 de Dez de 2017

The professor is fun. He provide different examples to make his point clear and interesting. I enjoy his lessons very mucn!

por darius

19 de Jun de 2018

Perfect course and presentation of material.Very good incorporation of mentors for discusion.Good job!

por Susan M

22 de Jun de 2017

This entire series was informative, engaging, and fun, and the thinking skills taught are so valuable.

por Korbinian S

24 de Jul de 2017

Extremely interisting topic with so many implications for any field. Walter is a born online teacher!

por Alex S

28 de Mar de 2021

Nice course, Walter Sinott is an excellent lecturer, who is also quite funny (intendendly so).

por Cristian N

3 de Jun de 2017

Interesante, muy divertido y útil para la vida cotidiana. ¡Recomendable para cualquiera!

por Mihir G

15 de Abr de 2018

Very effective teaching . It creates the power to judge arguments more accurately .

por Aanand

26 de Mai de 2019

Course with fun and a deep insight into one of the most commonly used arguments

por Jasdeep

17 de Jan de 2017

Great course to help understand principles of inductive reasoning; recommended!

por Sara A O K

1 de Jul de 2019

Am sure I will take the other parts of this course, very interesting.

por Dyami H

7 de Jan de 2021

This is the best in the specialization Think Again Specialization.