Chevron Left
Voltar para Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas da instituição Universidade Estadual da Pensilvânia

4.7
694 classificações
166 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Not so long ago, it was almost guaranteed that you would die of an infectious disease. In fact, had you been born just 150 years ago, your chances of dying of an infectious disease before you've reached the tender age of 5 would have been extremely high. Since then, science has come a long way in understanding infectious diseases - what they are, how they spread, and how they can be prevented. But diseases like HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Tuberculosis, or the flu are still major killers worldwide, and novel emerging diseases are a constant threat to public health. In addition, the bugs are evolving. Antibiotics, our most potent weapon against bacterial infections, are losing their power because the bacteria are becoming resistant. In this course, we'll explore the major themes of infectious diseases dynamics. After we’ve covered the basics, we'll be looking at the dynamics of the flu, and why we're worried about flu pandemics. We'll be looking at the dynamics of childhood diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which were once considered almost eradicated, but are now making a comeback. We'll explore Malaria, and use it as a case study of the evolution of drug resistance. We'll even be looking at social networks - how diseases can spread from you to your friends to your friends' friends, and so on. And of course we’ll be talking about vaccination too. We’ll also be talking about how mobile phones, social media and crowdsourcing are revolutionizing disease surveillance, giving rise to a new field of digital epidemiology. And yes, we will be talking about Zombies - not human zombies, but zombie ants whose brains are hijacked by an infectious fungus. We're looking forward to having you join us for an exciting course!...

Melhores avaliações

DB

Apr 23, 2016

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

SN

Apr 12, 2016

great course and its intensive learning . One might think its just another course . However, one needs to follow all the lectures and notes closely to be able to pass all their assignments .

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas

por David A R R

Mar 08, 2017

muy interesante e introductorio a la dinámica de la enfermedades infecciosas que abarca determinantes tanto biológicos como sociales. Muy recomendado.

por Przemysław M J

Aug 25, 2015

Great course! Concise form and presentations are very inspiring. The variety of covered topics is definitely impressive. Even I have strong experience in Public Health, I personally find this course as extremely useful and helping in clarifying some concepts of epidemiology and infectious diseases.

por Josephine P

Oct 26, 2016

G

por Scott56

Aug 19, 2015

This is the best epidemiology course I have ever taken.

por Sigrun J J E

Aug 17, 2015

The course is very interesting and the pace and language is very accessible to understand

por Bertan A

Mar 30, 2017

I took this course out of the blue but in the end I really enjoyed it. Excellent for learning the new trends in epidemiology.

por Daniela R R

Aug 28, 2015

Great content presented in a very comprehensive way!

por Muhammad M

Sep 09, 2015

Love this course. Excited to attend more biology sciences courses from this university and these instructors...

por Kathy T

Oct 23, 2015

Top notch professors, amazing that you can get so much up-to-date relevant scientific information in a single course. Awesome course, recommend it for anyone remotely interested in health, disease, biology, social science.

por Abhishek

Mar 11, 2016

Very informative course.

por Lisa O

Dec 01, 2015

This was a fascinating course. Thank you.

por Daniel K

May 17, 2016

great course

por Teo C Y

Jun 20, 2016

Interesting, informative and easy to understand. Good!

por Gianguglielmo Z

Jun 12, 2018

Very very good course and very useful

por Ronald P

Jun 26, 2017

A wll-explained and interesting discussion of the problems of infectious diseases and our structures to deal with them.

por hossam g

Aug 30, 2015

excellent

por Lucas S f

Feb 04, 2016

very well

por Monika D

Aug 07, 2015

I really like the way the videos are prepared. It had to take a lot of work, but I love those drawings. It makes it look alive. I like the content as well. It is well structured and well presented. Thank you so much!!!!

por Nastassja F B A

Mar 30, 2016

The course was taught in a simple and effective manner.

por Chris V G

Jul 24, 2016

Excellent introduction and refreshingly presented, Thank You!!

por Marc B F

Mar 31, 2018

Very interesting, covering a great diversity of topics inside the epidemics field and easy to follow

por Kesmic A J

Jun 13, 2016

This was a great course!

por gaobinn@yahoo.com

Apr 05, 2017

neat course by nice team

por Nicole M

Oct 11, 2015

This was one of my first online courses and I think the lecturers did an excellent job of conveying the material especially through this medium. They were also quick to respond to any questions that I had about lectures. I loved the material they presented as well. Great Course. I would definitely recommend it.

por Karalee H

Dec 17, 2015

I loved this course and learned way more than I thought I would. Thank you!