Chevron Left
Voltar para Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Computational Thinking for Problem Solving da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.7
estrelas
1,030 classificações
358 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Computational thinking is the process of approaching a problem in a systematic manner and creating and expressing a solution such that it can be carried out by a computer. But you don't need to be a computer scientist to think like a computer scientist! In fact, we encourage students from any field of study to take this course. Many quantitative and data-centric problems can be solved using computational thinking and an understanding of computational thinking will give you a foundation for solving problems that have real-world, social impact. In this course, you will learn about the pillars of computational thinking, how computer scientists develop and analyze algorithms, and how solutions can be realized on a computer using the Python programming language. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an algorithm and express it to the computer by writing a simple Python program. This course will introduce you to people from diverse professions who use computational thinking to solve problems. You will engage with a unique community of analytical thinkers and be encouraged to consider how you can make a positive social impact through computational thinking....

Melhores avaliações

J
18 de Dez de 2018

Excellent course for beginners with enough depth, programming and computational theory to increase their computer science knowledge to a higher level. It builds a good foundation of how computers work

AW
3 de Fev de 2019

The course is very well-designed and it helped me develop understand how to apply computational thinking in solving various types of problems as well as acquire basic skills of programming in Python.

Filtrar por:

326 — 350 de 359 Avaliações para o Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

por Danielle J

9 de Jun de 2019

Really great course. I found the wording of a couple homework problems to be confusing, but overall really enjoyed the course

por Danrui L

7 de Nov de 2020

The course is great, but the last 2 questions in the forth week are not friendly for the coding beginner.

por Salahuddin P

17 de Jun de 2020

It was very joyful throughout the course and i learned a lot but there is a problem, the voice is so low.

por Priya C

5 de Jul de 2020

The last 2 assignments had some issues in the results. Those need to be fixed to save us some time.

por Laura M

16 de Abr de 2020

Muy interesante, especialmente para aquellos que estamos iniciandonos en entender este mundillo.

por Shalin M

23 de Set de 2019

The course is very well designed and taught, however the peer review system is a real pain.

por Alex g

18 de Mai de 2020

4.7 - an excellent class although be prepared for some challenging problems sets!

por Tom F

26 de Jun de 2020

Great introduction to computational thinking and coding.

por Sun T

5 de Nov de 2019

The auto-grade assignment in Week 4 should be improved.

por GANDIKOTA R

5 de Set de 2021

Very good for good learners and beginers

por Nirvan

11 de Mai de 2020

The last assignment had a few bugs

por PRAVEEN K

7 de Jul de 2020

The practice task is not enough.

por ank j

28 de Jul de 2020

Very educational. Thank you

por chao w

25 de Dez de 2019

great way to start with

por Kenny P

15 de Set de 2020

it was interesting

por Diyaben D P

3 de Set de 2021

good experience

por MARAM N R

13 de Set de 2021

good

por Vanukuri V K R

9 de Set de 2021

4

por Jess

8 de Jul de 2021

The first three weeks were very well presented and instructed. It was challenging and interesting for me (I don't have a computer science background). However, the pace and level of difficulty are accelerated in Week 4. You're expected to go from having no Python knowledge to being able to solve multiple-step programming assignments which the videos give a cursory explanation to. The videos would probably be sufficient for someone who already has a strong Python or programming background.

por Alexander M

19 de Jun de 2021

T​he first 3 weeks of the course are very enlightening for someone new to computer science, but the fourth week of the course suffers from a significant difficulty spike when trying to answer questions involving python programming. Issues include expecting the learner to know concepts not mentioned in videos and a lack of help with python programming questions.

por Stephanie M

13 de Jul de 2020

There are giant leaps in logic for the assignments using python. It was not friendly for someone with no python experience.

por Prasad K

2 de Abr de 2019

Not very rigorous course. However, it is OK for an introductory course for non CS students.

por Vishal K

30 de Ago de 2020

it was nice But not in deep.

por Kristin G

13 de Ago de 2021

This course is well-intended, but falls short of its goals. Far too much time is spent on the very basic concepts (the 1st 3 weeks), leaving almost no time for learning the Python programming in the 4th week at the level they expect. If you get stuck, there is no support. No one answered the question I posted online, and when I emailed a question, I got a response that my question would be answered in days. Considering each section is only 1 week long, waiting days for an answer prevents me from submitting my project on time.

The projects all go one step beyond what you were taught, with no opportunities to practice incremental steps to develop the thought processes that would enable one to move independently to writing programming beyond the course materials. Also, basic program formats are not taught (when to use parantheses vs brackets, for example), so executing code results in error messages before one can get to the point of testing functions.

Finally, the Coursera structure is irritating. Messages pop up in the middle of the videos telling me I'm meeting my learning goals, which then knock me out of the video, so I have to go back and find my place again. There are constant "add-on" purchase pressures and daily adverts trying to convince me to pursue a Masters when I hate the course I'm taking currently.

If you just need to get a certificate, go ahead and take this course. But if you actually want to see if programming is for you, take a real class. Or purchase a book for half the price of this course and teach yourself, as this course doesn't provide any benefits beyond what you can find in a book

Finally, the Coursera structure is irritating.