Chevron Left
Voltar para A História do Rock, Parte 1

Comentários e feedback de alunos de A História do Rock, Parte 1 da instituição Universidade de Rochester

4.8
estrelas
1,067 classificações
309 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

Melhores avaliações

BL

12 de mar de 2018

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

SM

1 de out de 2016

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 310 Avaliações para o A História do Rock, Parte 1

por Carrie F

26 de jun de 2017

Great info, I loved listening to the music and learning about the bands! Can't wait to get to Part 2!

por Cathy G

24 de jan de 2017

Extremely knowledgeable teacher!! You will learn amazing facts and details of the rise of rock music.

por Andrew G

30 de jun de 2016

Very, very well done course -- great information, well presented and well paced. Highly recommended!

por Michael V

8 de nov de 2015

Terrific course. John Covach knows the material and presents it well. Enjoyed the course immensely.

por Maurice W

5 de mai de 2022

widen my knowledge on rock development and enriched my knowledge on other then rock developments!

por Geert P

8 de out de 2016

Great course, with great stories. A Professor you can listen to for hours. Absolutely top notch!

por Huang K

15 de jan de 2016

The professor gives a fun speech on music and I really enjoy watching as well as listening in his

por Steve M

13 de abr de 2020

Great insight and learning course about the greatest music in the world,

Rock and roll! 🎼🤪🎸

por Ferdinand P

26 de jan de 2018

A truly amazing class. I had a great time and learned a lot. I'm looking forward to Part 2!

por 任欣雨

4 de dez de 2016

Very good course for beginner to know about rock history,looking forward to join the Part.2

por Aline D

2 de mar de 2016

I loved the content and found the teacher spectacular. This is a really fun course to take.

por Brendan C

14 de nov de 2018

This was fantastic preparation to help me teach a course using this text next school year.

por Sier i t 7

16 de mar de 2022

i love these courses they are by far my favorite on coursera! thank you history of rock!!

por luis g

13 de ago de 2017

Really nice course to know about history of music on the first 6 decades of XX century

por Christine H

3 de jan de 2021

Fascinating. I used the textbook to accompany the lectures and it was of great value

por Joanne P

5 de jun de 2020

Entertaining and informative. Terrific instructor. I would recommend it to a friend.

por Phyllis S

31 de jul de 2016

Delivered by an instructor whose lectures are knowledgeable, well-paced and dynamic.

por Zillah K

28 de ago de 2015

Fascinating account of popular music, mostly American, from 1955 to 1970. I love it.

por Kathy P

22 de mar de 2020

Very informative and fun to learn so much about music. Looking forward to part two.

por Gregg H

12 de abr de 2016

Exciting course, especially if you use the book and the additional on-line material

por Marcos L R G

24 de fev de 2016

Great course. I love rock and now I understand better this wonderful kind of music.

por Brittani G

15 de jan de 2019

This was extremely fun and informational. You can impress your friends at parties.

por Cristina S

14 de set de 2017

A good fun way to learn about the history of ronck. Can't wait to start second p

por Josefin

31 de out de 2015

This course is the best! Very interesting and informative. Fun to. Check it out.