Chevron Left
Voltar para Career Decisions: From Insight to Impact

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Career Decisions: From Insight to Impact da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.7
estrelas
234 classificações
79 avaliações

Sobre o curso

I am an adult developmental psychologist by training and a career counselor by trade, currently the Director of the Gordon Career Center at Wesleyan University in Connecticut. In this course, I draw from my decades of experience as well as research from the fields of psychology, organizational behavior, and sociology to help you understand best practices for making career decisions. This content will help you develop the tools you need to make the right choices for you, from deciding an area of study to exploring potential lines of work to pursue—and knowing when to pivot at any time in your career....

Melhores avaliações

PM
20 de Abr de 2021

A course that helps to understand the realities of today & the challenges that need to be overcome.\n\nSome very simple practical issues that help to mould the thoughts and future plans.

SR
28 de Abr de 2021

Loved how each of the modules had certain practice questions to delve deeper into our thinking and understand the process that goes behind our decision making.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 85 Avaliações para o Career Decisions: From Insight to Impact

por Pip C

13 de Jan de 2020

After module 2, to submit your assignment, you have to upgrade and pay, without this step it is not possible to continue the course.

por Lina H

21 de Jan de 2020

The course is interesting but Each video is a bit long. The problem is her explanation is hard to understand. She talks for so long about her, then her family and then blah blah blah, then into theory and at the end, end with no conclusion (no coherence). I go confused most of time. Sometimes she uses unnecessary technical words.

por Srinivasan V

9 de Jun de 2020

Very interesting insights on Career Choices. This course gives an opportunity for individuals to introspect and understand where they stand in their World of Work. I would recommend this course for all young professionals who get a feeling that they are not getting the best out of their professional lives. The course does not provide any solutions but does provide some pointers towards

por Kerry H

23 de Abr de 2019

A really fascinating and useful course - it has not only helped me to start asking myself some of the right questions, but to step back and reflect on / assess some of the less conscious influences that got me to where I am and break down the actions I need to take to move myself forward in a more conscious and meaningful way. I haven't worked out exactly what is next, but I have some great tools to work with and in particular, I am finding the Design Thinking concepts to be a great mechanism for applying system 2 thinking (interestingly, not my first time using this approach, but applying it to 'me' is a whole new direction!). I also loved the overlaps into thinking about how we learn and mindset. Further, I see linkages into positive psychology/wellbeing.

por Rawikan K

13 de Dez de 2018

I am so lucky that I found this course and decided to enroll. It is a life-changing course that one could learn from. Dr. Sharon provides the knowledge from different perspectives not limited only in the filed of psychology but also sociology as well, so it makes this course so valuable and important for people to understand how people make their career decisions or how they define their success in life.

por Shubham S

3 de Mai de 2020

The Course is really Insightful and Interesting, it helped me analyze my inner potentials and how one can turn there passion into a Profession. It has a blend of both theoretical and Practical approach towards ones career development.

por İlke Ö

2 de Fev de 2021

Dear Ms.,

I did not expect that much different perspectives and motives on career decision making behaviour. The entire course has fulfilled my expectations and now I know some great books to read. Thank you!

Sincerely,

İlke Begüm Ögel

por Maram

27 de Nov de 2018

I don't know why I didn't watch this before! This was an excellent course, it answers so many questions, and made it clear to make a career decision. If you feel confused, and don't know what to do next this course is for you.

por Cristela W L M

23 de Abr de 2021

Totally relatable whatever transition you are in right now! This explains your career and what influences your decision as well as how you can improve them.

por jimmy c

2 de Fev de 2019

Very very insightful and thought provoking, really helps to open my mind to the career decisions that I make and will make in the future. Highly recommended

por Chuks-Osuji C

22 de Jun de 2020

This course impacted greatly in me. I learnt a lot that can help anyone in life from this course. It is a really nice and helpful course,

por Ketmany V

9 de Dez de 2020

This course helps me find out more about myself and my values to make the right decision in career.

por Opufou O J

1 de Jul de 2020

THE COURSE HAS REMINDED ME ABOUT PROCEDURES AND DECISIONS TO MAKE WHEN CHOOSING A CAREER

por Anna Y

2 de Nov de 2020

Very nice course :) I enjoyed the exercises/assessments, because they make you think

por Okpe J O

30 de Jun de 2020

this is a great course

por mofeyisope o

30 de Jun de 2020

such a great course

por Annika D

6 de Jul de 2019

helpful first step

por Ulvi A

27 de Abr de 2021

People have to be guided to contribute to goals with zeal and confidence. “Zeal is ardor, earnestness and intensity in the execution of work; confidence reflects experience and technical ability.” The ability to influence the behaviour of others is known as leadership. Leaders exploit human potential and transform it into output.

Leadership is a process by which a person influences others to accomplish an objective and directs the organisation to make it cohesive and coherent. It is the ability to build confidence and zeal among people and create an urge to be led. It inspires confidence and support among group members to achieve the organisational goals.

Leadership is the process by which an executive imaginatively directs, guides and influences the work of others in choosing and attaining specified goals, by mediating between individuals and the organisation in a manner that both obtain maximum satisfaction. Dynamic and effective leadership leads an organisation towards success.

“A leader is one who conducts, acts as a guide to others in action or opinion, one who takes the lead in any enterprise or movement, one who is ‘followed’ by disciples or adherents, the most eminent member of a profession, a person of eminent position and influence.”

por Evguenia L

17 de Mai de 2021

I've had a great experience with this course, thanks to which I feel very motivated and ready to take action towards my life goals. The information was well structured and precise. I'm not a student and have been thinking about a career change for a while. I can say with a 100% certainty that this course suits not only young people who aren't sure about their career choice but also adults who are entering the stage in life when they are thinking what is next and how to improve their quality of living. Thank you for great insights and a push to analyze and act!

por Jillian N

5 de Out de 2020

Absolutely wonderful! The instructor speaks clearly and at a nice, easy pace which makes it simple to follow. The course includes interesting introspective activities with tools for effective decision-making which teach students to consider all influences, interests, values, and any other crucial components when making decisions. I've learned so much more about myself and my career development path by taking this course. I'm grateful to have found such a great gem!

por Juliane

10 de Mai de 2021

This course has taught me a lot not just about career decisions but also about myself — my skills, interests, and strengths. If you are having a hard time with deciding or choosing your career or even an identity crisis, you'll definitely have a lot of learnings, realizations, and such. I'm super grateful to have attended this course that will surely help me in college and in the future.

por Rosa L C M

3 de Mai de 2021

Excellent course that help me to know more about myself, check our motivations, skills, through videos exercises and resources and learn about new researching information that can help us to consider new opportunities not only about professional decisions but also personal growth. Thanks so much for this opportunity.

por Shakeel A

7 de Mai de 2021

Indeed, it was an eye as well as mind opening course. Contents was up to the mark and there was much material for learning. This course gave us a road map for proceeding towards our project / target . A complete package it was. Thank you Coursera.

por Anna K

16 de Jan de 2021

I definitely recommend this course! It is great for reflection and understanding one's decision, but also it gives practical advice on how to go about exploring career opportunities. Very good course material and exercises (which are fun, too)!

por David W

12 de Mai de 2021

Great informational course. I wish I had this course way back when I started to college. It would have helped me avoid a lot of missteps I encountered. But better late than never. This is an absolute necessity for freshmen in college.