Chevron Left
Voltar para Health Across the Gender Spectrum

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Health Across the Gender Spectrum da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.8
896 classificações
310 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course offers an intimate, story-based introduction to the experiences of six transgender children and their families. Through illustrated stories and short teaching videos, learners will gain a better understanding of gender identity and the gender spectrum. Stanford physicians, K-12 educators, and transgender faculty members offer practical tips for parents, teachers, healthcare providers and anyone who wants to help create a more gender-expansive environment - one in which all people can live authentically. As a global community of unique individuals, we can begin to build a world that is ready to nurture and love each and every child. Due to the sensitive nature of the story-based course content, we have chosen not to offer course certificates for this course. Simply put, we feel that the thoughts, ideas and sentiments of these remarkable children and their families... are priceless. We are confident that, like us, you will end up learning more from them than you could ever imagine. Together, we can lay a stronger foundation for all children. Join us as we explore health, across the gender spectrum. Additional note: When submitting answers to quizzes, you may be asked to enter your "full legal name". This feature is primarily for verification purposes for courses that offer a certificate on Coursera, so it does not really apply to this course. We recognize that, for some individuals the name they use does not match the one on their legal documents. Please feel free to enter the name you normally use in these boxes....

Melhores avaliações

PB

May 11, 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. My stepson (born a female) is transgender. This course has helped me understand things more and gave me a lot of pointers on how to do things. Thank you so much!

FS

Apr 27, 2019

I would like to know more about LGBTs and as I am leaving in an Islamic country , I hope to help these high risk groups to be more accepted by others and be more healthy, sexually and mentally.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Health Across the Gender Spectrum

por Leda P

May 09, 2019

I learned a lot about transgender, gender identity, and other terms that refer to gender non-conformity. I think this is important course to take so that one can learn about what the transgender people experience and how we can be accepting and supportive.

por Ashley F E

May 07, 2019

This was a great introduction to gender diversity and how to support transgender and non-binary individuals, especially children. The lessons are relatively short and to-the-point, and the messages are clear. I would recommend this course to anyone who would like to learn more about the gender spectrum

por Paulina A

Dec 13, 2018

It was very interesting to hear the children and parent's experiences. It was a bit repetitive in some cases, but overall really interesting.

por Jonathan G

Feb 28, 2018

Although this course was enlightening, transgenders and sexual orientation are really hard on families and I feel it's best to choose one or the other. Statistically, trans-genders are more likely to commit suicide more often than if you just stay the same gender. If you're a man, stay a man, if you're a woman and woman.

por Cynthia D

Feb 27, 2018

As the parent of a nonbinary child, this course helped me learn the vernacular of the gender spectrum and better prepared me for the inevitable conversations we as parents have with friends, family, educators and overly interested bystanders.

por Danielle V

Feb 08, 2018

There is not nearly enough accurate information widely available about the transgender community. As a transgender woman, I thank you for this.

por Gesine F C W

Jan 11, 2018

I had expected a scientific approach from a University like Stanford. In this course, subjective, non-evidence based opinions are presented as facts.

Why not present honestly what is known and what is still being researched?

por Morley G

Nov 21, 2017

This course was extremelly easy and i feel if this course is aimed at higher education you shouldn't be able to complete the course in 20 minutes without reading or watching the materials.

por Nancy L

May 16, 2019

This course open my eyes in many aspects¡ im very thankfull

por Jess R

May 14, 2019

Great course! It was very informative and helped me to view gender in a new light!

por Fatemeh S

Apr 27, 2019

I would like to know more about LGBTs and as I am leaving in an Islamic country , I hope to help these high risk groups to be more accepted by others and be more healthy, sexually and mentally.

por deepali p

Apr 17, 2019

This course taught me the basics of gender discrimination and how to adjust myself and people around me towards gender spectrum perspective.

por Mark

Apr 04, 2019

Informative, but VERY simplistic, esp for a Stanford course.

por Jezabel V B

Mar 25, 2019

I took this course to better understand my friend who is currently transitioning. I loved the videos with the cute animations, and the Stanford staff interviews.

por Ariadna C

Mar 23, 2019

I really learned a lot and how to act among transgender people

por Juan P G D

Mar 15, 2019

Agradezco los subtítulos en castellano. Me ayudó a informarme sobre un tema desconocido para mi.

por Rafael M C

Mar 06, 2019

This is a wonderful course! I loved the videos and the interviews. It was so enlightening to hear about people's experiences and also about how we can contribute to make our world a better place to everybody (and specially transgender people). I feel blessed for having had the opportunity to spend this time watching, reading and discussing this topic with this community. I'd also like to congrats the team responsible for this material. This is a course everybody should attend because I am sure most of us have important lessons to take from it.

por Michelle J Z

Feb 28, 2019

Loved the course. Very informative. The music on the last video, "I am a girl" was very high pitched and distracting. Thank you!

por Isabella M

Feb 26, 2019

Lifechanging. Thanks for this eye-opening course.

por Poulomi C

Feb 23, 2019

to understand child issues pertaining to their gender identity and be more supportive to them

por Amanda H

Feb 02, 2019

Such an amazing course that is laid out in such a great way to fully understand what the youth are going through. Thank you for providing such an amazing course.

por Ayelen s

Jan 26, 2019

EXCELENTE

por Sara H

Jan 23, 2019

El curso es increíblemente valioso, tanto para nosotros los profesionales de la salud encargados de acompañar a estos niños como para las familias y la comunidad en general. Creo que es es de vital importancia socializar este tipo de herramientas para que cada vez seamos mas las personas que amamos y apoyamos a los niños trans. Creo que los niños trans están en un mundo que aun no logra comprender la profundidad de sus sentimiento y es mi misión como profesional al menos desde mi sitió de trabajo hacer su vida y la de sus familias mas fácil y feliz; y este curso es un paso mas para lograrlo.

Lo recomendare a mis colegas!

por Penélope P A

Jan 17, 2019

Aprendí mucho sobre este tema!! Muy interesante!!

por Jaime H D

Jan 16, 2019

Great experience! Greetings from Colombia.