Chevron Left
Voltar para Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

Creative Writing: The Craft of Character, Wesleyan University

4.5
884 classificações
254 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

At the center of a good story are the characters in it. In this course aspiring writers will discover how to build and bring to life complex, vivid and unforgettable characters. We will study the choices a writer makes to bring all characters to life on the page, and we will perform written exercises in order to develop a variety of writing and pre-writing techniques, in order to create a variety of characters. We will learn how to use our own life experiences, and the people we know (and how not to!). We will develop inner (thoughts and feelings) and outer (appearance, habits, behavior) lives for our characters and see how that can lead us to richer and more interesting stories. We will breathe life into our characters and let them surprise us....

Melhores avaliações

por SS

Aug 11, 2016

I loved this course! Extremely useful and hands on. The course instructor was really impressive, both informative and empathetic, both arty and to the point. Totally admired her style of instruction.

por ND

Aug 08, 2016

Excellent teaching, be aware the meat of this course is in the interviews. If you read and watch them then the assignments are self-explanatory. The discussion boards were however a disappointment.

Filtrar por:

248 avaliações

por sepas haghighi

Dec 14, 2018

such a great course to take in order to get familiar with the integral foundations for anyone who is interested in creative writing but does not know where to start.

por Laura Beegle

Dec 08, 2018

Good information in the videos. The assignments were difficult and didn't seem related to the material from the lectures.

por Judy Wanjiku Wanderi Jørgensen

Nov 27, 2018

Great course that exceeded my expectations.

por Alfred Kamara-Laye

Nov 27, 2018

Amy Bloom is everything you will want in teacher. Character was never known until I started this course. Who is the character in the story, what quirks, beliefs, normal or abnormal behaviour do the show? I learnt a lot from this course and keep renewing my knowledge when ever \i fell the need to.

It was fun and enjoyable. Thank you Amy.

por Brigitte Pace

Nov 19, 2018

Love this course. The videos were well presented and explained and the assignments were good practice.

por Shirley Bode

Nov 02, 2018

Excellent course - I have learned so much. Thank you to the awesome teachers

por Naina Sahay

Oct 30, 2018

Great and helpful.

10/10 would recommend

por Leo J Ryan

Oct 29, 2018

Nicely done Weslyan! Well paced, interesting assignments.

por Ramona Kowal

Oct 29, 2018

This gave me a new perspective on Character and I believe it will help my characters become more true to life than they have been.

por Paul Corbett

Oct 29, 2018

Was really looking forward to this section but felt it was lacking in content.

Too many interviews which were full of quotations and praise for other authors and was left feeling disappointed.