Chevron Left
Voltar para Emergence of Life

Emergence of Life, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.4
57 classificações
15 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

How did life emerge on Earth? How have life and Earth co-evolved through geological time? Is life elsewhere in the universe? Take a look through the 4-billion-year history of life on Earth through the lens of the modern Tree of Life! This course will evaluate the entire history of life on Earth within the context of our cutting-edge understanding of the Tree of Life. This includes the pioneering work of Professor Carl Woese on the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign campus which revolutionized our understanding with a new "Tree of Life." Other themes include: -Reconnaissance of ancient primordial life before the first cell evolved -The entire ~4-billion-year development of single- and multi-celled life through the lens of the Tree of Life -The influence of Earth system processes (meteor impacts, volcanoes, ice sheets) on shaping and structuring the Tree of Life This synthesis emphasizes the universality of the emergence of life as a prelude for the search for extraterrestrial life....
Filtrar por:

15 avaliações

por Anthony D. Moore

Apr 09, 2018

Very Interesting subject matter.

por DC

Mar 28, 2018

This course really jumps from one broad aspect to another. I really hate that unlike edX, you cannot really do much without purchasing the course. Whenever you resume, it takes you to the orientation quiz that you can't even submit without buying the course (can't even do an orientation quiz for free?). And if you don't pay attention to what you can or cannot do if auditing the course you can do a whole assignment then find out you can't even submit it. This should be spelled out before you begin.

por Ramkumar.D

Feb 07, 2018

very useful

por Victoria C Leo

Jan 07, 2018

A first-rate experience - some new ideas, some review, all excellent. Good quality speakers. Next time, use cats instead of ferrets, more well-behaved. Ideas are built on each other in a good ed-psych way. Bravo/brava.

por Nikhataaliya

Sep 06, 2017

Superb instructor!

And very precise and detailed information.

Thank you so much for putting together such a beautiful course.

por Sourav Chattopadhyay

Aug 07, 2017

The course materials especially the multiple choice questions are intentionally designed to fail students. The assignments are not good and why it should be checked by peers and why we should be subjected to write two different essays on same week and check others for no reasons. There is an over emphasis on Carl Woese and his works and less emphasis on other important course materials, the lectures are not that engaging and not good explaination is provided and students are flooded with lectures on Carl Woese and his greatness which I find pretty baffling and time consuming.

I expected more from this course but compared to other courses this one is more challenging and intentionally designed to over emphasize Carl Woese and fail students by repeatedly bombarding us by needless written assignments.

por Mark

Jun 03, 2017

Good overview course of ALL life even though I was expecting something more on the early emergence of life rather than the Carboniferous-->Mesozoic-->Cenozoic; loses a star for restricting quizzes & activities to only paying members

por Joy Smith

Apr 27, 2017

Different, fun approach. Basic science.

por Shenyan Zhen

Apr 11, 2017

Excellent lectures. Personal transformation observed while watching.

por D.

Apr 06, 2017

An excellent course! Drs Bruce and Carlie really made the course enjoyable, and their combination was crucial to my enjoyment and knowledge gained. Thanks so much for the course and the huge amount of work you must have put into it.