Chevron Left
Voltar para Firm Level Economics: Markets and Allocations

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Firm Level Economics: Markets and Allocations da instituição Universidade de Illinois em Urbana-ChampaignUniversidade de Illinois em Urbana-Champaign

4.9
387 classificações
65 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this class, we will derive equilibrium outcomes across a variety of market structures. We will begin by understanding equilibrium under a market structure called Perfect Competition, a benchmark construction. Economists have tools to measure the efficiency of market outcomes. We next consider the polar extreme of a competitive market: a monopoly market. We will determine the monopoly equilibrium price and quantity and efficiency properties. Much economic activity takes place in markets with just a handful of very large producers. To understand equilibrium in these oligopoly markets requires more careful attention to strategic interdependence. To capture this interdependence, we consider collusive arrangements among a small number of rivals as well as the use of simple game theoretic techniques to model equilibrium. Market Failure describes situations where markets fail to find the efficient outcome. Information asymmetries are one fertile form of market failure. Another form of market failure occurs when externalities are present. We will examine one key externality, pollution, and construct a policy prescription to mitigate the negative efficiency impacts of this externality. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Explain how different market structures result in different resource allocations. • Model the impact of external shocks to a particular market structure and demonstrate the new equilibrium price and quantity after the impact of this external shock has played out. • Evaluate the efficiency of an equilibrium. Different market structures produce different levels of efficiency. • Explain when and why the government might intervene with regulatory authority or antitrust litigation to lessen inefficiencies in some markets. • Describe how information problems can cause inefficient outcomes. • Understand externalities and consider optimal government response to these market failures. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Melhores avaliações

AA

Jun 08, 2016

Awesome instructor, awesome materials and awesome learners. Of course, difficult assignments that I taught me a lot! Thank you Coursera, Dr. Larry and the entire team behind the scene.

JF

Mar 05, 2019

Professor DeBrock made the class very interesting with great real-world examples. I feel that I have learned so much from this class that I will carry with me throughout my career.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Firm Level Economics: Markets and Allocations

por Meena G

Feb 07, 2019

Great course!!

por Hamada S S

Feb 22, 2019

Great class with great information!

por Kristin P

Feb 27, 2019

I really enjoyed this class. My last econ class was in high school, so I was a little worried, but Professor Brock made things easy to understand. Thank you!

por Luz K

Mar 06, 2019

The professor made it very easy to learn and he retained my attention the entire time. Great Professor!

por MAYUR B

Mar 01, 2019

Best Course!

por Michael O

Mar 02, 2019

Great class and professor!

por Vivek B

Mar 02, 2019

Excellent Course, thank you Dr. Larry!

por Keith K D

Mar 02, 2019

Great course, learned a lot of new stuff and I understand markets much better.

por Eydie R V

Mar 01, 2019

Professor DeBrock was excellent. I really enjoyed this course despite finding it very challenging. It required a lot of study time to complete the iMBA portion assignments and exams but was very much worth it. I will miss Professor DeBrock saying "I have the pen" and "little green sheets of paper". Both always brought a big smile to my face. Thank you Professor DeBrock! I also sincerely appreciate Professor Dolgopolov's assistance with understanding difficult topics and his timely response to forum questions. You and all the assistants that helped made this course a pleasure despite its difficulty!

por Jay K

Mar 04, 2019

Great class, loved it and learned a lot.

por Joe F

Mar 05, 2019

Professor DeBrock made the class very interesting with great real-world examples. I feel that I have learned so much from this class that I will carry with me throughout my career.

por Ben

Jun 14, 2016

Great course! Extremely rewarding

por Rushi K V

Mar 23, 2016

I like this professor and he taught beautifully even in Producer and Consumer behavior, the prequel course in this specialization. High expectations from this course!

por FELIX M

Mar 29, 2016

EXCELLENT

por Bruno C

Sep 25, 2017

I loved the professor, the content and the assignments.

por Ahmed N R

Jun 17, 2018

Very informative and helps a lot with decision making

por Martin C

Mar 09, 2016

Another great course! This is the 2nd of the specialization and I just love how the prof., Larry DeBrock, explains things. With real life examples, he makes it easy to understand and apply to everyday-life. Really great course! Highly recommended!

por Charlotta S R

Jul 24, 2016

I loved this course, very interesting and great teacher!

por Paul P A

Mar 06, 2018

Than you professor Larry. I'll miss Larry's tree trimming service.

por Nguyễn N T N

Apr 15, 2016

A great teacher and interesting course ^^ Thank you so much.

por Laleen D

Mar 07, 2018

Prof. Larry DeBrock makes very complicated concepts seem simple and understandable. He shows how to apply the concept to contemporary relevant issues. I sincerely loved this class.

por Felipe R

Mar 01, 2018

Great course. Learned new ways of looking at the world.

por Ouatatchin K

Oct 08, 2016

An excellent course with very informative content!

por Abdelrahman K A

Jun 08, 2016

Awesome instructor, awesome materials and awesome learners. Of course, difficult assignments that I taught me a lot! Thank you Coursera, Dr. Larry and the entire team behind the scene.

por Iztok C

Mar 15, 2016

Great course!