Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Graph Theory

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Graph Theory da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.6
273 classificações
58 avaliações

Sobre o curso

We invite you to a fascinating journey into Graph Theory — an area which connects the elegance of painting and the rigor of mathematics; is simple, but not unsophisticated. Graph Theory gives us, both an easy way to pictorially represent many major mathematical results, and insights into the deep theories behind them. In this course, among other intriguing applications, we will see how GPS systems find shortest routes, how engineers design integrated circuits, how biologists assemble genomes, why a political map can always be colored using a few colors. We will study Ramsey Theory which proves that in a large system, complete disorder is impossible! By the end of the course, we will implement an algorithm which finds an optimal assignment of students to schools. This algorithm, developed by David Gale and Lloyd S. Shapley, was later recognized by the conferral of Nobel Prize in Economics. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Melhores avaliações

SU

Feb 28, 2019

Appreciate the structure and the explanations with examples. The practice tool before every lesson not makes it fun to learn but also sets the student in the context and can anticipate the concept.

RH

Nov 17, 2017

Was pretty fun and gave a good intro to graph theory. Definitely felt inspired to go deeper and understood the most basic proof ideas. The later lectures can spike in difficulty though. Very nice!

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introduction to Graph Theory

por Justus G

Nov 06, 2017

Instructors' language was extremely difficult to understand. The potential applications of many of these theoretical concepts was not addressed algorithmically; it was very difficult to put any of this into practice.

por Bryan W B

Dec 04, 2018

This course was very weak compared to the previous two courses in this series. The concepts are challenging but not very well presented. The quizzes are too easy and do not require you to master the material. The final algorithm problem is laughably easy. However, Dr. Alexander Shen was very responsive to all my questions.

por Eugenio L C

Jan 06, 2019

The course gives a good overview to understand graphs and the math behind them. However, I expected more and I'm not satisfied with several parts of the course, poorly explained or with vague exercises. Specially the last week. This does not worth 70€ a month

por Abhyuday D

Oct 16, 2018

Very informative.

por Saptarshi M

Nov 15, 2018

Liked in depth discussion of graph theory. Being an CS student, I have read graph theory from couple of books. But this course has provided a comprehensive understanding and many real life problems that can be solved using graph theory. Keep up your good work.

por Rajat V

Jul 09, 2018

Language barrier is the most prominent issue. All the teachers are not native English speakers, which has negative implications at least for me. I understand the issue but just wish it were not the case.

por Arthur T R

Dec 20, 2018

This course is an excellent introduction to Graph Theory. It gives an overview of important topics and have a intuitive approach to the main problems. Also, the exercises are very helpful on memorizing the main concepts and training what you have learned. I strongly recommend this course for a first contact with Graph Theory.

por Patrizio S

Feb 02, 2019

I wish to thank the professors for having brought this course to Coursera, this topic is absolutely fantastic, and very well presented. I highly recommend it.

por Tarashankar B

Jan 19, 2019

Excellent course

por Praveen K R

Jan 23, 2019

The course content is good. All exercises and problems are very nice for learning and understanding any concept.

por Sivakrishna U

Feb 28, 2019

Appreciate the structure and the explanations with examples. The practice tool before every lesson not makes it fun to learn but also sets the student in the context and can anticipate the concept.

por Joe L

Nov 17, 2018

I really love this course, it can help me to solve problems in life with Graph, stongly recommend this course!

por M U K R

Mar 20, 2019

nice course

por Ashish D S

Jul 19, 2018

Excellent course!

por Sriram R

Jul 22, 2018

Great!

por RLee

Oct 08, 2018

A follow up course about Flows, Cuts and Networks should well be considered in a more Mathematical perspective.

por Ajit C B

Nov 08, 2017

Excellent course, I do wish there is an advanced follow-up.

por Dmytro N

Nov 12, 2017

I like this course. Very basic, but teachers are really great and explanations are perfect! Highly recommended for all who wants to begin with Graph Theory.

por liang t

Dec 12, 2017

A good course with proper explanation. The mathematical proof of this course is generally easy to understand although a small part of them are vague

por 徐哲

Apr 22, 2018

很好,很清楚

por Stefan D

Dec 07, 2017

Educational and fun

por Venu R

May 01, 2018

Superb, very accessible to laymen

por Edward P v

Feb 21, 2018

I have been reading and buying books on Graph Theory in the hopes of finding some interesting insights I could bring to my after school students. None of them had Guarini's Puzzle which really is a beautiful and succinct example of Graph Theory in action. Hoping we can use what I am learning here to develop some rigorous graph methods for finding the solutions to tiling polyominoes and packing the SOMA cube. We like to make build physical objects as a starting off point for study. (leonardosbasement.org).

I am enjoying the "try this" before "we explain everything" approach also. Solving problems in python notebook is also great.

por Steven W

Dec 09, 2017

This course provides a great overview to graph theory. I especially liked the special attention that was paid to trees and bipartite graphs.

por Matthew M

Sep 12, 2017

Excellent course, well-designed and executed.