Chevron Left
Voltar para Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas da instituição Universidade Estadual da Pensilvânia

4.7
715 classificações
170 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Not so long ago, it was almost guaranteed that you would die of an infectious disease. In fact, had you been born just 150 years ago, your chances of dying of an infectious disease before you've reached the tender age of 5 would have been extremely high. Since then, science has come a long way in understanding infectious diseases - what they are, how they spread, and how they can be prevented. But diseases like HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Tuberculosis, or the flu are still major killers worldwide, and novel emerging diseases are a constant threat to public health. In addition, the bugs are evolving. Antibiotics, our most potent weapon against bacterial infections, are losing their power because the bacteria are becoming resistant. In this course, we'll explore the major themes of infectious diseases dynamics. After we’ve covered the basics, we'll be looking at the dynamics of the flu, and why we're worried about flu pandemics. We'll be looking at the dynamics of childhood diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which were once considered almost eradicated, but are now making a comeback. We'll explore Malaria, and use it as a case study of the evolution of drug resistance. We'll even be looking at social networks - how diseases can spread from you to your friends to your friends' friends, and so on. And of course we’ll be talking about vaccination too. We’ll also be talking about how mobile phones, social media and crowdsourcing are revolutionizing disease surveillance, giving rise to a new field of digital epidemiology. And yes, we will be talking about Zombies - not human zombies, but zombie ants whose brains are hijacked by an infectious fungus. We're looking forward to having you join us for an exciting course!...

Melhores avaliações

DB

Apr 23, 2016

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

DJ

May 13, 2017

It is a wonderful course , I have gain and updated my Knowledge in the area of Epidemics and Infectious Disease, Thanks to the Course organizers and most effective presentations . Dr Shivaji

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas

por Bénédicte G

Aug 13, 2019

What a great comprehensive course about epidemics! Thank you so much to all of the people who gathered together to make this wonderful training and to share their knowledge with students!

por Cecilia I B M

Jun 14, 2019

SO interesting!! And a easily way to learn

por Prajwal K

Aug 18, 2019

The course was interesting and very well structured. I thank the Coursera team and as well as the instructors for their sharing their valuable time and knowledge.

por Hans M

Sep 10, 2019

Thank you so much. The course is Awesome

por Nahuel E P

Oct 07, 2019

Es excelente! Contenido muy didactico, super claro. Lo recomiendo.

por Charles B

Sep 16, 2019

I learned much more than I expected and will continue to explore epidemiology because of this course. I am 78 years old and a retired clinical pharmacist but still find things like this subject fascinating. Thanks to the faculty...well done

por Lazara M

Sep 24, 2019

This was definitely a wonderful, yet challenging course. I am in the military, and work in Preventive Medicine. I thought I was very strong in this field, as far as education is concerned, and I was far from it. Overall this course has brightened up the information I do have, and has better prepared me for future enrollment into graduate school.

por Teresa R

Nov 17, 2019

I became more knowledgeable of infectious diseases and I have been inspired to carry on researching the dynamics of zoonotic diseases and exploring the case studies of infections and natural history. Really enjoyed videos such as the Zombie Ants, Pathogen-Microbiome Interactions, Types of Immunity, Immunity Evasion and the theory behind the immunity response to infection and pathogen activity.

por Dr. C R

Oct 29, 2019

Great overview of a trending topic with in-depth and insightful information relevant to today’s healthcare challenges. Course is well thought out, and professionally presented by a group of dedicated scholars...well done!

por Malshi O G

Oct 12, 2019

Really good

por Marina B M

Nov 05, 2019

Really cool, basic knowledge! It is a great introduction to the field.

por Wojciech W

Feb 02, 2019

Very interesting course with many wonderful information presented in funny and engaging way.

por Ediri M

Apr 09, 2017

Really interesting course if you want to be more informed about the dynamics of global disease transmission and emergency responses

por Mark

Feb 12, 2017

Very thorough and comprehensive course--all lessons are in easily-understandable English

por Ivan B

Feb 10, 2017

Interesting course, I am a geo-information specialist and I took this Course to gain some understanding on epidemics so as to be of influence in mapping and modelling their spatial patterns. I have loved every bit of it especially the last part- Zombies!! I needed to hear more.

por Dr.Suguna D

Oct 02, 2016

Of course, its a nice course but the calculations were little more for me to understand as I am a Medical doctor. I enjoyed the course. Thanks one and all for helping me to understand the course

por Alejandro P

Aug 18, 2015

I liked the course, with its many different speakers and approaches.

The one thing I missed the most was seeing the models in action. Even if the course isn't aimed at scientists or programmers, there are free online simulations where one can adjust model constants to see the effects interactively without any knowledge required.

See NetLogo at http://ccl.northwestern.edu/netlogo/, for which there are forest fire, disease spread in networks, cellular automatas and many other interactive simulations. Insight providing questions may involve finding the value of a parameter such as the epidemic can't spread, for instance.

For more formula oriented optional exercises, I would recommend something similar to Differential Equations in Action from Udacity. It's a relatively easy course implementing the SIR model, physics and ABS. An exercise could be "modify the simulation to consider X% germs get resistant after each antibiotic treatment" (either in NetLogo, or Python).

por JOHN Q

Sep 09, 2015

Nice course and extremely we'll presented. Cood ideas and the presenters also did a great job.

por Alicia U V

Sep 29, 2015

Really good material. Lectures are fun to watch and easy to follow.

por Chris J

Dec 22, 2017

Excellent big picture overview of epidemics with very knowledgeable faculty bringing a wealth of expertise to the course.

por Jorja V

Nov 14, 2015

It is a great course, really interesting, really easy to complete though some of the topics are a bit challenging. Overall a great achievement to finish this course. (Although I didn't receive a certificate but at least I finished the course)

por Patrick R

Jun 15, 2016

Really nice introduction course. I am however a bit disappointed it did not went deeper in how the models of diseases spreading are built, and that the course overall does not go into much detail. A bit more technical detail (maths, biology etc.) would make this nice course a awesome course.

por Mariana V

Oct 26, 2015

Fantastic Course! great content and compelling presenters. It really opens your eyes to infectious diseases and all perspectives it braces, science, social aspects, biology, ecology. I recommend for bio/science folks.

por Brendan T

Sep 21, 2016

Great course, will def be looking for more like this.