Chevron Left
Voltar para Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future da instituição Sistema de Universidades do ColoradoUniversidade do Colorado

4.6
stars
142 classificações
51 avaliações

Sobre o curso

THIS COURSE GIVES YOU THE INSIDE TRACK TO A COMPLICATED INDUSTRY. The approach of this course is truly unique in how it approaches and engages learners. It looks at the electric utility industry, which has remained critical to our quality of life, health and comfort from the eyes of numerous industry experts through on-location interviews, compelling visuals, and animation. You will benefit from having the inside track because you see some behind-the-scenes information not covered in news stories, social media or even if we are in the business ourselves. EACH WEEK YOU NOT ONLY LEARN WHAT IS CHANGING, BUT WHY. As this industry continues to unfold at an unprecedented pace, you will be armed with knowledge and insights to form informed opinions supporting decisions you will increasingly make for your energy-dependent homes and businesses. This course kicks off with animated crash course on industry history, highlighting aspects of the structure, governance, and technology that remain today, despite the passage of time. Then, throughout the modules, you will build some basics about how electricity gets to you, who watches over decisions, including setting rates. This information establishes a knowledge foundation so that when we explore some of the most critical topics, like renewable energy, smart grid, battery storage, and you can think about it from a much more analytical and critical viewpoint. YOU WILL DEVELOP A FRAMEWORK FOR MAKING SENSE OF THIS INDUSTRY THAT WILL BENEFIT YOU BEYOND THIS COURSE. This industry can get pretty complicated, and this course will help you make more sense of it. Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future is the course for you whether you’re just curious about the industry or an industry veteran looking to grow – or, thinking about joining the industry. (Hint: now is a good time. You'll learn why in this course.) No prior education or experience required. You just need a healthy curiosity and an open mind to learn about an industry that I think a lot of us, including myself sometimes, take for granted....

Melhores avaliações

CR

Sep 27, 2017

Great course for people who have no clue how utilities and microgrids work. Take this class if you're considering diving deeper into concepts like green energy, regulation and distributed generation.

WH

Jan 29, 2018

Excellent overview of electric utilities even for a novice like me. It discussed the present challenges and future endeavors of the industry.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future

por Yash V G

Jun 23, 2018

Firstly i would thank and appreciate coursera for providing me with the financial aid and helping out numerous other aspiring students waiting to gain knowledge that is very crucial in the upbringing of the society. This course is very much important in understanding the Electrical Utility sector. I would highly recommend this course to the aspiring students as this is very beneficial. Thank you Cousera and Thank you Melissa Wood for this wonderful piece of knowledge!

por VIVEK R S

Jul 25, 2017

I am particularly pleased with the course content and the way it has been organized into modules. The in-lecture pop-up questions keeps one on their toes and the end-of-module quizzes aid in further solidifying the concepts learnt. But what really struck me as praiseworthy was the logical and coherent flow of the subject matter. The topics discussed in the course forums are also worthy of a mention. By and large, an excellent course! 9.5/10. Thank you!!

por Micaela C

Jul 25, 2018

Great overview - informative, easy to listen to, loved the variety between videos, lectures, and guest speakers. Seriously amazing! Also loved that controversial topics were introduced with so many sides to the story - I really felt like I learned in a way where I was encouraged to form my own educated opinion as opposed to adopting an opinion of anyone else. So many valid sides to every story were presented in a factual way. Thank you!

por Rick V

Dec 21, 2019

I enjoyed the course and it was a great overview for me as I am starting to work in the electric industry. I believe that having a good overview will help provide me more context as I am working in the IT cost analysis and contracts management. The course also introduced me to the regulatory component and its impact on how decisions are made for projects. I would recommend anyone in the industry to take this course.

por Dheeraj S B

Jul 15, 2017

Wonderful course. Very clearly explained everything and good amount of practical knowledge. Electric utility and over all distribution of electric energy is such an complex task and are done amazingly every hour. Made me more aware of the real ground facts, industry and sate efforts and the state planning on providing the most necessary part of society which general public not even realize.

por usman

Jun 17, 2017

The course is very informative and provide a lot of learning about the electric utilities working in current scenario and also focus on there future. Greatly briefed about the new technologies in electric utilities and shared experience of experts of the industry. Overall, it is a very learning and useful course for the people working in the electric utilities industry.

por Michael A L

Sep 09, 2017

"Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future" was an outstanding introduction to the rapidly changing--and, believe it or not, actually now exciting--electric utility industry. For those seeking an easy-to-digest yet intelligent overview of this major sector, dive on in.

por Marzieh J

Nov 01, 2017

The instructor is very passionate and knowledgeable about the topic. Her tone and gesture shows confidence. The interviews with utility professionals is bringing the reality to the course materials. I really enjoyed it and I hope you enjoy it too.

por Kiran B

Aug 18, 2017

it is very informative and high level to understand the utility industry. Instructor is great. Must for everyone who pays utility bills as things are taking off in this industry and the customer is not just the consumer anymore.

por Mohsin A

Jan 25, 2018

From the very basic to the advance and future of the Electricity, They have taught a lot of things in this course about this field. I like this course, structure, and information sharing techniques. Thank You So much.

por Anoop P

Jun 18, 2017

Hi,

Thank you very much. There is no excuse to learn now after going through this course. Would request you to come up with similar advances courses on the same topic. Presenter was excellent !

Regards,

Anoop

por Carlos R

Sep 27, 2017

Great course for people who have no clue how utilities and microgrids work. Take this class if you're considering diving deeper into concepts like green energy, regulation and distributed generation.

por Dougal H P

Dec 19, 2019

Great introduction to power market structures and the role/profile of the Utilities. Perspective of the electric market innovations and evolution seems to be complex and exciting.

por Ale R

Jan 08, 2018

Really nice course, good moderation and interesting topics, I really enjoyed to have more information on screen and that it was not just read out loud.

por Werner H

Jan 29, 2018

Excellent overview of electric utilities even for a novice like me. It discussed the present challenges and future endeavors of the industry.

por Ansuman P

Sep 05, 2017

Great curriculum coupled with interviews and experts from leading Utilities makes this really interesting to learn this evolving industry.

por Enrique A

Jul 28, 2017

Very Good basic course about Electric Utilities. You don't need to be in the Electrical Utility Industry to benefit from this course.

por Burak M

Oct 15, 2018

Fantastic course providing fundamental foundational information about the industry and its different elements.

por Aravind V

Jun 10, 2017

Excellent course! Worth watching every video twice. Great overview of the electric utility industry in the US.

por Aashish

Jul 05, 2017

Well designed program - recommend for anyone interesting in getting a view of the utilities business.

por Edgar S

Nov 12, 2017

Right to the topic. It gave me a broad vision of what is going on in the Electric utility business.

por Justin

May 11, 2018

Solid course! I am a regulatory analyst but I liked having more of an overview of the industry!

por Tony M

Feb 19, 2018

Outstanding and very informative course. This knowledge will help propel my education forward

por miguel a r l

Jun 04, 2018

I must! In order to understand the already complex world of Electrical Markets!

por Sahil S N

Oct 01, 2017

Excellent briefings about the all the concepts. very useful for basic knowledge