Chevron Left
Voltar para Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Davis

4.0
estrelas
53 classificações
21 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course allows you to apply the SQL skills taught in “SQL for Data Science” to four increasingly complex and authentic data science inquiry case studies. We'll learn how to convert timestamps of all types to common formats and perform date/time calculations. We'll select and perform the optimal JOIN for a data science inquiry and clean data within an analysis dataset by deduping, running quality checks, backfilling, and handling nulls. We'll learn how to segment and analyze data per segment using windowing functions and use case statements to execute conditional logic to address a data science inquiry. We'll also describe how to convert a query into a scheduled job and how to insert data into a date partition. Finally, given a predictive analysis need, we'll engineer a feature from raw data using the tools and skills we've built over the course. The real-world application of these skills will give you the framework for performing the analysis of an AB test....

Melhores avaliações

SP

Jul 30, 2019

The instructor is very smart and her syllabus is very easy to follow. The real life examples are great and helps put ideas in perspective! I would definitely recommend this course and already have!

JB

Dec 30, 2019

A very thorough overview of SQL and how to best structure data tables and metrics for AB testing. I appreciate the high quality content of the UC Davis courses!

Filtrar por:

1 — 21 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Data Wrangling, Analysis and AB Testing with SQL

por Michael P

Aug 13, 2019

Lots of "oh wait, let me catch my own mistakes" on the videos. It appears to be sloppy, rather than a "teaching moment" for how one might debug the query.

por Susan L

Nov 08, 2019

I liked the content of this course. It is very practical. The teaching style was frustrating for me, though. I understand that the instructor wanted us to "see" that everyone, even experts, make silly mistakes when they code (like forget ,'s or the mis-name variables), but watching mistakes being made in EVERY solutions video was too much. More time should have been taken explaining the coding concepts, rather than watching mistakes.

Also, there wasn't much discussion. I had trouble with some of the early assignments and (as instructed) asked for help in the discussion. But no one EVER responded! So I stopped asking for help. Basically, everyone just wrote "done" or something like that. To be fair, I'm not sure anyone actually looked at or read the discussion threads. You just had to write something in the discussion box to unlock the solutions video.

There also seemed to be some errors in the solution codes. Some of the solutions were fine, but others spawned errors when I cut and pasted them into Mode (the software we used). I still don't understand in one of the final assignments how the instructor used the table dsv1069.events_big (or something like that that wasn't listed as one of the files we had access to). When I tried using this file in my own code, I got an error. When I cut and pasted the entire solution code, I got an error. Maybe I was doing something wrong. I just don't know. But gaining this understanding was something I really wanted to learn …

por Shriti P

Jul 30, 2019

The instructor is very smart and her syllabus is very easy to follow. The real life examples are great and helps put ideas in perspective! I would definitely recommend this course and already have!

por Tianmin

Nov 26, 2019

The solution data in the video sometimes do not match with the tasks provided

por Alex B

Feb 04, 2020

this was the worst one I've taken on coursera. I couldn't really concentrate on what the instructor talks about in the video because I had to listen how she slams the keys while typing the code. Seriously? Couldn't that part have been muted out? This was a very bad experience. I'm going to have to take a different course on SQL AB testing

por Sanija K

Jan 05, 2020

Awful explanation. No structure.

por Marie-Eve J

Feb 11, 2020

There is a big gap between what was taught in the previous class and what is expected to be known in this class. Moreover, the instructor often poorly explains the codes that she is teaching in the solution videos. and don't seem to have been critically reviewed for improvements.

por Cristina R

Jan 17, 2020

Pretty informative course!

Sometimes the descriptions of the practice exercises seem a bit fuzzy, but as you go with the course it gets easier to understand how to interpret the requirements. Very helpful solution videos!

por Alexandre C

Dec 12, 2019

I find the teacher very interesting.

The cases were also interesting.

Harder key concepts like windowing functions or multiple subqueries should be included in courses and not only in exercices solution videos.

por Mehrshad E

Jan 08, 2020

Good course, not very productive instruction though!

por Annie L

Feb 28, 2020

It was awful. The whole course was poorly structured or at least I couldn't understand the logic between the lessons.

Watching the videos was truly painful: I don't understand the virtues of watching someone type with all the typing noise, the countless mistakes and few proper explanation. We should have had access to slides, with the code on one side and comments on the other, such as in the previous course.

It is a unfortunate we have no access to the code in a format that could be copy-pasted neither in the instructions nor in the solutions.

On the whole, I don't really understand how such a course can be put online without more serious proof testing. Some of the instructions were out of date (using databases that were not provided) or sometimes the solutions gave results different from what we would get typing the exact same code. These problems are long reported by other learners on the forum, without being corrected.

And the final test? I found the instructions very poor: we had to do two graphs without being told what question they should answer. If I did right, these graphs did not add anything to the solution compared to a simple table. The whole test was just a replication of something seen the last week of the course ; what we were told the previous weeks was of no use at all in there. And the 'solution' does not provides the numbers needed to properly grade the works. Has no one re-read it?

por Karina S

Jan 19, 2020

Great course!! I have learned a lot about how to evaluate the quality of the data received, how to problem solve with SQL when asked ambiguous business requirements, tips to do multiple selection editing in text editor (that was a great discovery!), metrics and AB testing. Highly recommended!

por Jennifer B

Dec 30, 2019

A very thorough overview of SQL and how to best structure data tables and metrics for AB testing. I appreciate the high quality content of the UC Davis courses!

por Steven K C W

Nov 01, 2019

Amazing work guys! I enjoyed the coding part a lot. Thank you!

por Gary T

Dec 06, 2019

SQL, Data Wrangling. Challenging and fun course.

por Saman S

Jan 27, 2020

fantastic

por Christos V

Dec 16, 2019

I recommend the course in general. It has a combination of theoretical principles and hands on exercises in order to familiarize with the concepts behind the course.

On the other hand, I believe that instructions in order to perform and complete the exercises were not always clear which resulted in losing lots of time in order to try to decode what the actual expectations were.

But once again, a good course, giving insight in data wrangling and AB testing.

por Karan B

Mar 21, 2020

Course was ok overall. I learned the basics and the SQL was good. I learned a lot about the basics of SQL through the course. However, the video could have been better edited and the prompts/questions (especially in the final project) were difficult to understand.

por Paul M

Mar 02, 2020

In the peer-review part of the final project, the lack of answers and the lack of any updates to this issue from the staff knocked this course down from what could have been a very good course experience.

por Ignacio I

Mar 15, 2020

Some of the excercises are challenging but most of the times the instructions are not 100% clear. Also, despite statistics are not the core topic of the course, further explainations on ABTesting would be useful in order to make the process of answering meaningful.

por Ziyang F

Mar 19, 2020

suck