Chevron Left
Voltar para Ethics, Technology and Engineering

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Ethics, Technology and Engineering da instituição Universidade Tecnológica de Eindhoven

4.7
estrelas
421 classificações
88 avaliações

Sobre o curso

There is an increasing attention to ethics in engineering practice. Engineers are supposed not only to carry out their work competently and skilfully, but also to be aware of the broader ethical and social implications of engineering and to be able to reflect on these. According to the Engineering Criteria 2000 of the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET) in the US, engineers must have “an understanding of professional and ethical responsibility” and should "understand the impact of engineering solutions in a global and societal context.” This course provides an introduction to ethics in engineering and technology. It helps engineers and students in engineering to acquire the competences mentioned in the ABET criteria or comparable criteria formulated in other countries. More specifically, this course helps engineers to acquire the following moral competencies: - Moral sensibility: the ability to recognize social and ethical issues in engineering; - Moral analysis skills: the ability to analyse moral problems in terms of facts, values, stakeholders and their interests; - Moral creativity: the ability to think out different options for action in the light of (conflicting) moral values and the relevant facts; - Moral judgement skills: the ability to give a moral judgement on the basis of different ethical theories or frameworks including professional ethics and common sense morality; - Moral decision-making skills: the ability to reflect on different ethical theories and frameworks and to make a decision based on that reflection. With respect to these competencies, our focus is on the concrete moral problems that engineers encounter in their professional practice. With the help of concrete cases is shown how the decision to develop a technology, as well as the process of design and production, is inherently moral. The attention of the learners is drawn towards the specific moral choices that engineers face. In relation to these concrete choices learners will encounter different reasons for and against certain actions, and they will discover that these reasons can be discussed. In this way, learners become aware of the moral dimensions of technology and acquire the argumentative capacities that are needed in moral debates with stakeholders (e.g. governments, users, and commercial business departments)....

Melhores avaliações

CF
20 de Jun de 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course. Most of the modules require critical thinking skills that I think helped me develop in terms of getting the proper approach to the questions.

KS
25 de Ago de 2020

A truly amazing course on Ethics in Engineering. I thoroughly enjoyed every concept of this course. I would highly recommend every engineer to complete this course.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 93 Avaliações para o Ethics, Technology and Engineering

por Juan J G R

7 de Nov de 2019

It is a excellent course, I have learned the consequences that could present if we performed a project determined of a way correctly moral and ethic. It is important to know as evolve in environment prefessionaly. Thank you. In addition, the book of Ethics, Technolgy and Engineering is very helpful in the developed of the course. I recommender it. See you soon.

por CHANDRASEKHARAN K A

13 de Jul de 2020

This course changed my perception on ethics relevant to my profession. The course is useful for not only engineers but for scientists and other professionals.

por Silviya A

30 de Jul de 2020

It is an excellent course! The materials are very well prepared and presented. The accumulation of new knowledge goes smoothly and the modules are very coherent. I had preliminary training in ethics, more precisely in bioethics and I am teaching bioethics to medical students for years. So I expected that the course would be very easy and I just wanted to up-grade knowledge to a new field. However, I was pleasantly surprised that even the concepts that were familiar to me were presented in a new way. I did learn new things and gained an insight into things that I already knew. The tests were very well prepared and balanced to the amount of theoretical texts. The examples of real cases were very appropriate and interesting. The mixture of different educational tasks was also very good. The quality of videos was excellent. I really enjoyed this course and it was one of my best educational experiences. Congratulations to the team of the Eindhoven University of Technology for developing and offering this course in Coursera! Thank you!

por CHANDRASHEKHAR B

7 de Set de 2020

It is really a wonderful course for a beginner and also to working professionals. It assumes greater significance in the present day technology development and its influence on the way people live, their thought process, and shapes their perspective. However, the irony is that not much attention is paid about virtues, morality, norms and legal awareness in the formative phase of human development. The course is an eye opener for all professionals and definitely help he/she to think in a different way after getting through the course. I really appreciate the efforts of the faculty in shaping and delivering such a course. ans also thank them profusely for providing such a course in such a lucid way.

por Maliha A

1 de Jan de 2020

It is a comprehensive course and taught in a very well manner. The case study approach of teaching is very suitable and relevant with respect to the course content. I enjoy learning. Excellent work !

Thanks

por Carmela F

20 de Jun de 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course. Most of the modules require critical thinking skills that I think helped me develop in terms of getting the proper approach to the questions.

por Kiran S

26 de Ago de 2020

A truly amazing course on Ethics in Engineering. I thoroughly enjoyed every concept of this course. I would highly recommend every engineer to complete this course.

por Christian K

14 de Dez de 2019

Fascinating and interesting course on ethics in combination with technology applied to engineering practices which was challenging but a great learning experience!

por Gerard R

24 de Jun de 2019

Great introductory course. This should be a must for every aspiring engineer or technology practitioner to get each in contact with one's humanity

por ABDULLAH M F

10 de Abr de 2021

The course was very helpful and gives a very good insight to how important ethics should be applied in the engineering profession.

por 01fe17bec227

16 de Fev de 2021

Its a great course which helps us to learn about Ethics and acquire some Engineering and technology knowledge.

por Lenka D

19 de Mar de 2021

The format of the course is extremely enjoyable, yet sometimes i didnt get proper feedback from tests

por John A E

2 de Nov de 2020

This course is also helpful for professions like engineers for ethical values and responsibilities

por 01fe17bme102

17 de Fev de 2021

It was a new experience learning this course in online mode.

The videos were self explanatory

por 鄧志堅

3 de Abr de 2020

This is a very challenging course. The cases provided in the course are highly relevant.

por PRITAM C

14 de Jun de 2021

It's a very good course ever i saw.....Thank You for this course on this platform

por Haripriya P

15 de Fev de 2021

Explaination and quiz are good enough to learn and undestand.

por Ashraf S

12 de Abr de 2020

Very informative and well structured. Thank you !

por Promise N

21 de Mai de 2021

A very enlightening course and essential indeed

por MUHAMAD Y R B Y A

22 de Jul de 2021

good course and it teaches to be professional

por JOGI S S

30 de Nov de 2020

good , course involved real life problems

por 13_IT_Anish A

10 de Jun de 2021

It was a pleasure to be a part of this !

por Deepak J

15 de Fev de 2021

Assume Education and great course

por Aritra D C

12 de Jul de 2021

this is a verry beautiful course

por anirban n

31 de Ago de 2020

It is a well conducted course.