Chevron Left
Voltar para COBOL Programming with VSCode

Comentários e feedback de alunos de COBOL Programming with VSCode da instituição IBM

4.7
estrelas
128 classificações
59 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Professor Tak Auyeung of American River College, said it beautifully, “A programming language is not a fashion statement” it is used for a purpose. Whether it is to add new features, modify logic, create APIs to integrate it into other applications, or implement modern development practices, businesses around the world need application developers who know COBOL. This introductory COBOL course helps a novice learn the Structure of COBOL programs, Data types & Variable Handling, Intrinsic Functions, Branching logic and more. The goal of the course is to enable the participant to be able to write basic COBOL programs. This is a fantastic compliment to the IBM z/OS Practitioner path for the IBM Mainframe. Join the COBOL Fridays web series. These webinars are curated for first-time programmers, lifelong learners, and anyone who's interested in learning COBOL. http://ibm.biz/cfcoursera On successful completion of this course, learners are eligible to earn their COBOL Programming with VSCode badge....

Melhores avaliações

JR
24 de Set de 2020

Very good course for starting with COBOL or remove the dust and remind just is my case. Videos long enough. Quizzes agree with content. Labs could be a little more demanding. Thanks a lot.

RG
30 de Jul de 2021

It was a good course and covered many fundamental concepts as well as giving hands on experience using Visual Studio and the mainframe.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 60 Avaliações para o COBOL Programming with VSCode

por Dennis W K K

11 de Jun de 2020

The course gives a reasonably good introduction to the COBOL programming language. But it did not actually get learners to write a complete COBOL program. Would that be asking too much?

por edward h

14 de Out de 2020

It would be nice to have direct access to mainframe instead of going to a different site and have to follow all these other instructions.

por Detlev C M

15 de Jun de 2020

I would say that this course offers a very nice simple introduction to some basic COBOL. On the negative side, we are presented with basic code and asked to identify problems, without developing our own code, neither from scratch nor full snippets of code. Especially old programming languages have their quirks that would make more practice ideal. Still, overall I would consider this course nevertheless very enjoyable and useful for a simple introduction to the topic. (I'd prefer to give it 4.5 stars, but that is not an option.)

por Ethan P

28 de Ago de 2020

Thought that this was a great course, with well put together material. As someone who was 100% new to COBOL, this felt like it provided a good overview of both using Zowe with Visual Studio Code, and the COBOL language itself. Lectures were short, entertaining, and rich in content, while the labs were rigorous enough to further familiarize with the lecture and quizzes.

por Arthur R

7 de Set de 2020

This is a great course for building your base foundation in COBOL. The only way to go now is UP!

por Andrew P

18 de Jun de 2020

ACCESSIBLE AND FUN INTRO TO COBOL, FIRST TIME WORKING ON A MAINFRAME

por Negovan V

9 de Jun de 2020

It would be nice to cover Labs with videos

por M S

18 de Mai de 2021

Good start, but seemed to jump around quite a bit and the labs were very basic.

por Roberto M

30 de Out de 2021

I​ Enjoy the course content, the way that has been delivered and of course Jeff. I found him on a Youtube video talking about Cobol and then found again in IBM Mainframe Friday Coding and I got intrigued once he said that there was training session going on Coursera and Immdiately enrolled and I love it!

por Sandra V P

22 de Out de 2020

Sandra Viviana Paiz Argentina:

Quiero expresar que al haber completado COBOL. Me resulto muy interesante y practico para aplicarlo en futuro en una empresa. Gracias Cousera y al profesor a cargo de dictar el cursado.

por Brittini

9 de Jun de 2020

Another great course from IBM with Jeff Bisti as the instructor. He did a fantastic job explaining the COBOL concepts and the labs were very engaging as well as informative. I look forward to more mainframe courses!

por Salomon C E

25 de Nov de 2021

Muy útil el curso para entender los fundamentos del lenguaje. Es una pena que no puedas concluir el curso sin pagar el certificado, cuando los mismo creadores diseñaron el curso de forma gratuita.

por Jaime C R

25 de Set de 2020

Very good course for starting with COBOL or remove the dust and remind just is my case. Videos long enough. Quizzes agree with content. Labs could be a little more demanding. Thanks a lot.

por Jessica C

14 de Abr de 2021

I have been programming on COBOL language many years, 11 years :), but I don´t found many courses about that, for that I am currenly in this and other courses now :) Thank you for sharing.

por Ralph G

31 de Jul de 2021

It was a good course and covered many fundamental concepts as well as giving hands on experience using Visual Studio and the mainframe.

por Gonzalo N

9 de Mai de 2021

Me satisfizo la participación en el curso, considero que adquirí el conocimiento primordial para comprender el funcionamiento de COBOL.

por Harding L

3 de Nov de 2021

The tutor / presenter made a dry and hard-to-convey topic much more fun to learn. Thanks for the refresher Coursera and IBM.

por Wagner T B

21 de Jan de 2021

Já conhecia COBOL, fiz o curso para conhecer o VSCode, e valeu a pena por consegui usar o mesmo. Foi bastante didático.

por Jerome C

29 de Jan de 2021

Very easy to follow.

Very informative.

Great tools.

Jeff Bisti is my personal favorite instructor in Coursera.

por João S S d L

27 de Ago de 2021

The course is very good for remembering language concepts, its parts, commands, divisions, etc. Liked it.

por Serge S M

2 de Nov de 2020

Very good - Excellent overview of COBOL - Good instructions to configure laptop and access mainframe.

por roberto g z

12 de Set de 2020

Excelente. Uma grande experiência em compilar e executar programas Cobol em uma interface simples.

por Rafael S

9 de Nov de 2020

Excelente iniciación al lenguaje COBOL. Enseñanza practica y actualizada gracias al uso de VSCode

por Omar U E G

16 de Dez de 2020

This is the first time that I ejoy a COBOL cuorse online. Good mood of teacher.

por STEVEN S

2 de Abr de 2021

Simple, straight forward, and I benefitted greatly! Thank you so much.