Chevron Left
Voltar para Chemical Biology

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Chemical Biology da instituição Universidade de GenebraUniversidade de Genebra

4.7
estrelas
57 classificações
17 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Chemical biology is a burgeoning field that has rapidly risen to prominence. This surge of interest has been fuelled by chemical biology’s applicability to understanding critical processes in live cells or model organisms in real time. This success has arisen because chemical biology straddles a nexus between chemistry, biology, and physics. Thus, chemical biology can harness rapid chemistry to observe or perturb biological processes, that are in turn reported using physical assays, all in an otherwise unperturbed living entity. Although its boundaries are endless, the multidisciplinary nature of chemical biology can make the field seem daunting; we beg to differ! Here, we deconstruct chemical biology into its core components, and repackage the material. In the process we build up for each student a practical and theoretical knowledge bank that will set these students on their way to understanding and designing their own chemical biology experiments. We will discuss fluorescence as a general language used to read out biological phenomena as diverse as protein localization, membrane tension, surface phenomena, and enzyme activity. We will proceed to discuss protein labeling strategies and fusion protein design. Then we will discuss larger and larger scale chemical biology mechanism and screening efforts. Highlights include a large amount of new data, tailored in the lab videos, and a large number of skilled presenters....

Melhores avaliações

MF
2 de Dez de 2020

With due respect sir, I would like to say you that I have problem with the quiz system. I can't tell which on of my answer is right or wrong. Please sir, mark the right anwers in green

LB
22 de Jul de 2021

Wonderful and fascinating course, an excellent introduction to the field of Chemical Biology. I feel really fortunate to learn from this great team of professors. Thank you very much!

Filtrar por:

1 — 17 de 17 Avaliações para o Chemical Biology

por Muaz F

3 de Dez de 2020

With due respect sir, I would like to say you that I have problem with the quiz system. I can't tell which on of my answer is right or wrong. Please sir, mark the right anwers in green

por Roger P

4 de Dez de 2020

I'm afraid I abandoned this course after a couple of weeks because I was finding the balance between reading material and video content to be skewed towards the reading, with much of this not being discussed further in the lectures. I've done many online courses and I like them because of the lectures - if I wanted to read lots of stuff then I could choose a textbook.

por Lorenzo T I

1 de Nov de 2020

If you want to be updated on the new biochemical techniques to study metabolic processes in a cell, this course is a great resource. A good background in Organic Chemistry will help you understand well the principles of the techniques presented.

por Karen C

8 de Mar de 2021

I knew from the start this would be over my head, and boy, it sure was. But that’s one of the benefits of moocs: you can take a class that’s a little beyond your grasp, take away as much as you can, and save the rest as aspirational motivation. For my purposes, it was a great success.

I spent 51 hours on site rather than the 21 hours predicted, but some of that is because of an obsession with note-taking. And I passed, though I probably didn't deserve to purely on the basis of knowledge retained (good test-taking skills, that obsessive note-taking, and a lot of persistence paid off).

FMI I posted about the course on my personal website:

https://sloopie72.wordpress.com/2021/03/08/switching-it-up-instead-of-biochem-lets-try-chemical-biology-mooc/

por Alvaro F L

12 de Jul de 2021

Very insightful and interesting course, and provides new perspectives on the potential applications of chemistry in biological research. This course also emphasizes the importance of chemical innovation in designing more efficient and versatile biological research tools that may help to unravel new findings in biochemistry and biology in general.

por Roshen R I

16 de Nov de 2020

Very challenging yet interesting topic. This is 21st century science towards revolutionizing Systems Biology and other science fields

por Shreyasi R C

24 de Mai de 2021

An amazing course with the right amount of difficulty level, challenging test patterns seeking the accurate grasp of concepts, a very well planned course structure, the mind-blowing delivery of lectures, and presentation of course material! Indeed so immensely privileged and grateful to have found this opportunity to learn the foundations of my dream research domain, online from some of the best Professors and Researchers from Universit�� de Gen��ve, EPFL (École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne), etc., imparting education so magnificently, through practical and theoretical content, so well provided on this platform! I admit putting in a lot of effort behind completing this but with more and more euphoria and interest every time, in contrary to ideas of chilled and laidback vibes of general online courses with very flexible schedules. I am also immensely thankful to Coursera and my Alma Mater Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur for providing us with such platforms to continue learning and never stop aiming high, even through these extremely challenging times. It indeed felt like one-to-one mentoring, thanks to Prof. Robbie Loewith and Prof Marcus J. C. Long. Elated and excited for more learning! Chemical Biology <3

por Joshua M N Q

16 de Jan de 2021

The course gives in-depth lessons about the application of chemical laboratory techniques and analysis to manipulate, study, and design biological systems. In addition to this, the quizzes are practically challenging that they will truly test your understanding of each module. I will definitely consider a career path in this field as it allows to solve problems arising from the interface of chemistry and biology.

por Olajide A

11 de Ago de 2021

This is by far the most challenging course I have ever enrolled in on coursera, it made me think and be analytical about my thoughts. I am glad I got to finish it because it unlocked a new part of me. I really learnt a lot of new techniques which are/will be beneficial to my research. Kudos!!! to all the instructors.

por Sebastian B

2 de Abr de 2021

Un curso interesante, que reúne múltiples conceptos física, química y biología para poder darnos un mejor entendimiento del mundo nanométrico y de su gran importancia. Muy recomendable

por Luis A N B

23 de Jul de 2021

Wonderful and fascinating course, an excellent introduction to the field of Chemical Biology. I feel really fortunate to learn from this great team of professors. Thank you very much!

por Ghadeer

24 de Dez de 2020

Amazing course, the best one i enrolled in so far here, very well build and got used to the simple fantastic teaching of Dr. Marcus Long, glad to have spent time studying this topic

por Halah

16 de Ago de 2021

A comprehensive and challenging course. An excellent overview of many chem bio concepts and offers a deeper understanding of powerful tools to use in the lab.

por Emir O

11 de Jun de 2021

An excelent course, full of interesting content and complex lessons that will contirbute to my research.

por Lucie P

13 de Abr de 2021

I loved this course. Full of interesting topics!

por Mmabale D M

14 de Jun de 2021

iinformative

por Mary F

9 de Set de 2021

As a former instructor of these topics, I​ was excited to start this course and catch up on what is new in biology, chemistry, and physics. While I learned quite a bit I found myself growing more and more frustrated as the course progressed. Several times I wanted to just quit but kept hoping things would get better. Comments were made in lectures..."As we saw in a/the previous module..." about topics that had not been covered. Questions were asked on quizzes on concepts that were not covered or only briefly alluded to. This required much research outide of class to pass the quizzes. So, yes, I learned a lot, but I am glad that I didn't pay for a certificate and I wouldn't recommend this class unless one has a strong foundation in organic chemistry, cellular biology, microbiology, and biochemistry. The physics was covered adequately for what was used.