Chevron Left
Voltar para Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas da instituição Universidade Estadual da Pensilvânia

4.7
stars
732 classificações
176 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Not so long ago, it was almost guaranteed that you would die of an infectious disease. In fact, had you been born just 150 years ago, your chances of dying of an infectious disease before you've reached the tender age of 5 would have been extremely high. Since then, science has come a long way in understanding infectious diseases - what they are, how they spread, and how they can be prevented. But diseases like HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Tuberculosis, or the flu are still major killers worldwide, and novel emerging diseases are a constant threat to public health. In addition, the bugs are evolving. Antibiotics, our most potent weapon against bacterial infections, are losing their power because the bacteria are becoming resistant. In this course, we'll explore the major themes of infectious diseases dynamics. After we’ve covered the basics, we'll be looking at the dynamics of the flu, and why we're worried about flu pandemics. We'll be looking at the dynamics of childhood diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which were once considered almost eradicated, but are now making a comeback. We'll explore Malaria, and use it as a case study of the evolution of drug resistance. We'll even be looking at social networks - how diseases can spread from you to your friends to your friends' friends, and so on. And of course we’ll be talking about vaccination too. We’ll also be talking about how mobile phones, social media and crowdsourcing are revolutionizing disease surveillance, giving rise to a new field of digital epidemiology. And yes, we will be talking about Zombies - not human zombies, but zombie ants whose brains are hijacked by an infectious fungus. We're looking forward to having you join us for an exciting course!...

Melhores avaliações

DB

Apr 23, 2016

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

SN

Apr 12, 2016

great course and its intensive learning . One might think its just another course . However, one needs to follow all the lectures and notes closely to be able to pass all their assignments .

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Epidemias - A Dinâmica das Doenças Infecciosas

por José L C H

May 21, 2016

Excelent course!

por Aruhomukama D

Aug 22, 2018

Great Course !

por Kolby N

Aug 27, 2017

Great Course

por Daniel K

May 17, 2016

great course

por Malshi O G

Oct 12, 2019

Really good

por deuzuita b d m

Mar 06, 2016

it is good

por Sara K

Apr 28, 2017

Loved it!

por Lucas S f

Feb 04, 2016

very well

por 李晓雨

Sep 01, 2015

very good

por hossam g

Aug 30, 2015

excellent

por Ricardo G R

Aug 14, 2015

Amazing!

por eleonor

Jun 10, 2016

great!

por 邵红霞

Nov 22, 2017

great

por ttnyeo

Apr 21, 2016

Nice

por Josephine P

Oct 26, 2016

G

por Kuong S

Oct 08, 2015

R

por Alejandro P

Aug 18, 2015

I liked the course, with its many different speakers and approaches.

The one thing I missed the most was seeing the models in action. Even if the course isn't aimed at scientists or programmers, there are free online simulations where one can adjust model constants to see the effects interactively without any knowledge required.

See NetLogo at http://ccl.northwestern.edu/netlogo/, for which there are forest fire, disease spread in networks, cellular automatas and many other interactive simulations. Insight providing questions may involve finding the value of a parameter such as the epidemic can't spread, for instance.

For more formula oriented optional exercises, I would recommend something similar to Differential Equations in Action from Udacity. It's a relatively easy course implementing the SIR model, physics and ABS. An exercise could be "modify the simulation to consider X% germs get resistant after each antibiotic treatment" (either in NetLogo, or Python).

por Stephen N H

Nov 13, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Disease. As a final year student doctor with an interest in infectious disease, I found this course was a very engaging and enlightening way of expanding my knowledge of infectious disease. My perspective of Epidemics and infectious diseases had greatly broadened. Would absolutely recommend this course to anyone interested in Epidemics, infectious disease, healthcare, or microbiology.

por Gita E

Jan 16, 2020

The e-course was definitely very interesting, however, the quizzes were very annoying as well at times. I would spend more hours trying to pass these quizzes rather than actually learning from the course's content towards the end of it. Still, I recommend this course to anyone who wants an expansive introduction to infectious diseases.

por Patrick R

Jun 15, 2016

Really nice introduction course. I am however a bit disappointed it did not went deeper in how the models of diseases spreading are built, and that the course overall does not go into much detail. A bit more technical detail (maths, biology etc.) would make this nice course a awesome course.

por Ivan B

Feb 10, 2017

Interesting course, I am a geo-information specialist and I took this Course to gain some understanding on epidemics so as to be of influence in mapping and modelling their spatial patterns. I have loved every bit of it especially the last part- Zombies!! I needed to hear more.

por devina r

Jun 10, 2016

I felt that this course was more information driven and just getting to know facts and facts and more facts . though this course is designed for anybody to do I feel a student would do better if they had past experience and knowledge about a few common diseases.

por Jorja V

Nov 14, 2015

It is a great course, really interesting, really easy to complete though some of the topics are a bit challenging. Overall a great achievement to finish this course. (Although I didn't receive a certificate but at least I finished the course)

por Lorna M

Oct 20, 2015

Nice course. I sometimes wished the lectures had more in depth coverage of the material instead of so many "big picture" statements. But overall, the course was a nice overview of diseases. Thank you to the instructors!

por Mariana V

Oct 26, 2015

Fantastic Course! great content and compelling presenters. It really opens your eyes to infectious diseases and all perspectives it braces, science, social aspects, biology, ecology. I recommend for bio/science folks.