Chevron Left
Voltar para Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Creative Writing: The Craft of Character da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.5
1,029 classificações
291 avaliações

Sobre o curso

At the center of a good story are the characters in it. In this course aspiring writers will discover how to build and bring to life complex, vivid and unforgettable characters. We will study the choices a writer makes to bring all characters to life on the page, and we will perform written exercises in order to develop a variety of writing and pre-writing techniques, in order to create a variety of characters. We will learn how to use our own life experiences, and the people we know (and how not to!). We will develop inner (thoughts and feelings) and outer (appearance, habits, behavior) lives for our characters and see how that can lead us to richer and more interesting stories. We will breathe life into our characters and let them surprise us....

Melhores avaliações

SS

Aug 11, 2016

I loved this course! Extremely useful and hands on. The course instructor was really impressive, both informative and empathetic, both arty and to the point. Totally admired her style of instruction.

ND

Aug 08, 2016

Excellent teaching, be aware the meat of this course is in the interviews. If you read and watch them then the assignments are self-explanatory. The discussion boards were however a disappointment.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

por John L

Mar 25, 2019

I recently completed the 5-course specialization in creative writing. For the most part the course material presented was good, especially the courses on plot, on setting, and on style. The course on characterization was a little vague. From the syllabus, it looked like it would be a good course, but the instructor did not follow the syllabus and was often very unfocussed in her presentation.

The weakness with this specialization is that all the feedback to the writer is provided by peers in the course. This I found very disappointing. Many of the other students were honestly very poor writers, and as a result, the feedback I received on my assignments was very superficial. In addition, rather than being able to learn from reading the writing of others, I found for the most part that the pieces submitted by others were very lacking.

If you take this course, know that it will provide you some good information about writing fiction, but the feedback you receive on your assignments will not help you learn. You will need to find another peer group of writers to help you with that.

por Nada D

Aug 08, 2016

Excellent teaching, be aware the meat of this course is in the interviews. If you read and watch them then the assignments are self-explanatory. The discussion boards were however a disappointment.

por sinjini

Aug 11, 2016

I loved this course! Extremely useful and hands on. The course instructor was really impressive, both informative and empathetic, both arty and to the point. Totally admired her style of instruction.

por Kathryn A M

Jun 19, 2019

This the best writing course that I have taken. Only drawback is that while I appreciate the positive feedback, it would be helpful to have professional feedback.

por Lidia E E

Jun 03, 2019

Course would be more meaningful if a mentor intermittently commented on a students work.

por Brigitte P

Nov 19, 2018

Love this course. The videos were well presented and explained and the assignments were good practice.

por Raul N C G

Dec 21, 2018

Good course and interesting exercises. The instructor tackled the course in a bit different way that works fairly well for the course and its content.

por Hana H

Dec 22, 2018

Very good course for everyone interested in writing

por Alfred K

Nov 27, 2018

Amy Bloom is everything you will want in teacher. Character was never known until I started this course. Who is the character in the story, what quirks, beliefs, normal or abnormal behaviour do the show? I learnt a lot from this course and keep renewing my knowledge when ever \i fell the need to.

It was fun and enjoyable. Thank you Amy.

por Judy W W J

Nov 27, 2018

Great course that exceeded my expectations.

por Cara C

Jan 06, 2019

Wonderful, inspiring.

por LeAttol ( E L

Jan 09, 2019

The students submitting offer a surprising amount of talent and inspiration. The course itself is well made so as to provide students with the rationale to overachieve -LeAttol

por Cornelia B

Jan 23, 2019

Amy Bloom's way of taking you right down to the essence of things brings a debth to your understanding of creative writing and ups your work. Her focus in the course on character and how to reveal this critical part of your writing is an essential tool any aspiring writer should have. A must do!

por Michael Y

Feb 08, 2019

The second part of Wesleyan's Creative Writing course is, yet again, a wealth of knowledge for aspiring writers of all types. Thanks to Amy Bloom, Coursera, and Wesleyan University!

por Polina K

Feb 23, 2019

I learned a lot thanks to this course. The teachers are wonderful, and so is the information provided. I can feel my writing improve. Thank you:)

por chris j b

Mar 01, 2019

Amy Bloom is such a caring, conscientious, nurturing teacher, who addresses the class (via video camera) as if only speaking to you. There's a kind of intimacy to her teaching style, and her sincerity and expertise at expressing concepts and examples of character craft allowed her teachings to truly "seat" in my mind. Thank you, Amy.

por Frankie W

Mar 08, 2019

Amy Bloom was amazing. I loved her style of teaching. I would absolutely take a class with her again

por Esha B

Mar 07, 2019

Have learnt many new tricks and Amy Bloom's talks are absolutely wonderful! Thank you so much!

por sepas h

Dec 14, 2018

such a great course to take in order to get familiar with the integral foundations for anyone who is interested in creative writing but does not know where to start.

por Victoria F S

Dec 28, 2018

All of the Creative Writing courses have been helpful to me in grounding me in my writing practice. I cannot thank you all enough for this experience.

por Joe M

Jan 15, 2019

My second course in this specialization. Definitely had me thinking critically about how I write characters and a lot of tools that I hadn't really considered before.

por james r

Mar 21, 2019

I see a marked improvement in both my confidence and skill as a writer from each of these classes.

por Homer W

Aug 06, 2018

"The Craft of Character" is a basic building block to understanding character narration.

por Denise F

Aug 07, 2018

Learned a lot! Love Amy Bloom's teaching.

por josé c l h

Jul 21, 2018

A vibrant