Chevron Left
Voltar para Calculus: Single Variable Part 2 - Differentiation

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Calculus: Single Variable Part 2 - Differentiation da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
528 classificações
98 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this second part--part two of five--we cover derivatives, differentiation rules, linearization, higher derivatives, optimization, differentials, and differentiation operators....

Melhores avaliações

JB

Feb 18, 2018

So much fun, and hits all sorts of things I'd always wanted to know. The homework took me a long time, so I didn't get to watch all the bonus lectures, but the ones I did were really interesting.

WG

Feb 17, 2017

Not a class for someone with no calculus experience. However, if you have some calculus knowledge it will deepen your knowledge more than any other MOOC I have found. Truly a great course.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Calculus: Single Variable Part 2 - Differentiation

por 江祖榮

Jul 19, 2019

Good in giving though-invoking concept and visualization of differentiation, chain rule, relative rate of change, as well as Newton's linear approximation.

These corresponding demo example are illustrative and help us understand the main idea and underlying metaphor of differential operator "D" and symbol df/dx.

In addition, the technique of domain change in differentiation by using exponent and logarithm and implicit differentiation is really powerful and useful.

por Nruparaj S

Jun 30, 2018

It's really a learning experience. Questions have the practical approach. It provides a wider prospective of knowledge and application. Thank you for being a part this group.

por JORGE E M L V

May 26, 2019

Excelente curso donde aprendí el cálculo de variable real, lo recomiendo mucho ya que se aprende bastante acerca del tema

por Junjie W

Jul 11, 2019

It is a very informative course!

por Kevin O

Aug 22, 2019

This is an extremely useful and informative course into which Dr. Ghrist has poured an enormous amount of energy, work, knowledge, and forethought. He is an exceptionally talented polyglot of both Mathematics and English, but I could have used additional explanations as to how to tackle the problems. I would have preferred it if solutions would have been provided for the quizzes and challenge problems. I believe that one learns calculus best this way, but Dr. Ghrist has become another excellent mentor that I have been fortunate enough to have in my quest to understand calculus.

por Brian N A

Jul 11, 2018

As with part I, a real benefit of this course is its quality practice problems. They require you to work. I usually spent at least 30 minutes per problem (sometimes hours at the extreme), so you end up accumulating a lot of practice, and it certainly pays. I haven't previously put much effort in math, and as a result I would often make errors in my derivations. Not only does this course expose you to a lot of methods and knowledge, but the sheer amount of practice has made me inherently less prone to errors. Which makes math a LOT more fun.

por Ayman I F S

Jul 26, 2019

Smart way of teaching, giving you the chance to learn new things with a very interactive way, enlarging your brain and synapses fire in it.

The core home work is the best practice to what you have learnt in the lectures and do not be discouraged solving the challenging H.W., keep going and "think outside the box.", you will learn a lot.

Thanks Prof. Ghrist, you are awesome.

por Gregorio A A P

Jul 08, 2017

Excelente, felicitaciones , solo que es triste no poder disfrutar al 100% un curso de esta calidad al no estar traducido al español, le agradecería que por favor lo traduzca del ingles al idioma español ya que solo esta parcialmente traducido.

nuevamente felicitaciones por la gran didáctica con la que imparte el curso y sobre todo por la calidad con la que enseña.

por Derek S

Aug 04, 2019

When I encounter differentials in the future, I will think of the techniques and graphics that I learnt in this lessons as either a mental tool or a reference. The part 2 is as good as the first part 1 and I expect to this level of quality in more advanced chapters.

por Aaditya S K

Nov 25, 2018

This course really helped me to learn various different skills to differentiate and developed my interest in calculus a lot..I really thank Sir Robert Ghrist from bottom of my heart for designing such a wonderful course for learners...

por Nikita S

May 01, 2018

Amazing. Even if you took Calculus before, find several hours for this course, it explains a lot of interesting nuisances of differentiation with lots of unexpecting applications and thrilling problems.

por Jim B

Feb 18, 2018

So much fun, and hits all sorts of things I'd always wanted to know. The homework took me a long time, so I didn't get to watch all the bonus lectures, but the ones I did were really interesting.

por Wolfe G

Feb 17, 2017

Not a class for someone with no calculus experience. However, if you have some calculus knowledge it will deepen your knowledge more than any other MOOC I have found. Truly a great course.

por Utkarsh R

Jan 17, 2016

This module is great. The thing I like most is how professor implements the theory into Physics and other realistic models. Ive also begun liking statistics a little bit. Now, part 3.

por Carlos A

Jun 26, 2017

Great, really good. Again great videolectures, great examples, nice bonuses.

I think I mentioned this but again, great videos, the colors, the clarity. Thanks.

por Alejandro C

Oct 25, 2016

This is, by far, the best course I have ever taken. I will take the Multivariable Calculus course when it is open, after finishing the 5 S.V.C. courses.

por Nishant P

Oct 24, 2017

Explanations are crystal clear, with a strong emphasis on developing a deep conceptual understanding of math rather than "calculating derivatives"

por Xiaolin H

Feb 21, 2018

Excellent! I really love this course. The Professor is awesome! He succeeds teaching the hard course in a easily understandable way. Great!

por CMC

Jun 29, 2018

This course has an appropriate amount of rigor for an intermediate math course. I was pleasantly surprised at how much I have learned.

por Shraavan S

Oct 03, 2018

Great for reviewing concepts! Techniques for evaluating complex limits and the Taylor series have been explained very well.

por Lord L A

Nov 26, 2018

This course is good because there are challenging questions which helps you apply the concepts in calculus!

por Eva N

Jan 05, 2020

I liked this course very much. The lessons are clear and interesting, the exams challenging but feasible.

por BoWen T

Mar 12, 2019

It's very good for me to start a new way to the math and it opens up my new ideas, thanks to professior G

por Maria S

Mar 06, 2016

Recommended also for people who wants to review the topics after passing this subject in College!

por Uygun S

Feb 08, 2016

just excellent, please make one on linear algebra, discrete mathematics and multivariate calculus